We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Sky Ranch

Save Saved
You added Sierra Sky Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sierra Sky Ranch
50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
sunland cali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a fun getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I happened upon this place purely by accident- but what a wonderful surprise. This is not a resort or spa but it is a clean, comfortable, family friendly hotel wih an interesting past. The history of this place is evident beginning in the lobby which was originally a home in the 1890's- there are beautiful stone fireplaces at either end of this wood paneled room. The hotel has been through several incarnations in its past and the owners are willing to share the stories with you.

The rooms are small and dated but this in no way hampered my visit. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. My room was in the main building and all these rooms had french doors opening onto a verandah- a lovely place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and watch the local wildllife wander by- we had deer on the lawn when I was there. There are no phones in the rooms but who needs those? There was wifi in my room.

The staff are friendly and always available should you need anything- The restaurant isn't open for dinner on Monday or Tuesday but the staff can direct you to several other places nearby- ask about ducey's- but breakfast is included in the price of the room.

There is a pool and plenty of open lawn area for children. This hotel seems very family oriented.

And as a pet lover I was happy to get my daily "cat fix" with a little attention from the hotel cats-John Wayne, Valentine and Hunter

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the front of the hotel- the verandahs have the loveliest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    40
    18
    19
    30
See reviews for
38
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I booked in May for September vacation. We were put in a large room in a section called The Bunkhouse, accessed out a back door and into a separate building. There was no coffee maker in the room and no internet/wifi access. The double bed mattress was pretty uncomfortable-you had to sort of wrap your leg over the edge to keep from rolling to the middle. There was a long deck out the back with access to all the room- this could have been a nice place to sit in the evening and watch the stars- only the whole porch was lit up and per the evening manager, the lights couldn't be turned off. So after a few minutes we gave up as every bug in the neighborhood was buzzing around the lights. Breakfast was strange- big stoneware plates for your boiled egg or waffle or grocery store mini-muffin but styrofoam cup for your coffee! The milk was in a huge gallon jug shoved into a bowl of ice. We skipped breakfast the 2nd day- it just wasn't worth it. I might have given this place 3 stars because it is historic and I do understand the owners are trying to 'make it' in a tough economy, BUT there was a huge safety issue with the exit in The Bunkhouse I just can't understand. There was an unlit EXIT sign in our building pointing to a short hall with an outside door. But blocking the door was a table across the full exit. If this is no longer an exit, then take down the sign! Fortunately we could exit our room also from the porch but just seeing that blocked exit made me feel very uneasy. this hotel needs some loving care!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I chose this location for its outdoor beauty and splendor. I had the MOST FABULOUS garden wedding. The owner allowed my family to decorate, the food was incredibly delicious (Chef Benjamin made my vegan sister and husband delicious food their entire visit). Most of the family stayed at the hotel, splashed in the pool, ate numerous times at their restaurant (the marilyn monroe rib-eye was the all time favorite, although the filet and lobster tail was a close second). Bar staff was attentive and full of personality and fun. It made my wedding the most wonderful day of my life....so far. Still have the honeymoon in November..tee hee hee!

Room Tip: The bunkhouse rooms have a wonderful shared porch, with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for the second time, and our love for this old-fashioned place is now cemented. The location (10 miles south of Yosemite's Mariposa Grove entrance) is fantastic for exploring the park, but the super-friendly staff, the rustic atmosphere, the forest view and the sleepy resident cats are what make the experience. The food at the steakhouse restaurant is SO good--not cheap, but you really do get what you pay for here (the portions are huge), and come on, it's Yosemite National Park: if you've come for a truly budget break and you're *not* camping, you need to adjust your expectations. (On that note, I think this is where some of these other reviewers are experiencing issues to be honest...)

The one thing I would say is that for the best experience, I'd *strongly* recommend booking one of the rooms in the front building, that open out onto either the front or back veranda (with the latter being our personal choice for the greater privacy). These rooms are by far the best furbished, and sitting out on the porch with a glass of wine after hiking your legs off in the park is just the nicest thing.

This is only place we'd consider staying near Yosemite :)

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms in the front building, that open out onto either the front or back veranda (ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is more in a price range of $ 50-75 that $ 100+. The hotel needs a total makeover and has proberly not been painted or anything like that for centuries. Looks very nice on the web but is more like a wreck. Rooms and bathroom not very clean either.
Food in Restaurant is good but is also heavly priced and the they charge 18% graditud automaticly. I like to tip for good service (and the service was good) but don't like the take the money themself....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family of five stayed at the Sierra Sky Ranch when visiting Yosemite in July 2012. We had two rooms, a single queen and a double queen. Both rooms were in the main building with french doors that opened to a large veranda. At first glance, you can appreciate the building's history and the location, but that's where the appreciation ends. The double queen room was tight. The shower needed cleaning or it could be hard water stains, don't know. The complimentary breakfast was meager. I asked for sugar and they had none. The AC vent in our room was directly over our bed, blowing on our heads. The AC broke in the kids room so the hotel manager offered the kids complimentary dinner in the hotel's restaurant which was very good but it didn't make up for the stifling heat. That same night, someone tried to forcefully enter my kids' room through the french doors. My girls thought it was just children playing. They looked outside but saw no one; it was 2:30 AM. We found out later the ranch is supposed to be haunted. The ranch could be a really nice place if the owner invested some time and money in the place. Don't think I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have to echo the reviewers who commented on the the poor quality of the rooms and lack of attention from the staff at this place. The girl who checked us in was great - very friendly and informative but that was the only real high point. This place seems to be suffering from a lack of care on the part of the owners - you can't even really tell until you've got out of the car that you're in the right place! The shower room was tiny with nowhere to put anything and the bedroom was far too small for the 2 Queen beds in it. Also the walls are really thin (I hope the mans next door's cough is better) so when your neighbour gets up for a shower, that's when you get up! Breakfast was the worst we had during our visit to California - some items of food missing and no sign of any staff to ask (when someone did find turn up, he was surly and seemed to resent the guests). This is all such a shame as this could be a really wonderful place - the location is amazing and the building is historic and quirky but I suppose being near to Yosemite you don't have to try too hard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Sky Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sky Ranch

Address: 50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Sky Ranch is just 10 miles from Yosemite's southern entrance. Established in 1875, it was the first working cattle ranch in the area; in 1946 it was converted to a guest facility. Visitors come from all over the world for its simple, laid back atmosphere. Rustic yet comfortable, this 100-year-old converted mountain ranch house is the perfect family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sierra Sky Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sky Ranch Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Sky Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.