We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“touching America” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Sky Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sierra Sky Ranch to your Saves list
Sierra Sky Ranch
50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Poznan, Poland
1 review
“touching America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Charming place in a beautiful setting, cozy atmosphere, a perfect place for fun and relaxation; there are great conditions to spend time with friends or to rest in quiet rooms. Well organized to welcome and host large group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    20
    20
    31
See reviews for
38
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Sierra Sky Ranch was an AWFUL EXPERIENCE!!! On arrival, we were taken to the "BUNK HOUSE" which should be called the "FUNK HOUSE." Our 150.00 a night bought us stained sheets that were not contour and too small to tuck in so we woke up on a dirty mattress each morning with no pad. The bedspread was fifthy!!! The shower was grungy and the shower head was so low that I had to crouch to rinse. "Decorator" carpets had been stapled to the floor and I stepped on a staple that had come loose and it went through my foot. The first day, our room received NO ROOM SERVICE until I complained and that evening and the lady at the desk quickly made our bed and gave us fresh but tattered linens. The security light shone through our old curtains all night and then the sunlight pierced the room!!! The second day, our room was once again overlooked by house keeping!!!! Again, I had to go to the front desk.The pillows were pancakes!!!! Our "terrace" gave us a view of the kitchen staff smoking behind the kitchen!!! I am a cat lover, but was apalled to watch a cat urinating in the hallway just outside our door!!! ... and the entire hotel REEKED of cat urine!!! The wall tiles in the bath were cracked and the mildew smell was atrocious!!! THERE WAS NO SECURITY!!!! A simple hook lock on one door and nothing on the other!!!! We had to leave the hotel to eat because the dining room decided to serve on tow entrees --- a pricy roast beef or some sort of Mexican dish ---- ALL WEEKEND!!!
We were given a "free night" but it was hardly compensation for such a horrific experience. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 26!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Sierra Sky Ranch, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel. We are certainly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the hotel and its staff. We have raised the issues you mentioned with our employees and we are working to make improvements.

Our policy, when guests stay for multiple nights, is to service each room, every day. It is not typical for a stay over guest to not receive this service. We are pleased that our Front Desk Host responded to your request for service, as all our employees are trained to accommodate our guests to every extent possible. All of our sheets are provided by a professional linen company which serves the majority of hotels in our area. We reject any sheets that are not fully clean and provide feedback to them on a regular basis. We have shared your review with our representative from that company. We have switched out the exterior light bulbs on our Bunkhouse verandas with lower wattage bulbs and reviewed shower cleaning procedures with our housekeepers. The decorator carpet in your room has been fixed and the kitchen staff has been reminded to close the gate which closes off the area behind our kitchen. We are sorry for the unfortunate cat incident you mentioned, we certainly hope you brought it to the attention of one of our staff members so it could be promptly addressed. Rest assured, that we have litter boxes placed outside of our guests’ view for their use.

As you know, we hosted the Yosemite Flute and Art Festival the weekend you stayed with us. We did limit our menu that weekend, due to the steady flow of people coming in to eat throughout the day and evening during the festival. We are sorry we did not have a larger selection for you to choose from. Our steakhouse is open on Friday and Saturday evenings during the winter and we hope you might have a chance to come in and enjoy the full menu we are known for, if you are back in our area.

Once again, please do accept our apologies and we do hope that you enjoyed the Flute Festival and the remainder of your trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We found the Sierra Sky Ranch to be simply charming. In many ways it had the feeling of a B &B right down to the cats who were happy to sit in your lap if you indicated an interest. While relaxing in the ranch's spacious main room by the huge 1875 fire place, it wasn't hard to imagine the days when it served as a real ranch. The only thing that detracted from the experience was the styrofoam coffee and breakfast plates. Overall, it was a fun opportunity to have a historic Sierra experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I went to the Sierra Sky Ranch on a paranormal investigation class. The place has a lot of interesting history. The surrounding area is quite rustic and beautiful and the rooms are nice with double doors that open to a veranda. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds are incredibly comfortable. My bathroom was clean and the soaps they gave us to use were very nice and gentle enough for my hypoallergenic skin. The cats are friendly and will come in your room, so if your not a cat person I don't think this hotel would be for you but I enjoyed the feline company
The food was delicious and gourmet but very expensive and there were no prices on the menu. The dining room doesn't open tell 5:00pm and there are no vending machines but you can take a short drive to the beautiful town of Oakhurst and get lunch there. Most rooms have a fridge so you can store perishable foods and medications. Over all I would say I had a great time and the staff was very very friendly, the hotel is haunted but the ghost aren't troublesome :)

Room Tip: Ask for Sarah's room, they will know what you mean ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife I spent 2 nights here for our anniversary and loved it the area is perfect for the romantic getaway the staff is so kind and easy to talk to we will be coming back for sure we also would like to give a shout out to Tajia the front desk agent she is meant for the hospitality industry great job

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunland cali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I happened upon this place purely by accident- but what a wonderful surprise. This is not a resort or spa but it is a clean, comfortable, family friendly hotel wih an interesting past. The history of this place is evident beginning in the lobby which was originally a home in the 1890's- there are beautiful stone fireplaces at either end of this wood paneled room. The hotel has been through several incarnations in its past and the owners are willing to share the stories with you.

The rooms are small and dated but this in no way hampered my visit. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. My room was in the main building and all these rooms had french doors opening onto a verandah- a lovely place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and watch the local wildllife wander by- we had deer on the lawn when I was there. There are no phones in the rooms but who needs those? There was wifi in my room.

The staff are friendly and always available should you need anything- The restaurant isn't open for dinner on Monday or Tuesday but the staff can direct you to several other places nearby- ask about ducey's- but breakfast is included in the price of the room.

There is a pool and plenty of open lawn area for children. This hotel seems very family oriented.

And as a pet lover I was happy to get my daily "cat fix" with a little attention from the hotel cats-John Wayne, Valentine and Hunter

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the front of the hotel- the verandahs have the loveliest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I booked in May for September vacation. We were put in a large room in a section called The Bunkhouse, accessed out a back door and into a separate building. There was no coffee maker in the room and no internet/wifi access. The double bed mattress was pretty uncomfortable-you had to sort of wrap your leg over the edge to keep from rolling to the middle. There was a long deck out the back with access to all the room- this could have been a nice place to sit in the evening and watch the stars- only the whole porch was lit up and per the evening manager, the lights couldn't be turned off. So after a few minutes we gave up as every bug in the neighborhood was buzzing around the lights. Breakfast was strange- big stoneware plates for your boiled egg or waffle or grocery store mini-muffin but styrofoam cup for your coffee! The milk was in a huge gallon jug shoved into a bowl of ice. We skipped breakfast the 2nd day- it just wasn't worth it. I might have given this place 3 stars because it is historic and I do understand the owners are trying to 'make it' in a tough economy, BUT there was a huge safety issue with the exit in The Bunkhouse I just can't understand. There was an unlit EXIT sign in our building pointing to a short hall with an outside door. But blocking the door was a table across the full exit. If this is no longer an exit, then take down the sign! Fortunately we could exit our room also from the porch but just seeing that blocked exit made me feel very uneasy. this hotel needs some loving care!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Sky Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sky Ranch

Address: 50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Sky Ranch is just 10 miles from Yosemite's southern entrance. Established in 1875, it was the first working cattle ranch in the area; in 1946 it was converted to a guest facility. Visitors come from all over the world for its simple, laid back atmosphere. Rustic yet comfortable, this 100-year-old converted mountain ranch house is the perfect family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sky Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sky Ranch Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Sky Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.