We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is why we pay Taxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Regional Park District

East Bay Regional Park District
Take 80 from Richmond, Oakland, CA 94605
510-635-0135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Attractions in Oakland
Type: Parks, Scenic Drives, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking, Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The official designation given to the numerous parks found in Contra Costa and Alameda counties.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is why we pay Taxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I Love all of the parks in the area, they're absolutely wonderful and beautiful. It's great to have such a convenient escape from reality!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Multiple locations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This isn't really one location, but is a string of parks along the hills between the San Francisco Bay and the suburbs. The one I go to most often is Tilden because of the location. In Tilden park there are trails, a merry-go-round, a lake for swimming, steam trains, a "little farm" with animals, and a botanical garden. My favorite trail is the one to Jewel Lake because of the boardwalk though the marsh. Inspiration Trail has great views. Other parks in the park district such as Lake Temescal also have swimming and lakeside hiking. Briones has fantastic hiking as well. There are some attractions for small children, some for teens and adults -- you might want to go to the website and see.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“THE MOST EXCITING MERRY GO ROUND AROUND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The memory of riding one of the painted horses or animal wagons on the Tilden Park Merry Go Round will last for the rest of your life. Take your children and enjoy the music unique to the Merry Go Round. Easy access to the facility, parking up top and below. Purchase your tickets and freshly popped popcorn for the wait. You and your children will have a delightful outing and believe me, you will return gladly over and over again. Check online for opening days and hours. Combine this with a picnic in Tilden Park at one of the many campsites, visit the Little Farm, take a walk around Jewel Lake. Tilden Park offers so many different things for families, couples, and individuals. USE OUR PARKS!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great photo ops galore! Nice hikes with beautiful views!! Great place for kids to explore the outdoors & really see nature at it's finest. Wonderful place to visit, regardless of the season.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love there parks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tilden Park in Berkeley is excellent! I enjoy hiking Redwood Park and Lake Chabot. They have a variety of parks to explore in Contra Costa and Alameda County anything you want from hanging out at a lake to some challenging hikes to bay views and bbq can be found within EPRPD boundaries!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Bay Regional Park District also viewed

 

Been to East Bay Regional Park District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Regional Park District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.