We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a layover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Hegenberger Road, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place for a layover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice clean location,large and clean rooms..... near the airport. Very helpful at the desk.Stay here for football or A's games.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Room was great, clean and well laid out. Better than other Holiday Inns I've stayed at. Close to airport and I parked my car in front of the hotel. I waited about 10 minutes for the shuttle on my return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripppingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

When coming here don't expect to have a great internet connection. Sadly, that is most important for me, especially when on a business trip. There was an Ethernet port in the room which provided no connection whatsoever. The rest of the hotel was great, besides the poor view, but that can't be helped. The best part was the free shuttle service to the nearby Bart station (coliseum and Oakland airport). The sports bar on the ground floor provided great service and food too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear AJDaniel,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you liked the food and services from our sports bar. I'm sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the poor Wi-Fi service available during your stay. I really appreciate your comments as we welcome any opportunity to improve.

I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements should your travels bring you back to Oakland.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was staying there for my weekend work. The front desk staff took a very long time to find my name and ended up my names wasn't even on the list. Hhmm.....The staff put me in the wrong room and the guests in that room came in at around midnight and were surprised to see me sleeping on their bed!
Anyway, the staff asked me to come down hurriedly and changed my room in the middle of the night.

The breakfast was good. The room was clean. The manager apologized. I'd like to bring my family there some time too enjoy Oakland and hopefully the hotel would never make the same mistake again.

other than that, the lcoation is good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yumiko12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Yumiko12,

Thank you for your feedback especially on the cleanliness and breakfast. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you had to change rooms in the middle of the night due to a clerical error. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were flying out of Oakland at the end of our visit to San Francisco and the wine country. The service was great, the room clean, and perfect location to see and do all we wanted.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay here on two different nights during long, planned layovers at the Oakland airport. Our criteria for these two nights were a clean, affordable room at a hotel with an airport shuttle - we were pleasantly surprised to receive that and more!

On both nights, we arrived into the Oakland airport late and simply called the hotel to have the shuttle sent to the airport. Each time, the shuttle arrived within 5 minutes and we were on our way. When we walked into the lobby, we were welcomed into a newer Holiday Inn that is reminiscient of other new Holiday Inns I've stayed in during the past couple of years. However, I did like the local touches in the lobby - the aviation-themed photographs were a nice touch. Check-in was smooth and, as Priority Club members, we received a complimentary gift bag filled with a water and package of cookies.

Our room was quite roomy, it was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. We found on both nights that the hotel was quiet, so we were able to get a good night of sleep before continuing on our travels. We didn't eat at the restaurant given our short time at the hotel, but we did get coupons to try out if we had wanted to eat there.

Overall, this is a very nice Holiday Inn that exceeded our expectations. It was ideal for us transiting through the Oakland airport and looking for a quite, comfortable place to stay. And, compared with other Bay-area hotels, it was incredibly affordable. We'd definitely stay here again if we find ourselves with long layovers at the Oakland airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadCityRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed here with our 12 year old son for one night at the end of a skiing holiday as we were going to a baseball game at the nearby Oakland A's stadium. It is a new and fairly large hotel next to the airport. Our room was small but well furnished and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. Can't say anything about the restaurant as we did not use it. Despite its closeness to the airport and how busy it was, the hotel was quiet and well run. Ideal for a night if you have an early flight or if visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#14 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport

Address: 77 Hegenberger Road, Oakland, CA 94621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Oakland
#7 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Holiday Inn & Suites Oakland Airport is the Holiday Inn of the future! This newest Oakland Airport Hotel near San Francisco is just one mile from Oakland International Airport (OAK), and offers free shuttle to destinations within five miles of the hotel.In Oakland, you'll find a variety of attractions within close proximity of our hotel. We are one mile from the McAfee Coliseum-Home of the Oakland Raiders & Oakland Athletics, and Oracle Arena - Home of the Golden State Warriors, and just minutes away from Jack London Square and the Metropolitan Golf Course. Our hotel's location near San Francisco makes it easy to visit the 'City by the Bay.' Business travelers enjoy our close proximity to National Automotive, Unisys Corporation, Waste Management, FedEx, UPS, Rainin Instruments and other businesses in Oakland. Lodging in our hotel makes it easy to utilize the 24-hour business center as well as over 3,000 square feet of meeting space. With a heated, outdoor pool and a fitness center as well as an on-site convenience store and Diamonds Sports Bar & Grill, our guests receive excellent services from our new hotel in Oakland. All rooms feature triple-sheeted king beds, 32-inch flat panel TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and work spaces with two phones and free high-speed Internet access. For top-quality service in an ideal location, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Oakland Airport
Holiday Inn Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing