We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to rest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Sky Ranch

Save Saved
You added Sierra Sky Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Sky Ranch
50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
1 review
“Wonderful place to rest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited Sierra Sky Ranch after the whole day of travel from Berkeley, CA. It is a really charming place to stay and with a unique style. When the group of almost forty folks are arriving at once that may ruin the places' organization - not in the Sierra Sky Ranch. The lady who took care of us was fabulous with organizing us in rooms. Afterwords we came to the lobby, started drinking and singing. We were even given the access to the piano and Karaoke. I would never imagine the staff to be so understanding of our will to have fun after the whole day spent in Yosemite Valley. In the morning we got excellent breakfast, and left to see more things in the Yosemite Park. I would highly recommend this place to stay at. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs seem to be a bit colder than those upstairs - so, your choice what temperature you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Sierra Sky Ranch, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We host quite a few family reunions and weddings here at The Ranch, so large groups of travelers visiting the park are not difficult for us to accommodate. We're happy your experience with our Front Desk Hostess was so positive. We do our best to meet everyone's needs in a friendly and efficient manner. We are also pleased when guests make good use of our main lounge, including the grand piano. It is our goal to have our guests make themselves at home and have an enjoyable stay with us. Our Hosts and Hostesses are always willing to serve drinks to our guests, even when the restaurant isn't open. During the winter season, guests enjoying the main lounge also have a cozy fire adding to the ambiance. The charm and unique style you mentioned, really do set us apart from other lodging options in our area. We are happy your group had such a good time staying with us. It was a pleasure to have you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    16
    18
    24
See reviews for
34
61
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived in the beginning of November and stayed 3 nights in the Sierra Sky Ranch. Although we got lost finding it, apparently most GPS have a problem finding the hotel, we were welcomed warmly by the receptionist, who showed us around the historic hotel and told a bit about the history of the ranch. It has an amazing history! I couldn't believe how many fireplaces it has. The people working at the Ranch are very nice and welcoming and will help you with anything you need. They also like to just sit and chat with you whenever you want!
We got a nice room with a huge bathroom. All rooms have access to a nice porch. Breakfast was one of the best we got so far with fresh orange juice, waffles, boiled eggs, toast, little muffins and more. The four cats who walked around (protecting the ranch from rodents/mice) were well taken care of and nice company in the early morning on the porch. Very nice that the hotel did not smell like cats! It is a quiet place where you can relax after a rough day in Yosemite NP! You'll definitely feel at home in the large living room with a beautiful fire place or in the garden, where you can see the stars at night and the deer during the day.

Room Tip: In the main building, the rooms near the library are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed for a night at the Sky Ranch. I have found it friendly, charming, stylish and full of history. I felt like in an old movie.

The resort charms with a huge common room with a gigantic fireplace, piano and leather sofas. An excelent place to relax with a bottle of beer after sightseeing the Yosemite.

Remember, that it is a stylish B&B, not a "Macdonald style" plastic, networked hotel! Expect a history of Marylin Monroe sleeping there, U.S. WWII officers on their R&R, cats and very friendly owner. Expect an old, wodden building between giant trees. Expect a saloon-style restaurant. Did I mention fluffy cats?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Sierra Sky Ranch, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. You certainly understand why all of the staff here at The Ranch are so attached to the property. You have provided a nice summary of what attracts people to this unique hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy the fire in our main lounge. It really is an excellent place to wind down after a day in the mountains. I am also happy that you enjoyed and pointed out some of our historic highlights. Sierra Sky Ranch really is “A Place Like No Other!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was really great place to stay, charming and calm, peacefull and nice:) I felt like in the past, in old historical place, people/owner were great and very helpful, and I have met there real John Wayne;) He slept on the coach, close to fireplace (John Wayne is black cat:)
I can recommend this place for everyone, who appreciates friendly people and peaceful places:)
(and you can play on the piano in saloon if you want to:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Charming place in a beautiful setting, cozy atmosphere, a perfect place for fun and relaxation; there are great conditions to spend time with friends or to rest in quiet rooms. Well organized to welcome and host large group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Sierra Sky Ranch was an AWFUL EXPERIENCE!!! On arrival, we were taken to the "BUNK HOUSE" which should be called the "FUNK HOUSE." Our 150.00 a night bought us stained sheets that were not contour and too small to tuck in so we woke up on a dirty mattress each morning with no pad. The bedspread was fifthy!!! The shower was grungy and the shower head was so low that I had to crouch to rinse. "Decorator" carpets had been stapled to the floor and I stepped on a staple that had come loose and it went through my foot. The first day, our room received NO ROOM SERVICE until I complained and that evening and the lady at the desk quickly made our bed and gave us fresh but tattered linens. The security light shone through our old curtains all night and then the sunlight pierced the room!!! The second day, our room was once again overlooked by house keeping!!!! Again, I had to go to the front desk.The pillows were pancakes!!!! Our "terrace" gave us a view of the kitchen staff smoking behind the kitchen!!! I am a cat lover, but was apalled to watch a cat urinating in the hallway just outside our door!!! ... and the entire hotel REEKED of cat urine!!! The wall tiles in the bath were cracked and the mildew smell was atrocious!!! THERE WAS NO SECURITY!!!! A simple hook lock on one door and nothing on the other!!!! We had to leave the hotel to eat because the dining room decided to serve on tow entrees --- a pricy roast beef or some sort of Mexican dish ---- ALL WEEKEND!!!
We were given a "free night" but it was hardly compensation for such a horrific experience. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 26!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Sierra Sky Ranch, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel. We are certainly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the hotel and its staff. We have raised the issues you mentioned with our employees and we are working to make improvements.

Our policy, when guests stay for multiple nights, is to service each room, every day. It is not typical for a stay over guest to not receive this service. We are pleased that our Front Desk Host responded to your request for service, as all our employees are trained to accommodate our guests to every extent possible. All of our sheets are provided by a professional linen company which serves the majority of hotels in our area. We reject any sheets that are not fully clean and provide feedback to them on a regular basis. We have shared your review with our representative from that company. We have switched out the exterior light bulbs on our Bunkhouse verandas with lower wattage bulbs and reviewed shower cleaning procedures with our housekeepers. The decorator carpet in your room has been fixed and the kitchen staff has been reminded to close the gate which closes off the area behind our kitchen. We are sorry for the unfortunate cat incident you mentioned, we certainly hope you brought it to the attention of one of our staff members so it could be promptly addressed. Rest assured, that we have litter boxes placed outside of our guests’ view for their use.

As you know, we hosted the Yosemite Flute and Art Festival the weekend you stayed with us. We did limit our menu that weekend, due to the steady flow of people coming in to eat throughout the day and evening during the festival. We are sorry we did not have a larger selection for you to choose from. Our steakhouse is open on Friday and Saturday evenings during the winter and we hope you might have a chance to come in and enjoy the full menu we are known for, if you are back in our area.

Once again, please do accept our apologies and we do hope that you enjoyed the Flute Festival and the remainder of your trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We found the Sierra Sky Ranch to be simply charming. In many ways it had the feeling of a B &B right down to the cats who were happy to sit in your lap if you indicated an interest. While relaxing in the ranch's spacious main room by the huge 1875 fire place, it wasn't hard to imagine the days when it served as a real ranch. The only thing that detracted from the experience was the styrofoam coffee and breakfast plates. Overall, it was a fun opportunity to have a historic Sierra experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sierra Sky Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sky Ranch

Address: 50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Sky Ranch is just 10 miles from Yosemite's southern entrance. Established in 1875, it was the first working cattle ranch in the area; in 1946 it was converted to a guest facility. Visitors come from all over the world for its simple, laid back atmosphere, and to taste the savory delights of the on-site steakhouse & saloon – The Branding Iron. Rustic yet comfortable, this 100-year-old converted mountain ranch house is the perfect family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sky Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sky Ranch Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Sky Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.