We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Sky Ranch

Save Saved
You added Sierra Sky Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Sky Ranch
50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We love this place :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for the second time, and our love for this old-fashioned place is now cemented. The location (10 miles south of Yosemite's Mariposa Grove entrance) is fantastic for exploring the park, but the super-friendly staff, the rustic atmosphere, the forest view and the sleepy resident cats are what make the experience. The food at the steakhouse restaurant is SO good--not cheap, but you really do get what you pay for here (the portions are huge), and come on, it's Yosemite National Park: if you've come for a truly budget break and you're *not* camping, you need to adjust your expectations. (On that note, I think this is where some of these other reviewers are experiencing issues to be honest...)

The one thing I would say is that for the best experience, I'd *strongly* recommend booking one of the rooms in the front building, that open out onto either the front or back veranda (with the latter being our personal choice for the greater privacy). These rooms are by far the best furbished, and sitting out on the porch with a glass of wine after hiking your legs off in the park is just the nicest thing.

This is only place we'd consider staying near Yosemite :)

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms in the front building, that open out onto either the front or back veranda (ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    18
    18
    29
See reviews for
37
63
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is more in a price range of $ 50-75 that $ 100+. The hotel needs a total makeover and has proberly not been painted or anything like that for centuries. Looks very nice on the web but is more like a wreck. Rooms and bathroom not very clean either.
Food in Restaurant is good but is also heavly priced and the they charge 18% graditud automaticly. I like to tip for good service (and the service was good) but don't like the take the money themself....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family of five stayed at the Sierra Sky Ranch when visiting Yosemite in July 2012. We had two rooms, a single queen and a double queen. Both rooms were in the main building with french doors that opened to a large veranda. At first glance, you can appreciate the building's history and the location, but that's where the appreciation ends. The double queen room was tight. The shower needed cleaning or it could be hard water stains, don't know. The complimentary breakfast was meager. I asked for sugar and they had none. The AC vent in our room was directly over our bed, blowing on our heads. The AC broke in the kids room so the hotel manager offered the kids complimentary dinner in the hotel's restaurant which was very good but it didn't make up for the stifling heat. That same night, someone tried to forcefully enter my kids' room through the french doors. My girls thought it was just children playing. They looked outside but saw no one; it was 2:30 AM. We found out later the ranch is supposed to be haunted. The ranch could be a really nice place if the owner invested some time and money in the place. Don't think I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have to echo the reviewers who commented on the the poor quality of the rooms and lack of attention from the staff at this place. The girl who checked us in was great - very friendly and informative but that was the only real high point. This place seems to be suffering from a lack of care on the part of the owners - you can't even really tell until you've got out of the car that you're in the right place! The shower room was tiny with nowhere to put anything and the bedroom was far too small for the 2 Queen beds in it. Also the walls are really thin (I hope the mans next door's cough is better) so when your neighbour gets up for a shower, that's when you get up! Breakfast was the worst we had during our visit to California - some items of food missing and no sign of any staff to ask (when someone did find turn up, he was surly and seemed to resent the guests). This is all such a shame as this could be a really wonderful place - the location is amazing and the building is historic and quirky but I suppose being near to Yosemite you don't have to try too hard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After 50 years of travelling around the world, EUREKA....I have found it !!!!!
The worst hotel / doss-house ever....and at an exorbitant price too.
What can I say....
***.the room was so small that we could not fit ourselves and the luggage in
***the bathroom floor was dirty and gritty
***The shower had not been cleaned for ages, it seemed...
***there was no place to hang clothes and no wardrobe
***the air-con blew a gale onto one's head from directly above the bed
***the so-called complementary breakfast was not even able to provide a drop of milk until 9.15
***the blinds did not fit the window which was open to the public verandah
***beware of the "Bunk House"...its a slum
***not at all disabled friendly
***no manager on duty, just a bewildered and rather lost and embarrassed young woman
***leather furniture in the lounge was split with stuffing spilling out
***the carpet was badly stained and needed hoovering too
***the advertised restaurant was closed but for weekends
STAY AT YOUR PERIL....after a late arrival, we had a very early departure the next day, and that was not soon enough.
Historic is OK, shabby chic is OK...but dirt and squalor are NOT !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked this hotel as a base to visit Yosemite. It seemed to have a nice unique quality to it being a ranch rather than an average motel. The ranch is quite old and has some lovely characteristics the lobby,sitting room areas give a really historical feel. The staff were very pleasant and could not be faulted they showed us around and made us feel welcome.
The room was quite dark with wine walls, ensuite was very small with a tiny shower, and window in the ensuite did not close properly so a gap at bottom meant the people sitting outside on the porch smoking could hear and see everything, so had to put a facecloth in the gap!
The pool area could do with a clean up as it was quite grotty and unclean. The breakfast was terrible, poor selection, slices of fruit sparsely supplied in order to cut corners. There were lots of items missing the second morning and no staff around to ask for supplies.
We paid 290dollars for 2 nights and felt we were grossly overcharged for a very poor service supplied, given we paid the same amount for a 5 star hotel in las vegas which was out of this world.
The ranch is also farther than you would think from yosemite taking 1.5hours to get to yosemite village on very winding roads, something to consider.
Whilst the staff were very helpful, the ranch needs to spend a good bit improving their standards and yet keep the ranch historical feel as they are charging far too much for this accommodation standard.

Room Tip: if you are staying here make sure its in main part of ranch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We paid $150 per night for a suite. The bathroom had a shower that was a disgrace. The spray came from a nozzle that was about 5 feet from the floor. The spigot handles leaked badly and were so badly maintained that it was hard to control the water temperature. The shower itself was badly stained with rust. Just ugly. The steps coming into the hotel were badly maintained - a liability lawsuit just waiting to happen. The breakfast was typical of a low budget motel - cold cereal, toast, do-it-yourself waffles. What made it worse was that there was rarely a waiter or waitress available so when they ran out of orange juice or milk there was no one available to ask for more. All of this in a room costing $150 per night. We stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding. There was a dinner where the service was awful - the wait staff was running around, trying hard to do a good job but without any management. I wouldn't stay at this place again on a bet.

Room Tip: Any room will do as long as it's at another hotel. There are lots of others in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Sky Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sky Ranch

Address: 50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Sky Ranch is just 10 miles from Yosemite's southern entrance. Established in 1875, it was the first working cattle ranch in the area; in 1946 it was converted to a guest facility. Visitors come from all over the world for its simple, laid back atmosphere, and to taste the savory delights of the on-site steakhouse & saloon – The Branding Iron. Rustic yet comfortable, this 100-year-old converted mountain ranch house is the perfect family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sky Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sky Ranch Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Sky Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.