We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go into Diamonds Bar in this Holiday Inn if...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Hegenberger Road, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redding, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't go into Diamonds Bar in this Holiday Inn if...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Iyana (or something like that) is working. On Wednesday July 24 2013, she basically ignored everyone at the bar except for her friends in the corner so that she could complain to them about how tired she was. At least three other people including me got up and left. It was unbelievable.

I've been here before for beers and a burger. The place looks good and has decent food, but one worthless employee like this can ruin everything. Maybe she should quit this job so she can get some rest. I hope the Holiday Inn management will take some action. I will be contacting them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at our Diamonds Sports Bar last week. On behalf of the Hotel and the team at Diamonds Sports Bar, I apologize for the lack of attention and service you endured. While no business likes to hear negative reports, we (businesses) all need this type of feedback to improve or fix situations where our guests are inconvenienced or disappointed.
I will be discussing your particular situation with the Restaurant Manager and the rest of the Hotel Team in our weekly meetings to ensure this type of behavior is eliminated.
Again, thank you for your patronage and I sincerely hope you will visit us again when your future travel plans includes our Oakland Airport area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    60
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
34
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here on a recent trip to Oakland because of it's nearness to the airport and the baseball park. The room was very comfortable and the free shuttle to and from the ballpark was a real plus. The restaurant/bar was both convenient and reasonably priced. The staff was extremely helpful in suggesting how to get around during our visit. At the time BART was on strike which was our original plan for transportation to San Francisco. Their outdoor pool was spacious and warm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Checked in late for an early flight out of Oakland Airport. Room was large and comfortable. Check-in staff was excellent. Very close to airport. Very short stay but everything was fine.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is perfect for leaving from Oakland airport. The rooms are clean,the hotel Staff is very friendly and helpful.
The only downside of this experience was the personality of the people at the restaurant which is not necessarily run by
the hotel. Because I live far from the airport this is a perfect fit for me to stay over and take early
flights out. I recommended highly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here with our two kids to see an Oakland A's game. We stayed because of the good reviews and the shuttle to the Colleseum. At check in we asked for a high floor (the hotel only has 4 floors). We were put on the bottom floor. I asked if we could wait for a higher room but he said none were available. A few minutes later our friends checked in. They didn't have a reservation. They were given the same room (2 kings) on the third floor. I guess there were some available, the desk clerk just didn't want to give us one? Us and our friends were just staying the one night. When we got back from the game it was pretty late, around 11 pm. We could here the neighboring room's conversation until well past 2 am. They weren't being particularly loud but I could hear their entire conversation like they were talking in our room. We went by the tripadvisor reviews because we didn't want to end up at a bad hotel in this neighborhood. When driving in we saw a really nice Courtyard with palm trees and a gated parking lot. I was really wishing we had booked there. On the way back from the game we saw 2 Courtyard shuttles before we saw ours from the Holiday inn. If I had to do it again, I'd stay at the Courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear lastick,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience and you experienced at check in and over the noise from other guests. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Of the hotels near the Oakland airport, you will not find a better bargain for what you get. This hotel is right on the main road leading to the airport and has free parking and wiFi. The rooms are better than other hotels at this price point. The beds are excellent and the rooms come with a fridge (empty) and microwave. Another huge plus is the full size rectangular showers with glass sliding doors. No funky shower curtain to deal with and plenty of room to soap up and take a nice shower. There is a guest laundry as well as ice and vending on every floor. Overall I highly reccomend this property.

Room Tip: West side of hotel faces the Airport but has sunset views. You are never bothered by the airport noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The rooms are well appointed, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The shuttle is readily available to take you to the airport or BART with little or no waiting. Free coffee is available starting at 6 AM in the lobby. My husband and I are early risers so before 6AM we have to use the coffee makers in the room. I have yet to taste good coffee from a hotel room coffee pot. That is the only drawback. If coffee were available in the lobby 24 hrs. a day, as in some other hotels, it would be wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport

Address: 77 Hegenberger Road, Oakland, CA 94621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Oakland
#6 Family Hotel in Oakland
#10 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Holiday Inn & Suites Oakland Airport is the Holiday Inn of the future! This newest Oakland Airport Hotel near San Francisco is just one mile from Oakland International Airport (OAK), and offers free shuttle to destinations within five miles of the hotel.In Oakland, you'll find a variety of attractions within close proximity of our hotel. We are one mile from the McAfee Coliseum-Home of the Oakland Raiders & Oakland Athletics, and Oracle Arena - Home of the Golden State Warriors, and just minutes away from Jack London Square and the Metropolitan Golf Course. Our hotel's location near San Francisco makes it easy to visit the 'City by the Bay.' Business travelers enjoy our close proximity to National Automotive, Unisys Corporation, Waste Management, FedEx, UPS, Rainin Instruments and other businesses in Oakland. Lodging in our hotel makes it easy to utilize the 24-hour business center as well as over 3,000 square feet of meeting space. With a heated, outdoor pool and a fitness center as well as an on-site convenience store and Diamonds Sports Bar & Grill, our guests receive excellent services from our new hotel in Oakland. All rooms feature triple-sheeted king beds, 32-inch flat panel TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and work spaces with two phones and free high-speed Internet access. For top-quality service in an ideal location, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Oakland Airport
Holiday Inn Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.