We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby rooms and invisible staff....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Sky Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Sierra Sky Ranch to your Saves list
Sierra Sky Ranch
50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Shabby rooms and invisible staff....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have to echo the reviewers who commented on the the poor quality of the rooms and lack of attention from the staff at this place. The girl who checked us in was great - very friendly and informative but that was the only real high point. This place seems to be suffering from a lack of care on the part of the owners - you can't even really tell until you've got out of the car that you're in the right place! The shower room was tiny with nowhere to put anything and the bedroom was far too small for the 2 Queen beds in it. Also the walls are really thin (I hope the mans next door's cough is better) so when your neighbour gets up for a shower, that's when you get up! Breakfast was the worst we had during our visit to California - some items of food missing and no sign of any staff to ask (when someone did find turn up, he was surly and seemed to resent the guests). This is all such a shame as this could be a really wonderful place - the location is amazing and the building is historic and quirky but I suppose being near to Yosemite you don't have to try too hard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    40
    20
    19
    31
See reviews for
38
67
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After 50 years of travelling around the world, EUREKA....I have found it !!!!!
The worst hotel / doss-house ever....and at an exorbitant price too.
What can I say....
***.the room was so small that we could not fit ourselves and the luggage in
***the bathroom floor was dirty and gritty
***The shower had not been cleaned for ages, it seemed...
***there was no place to hang clothes and no wardrobe
***the air-con blew a gale onto one's head from directly above the bed
***the so-called complementary breakfast was not even able to provide a drop of milk until 9.15
***the blinds did not fit the window which was open to the public verandah
***beware of the "Bunk House"...its a slum
***not at all disabled friendly
***no manager on duty, just a bewildered and rather lost and embarrassed young woman
***leather furniture in the lounge was split with stuffing spilling out
***the carpet was badly stained and needed hoovering too
***the advertised restaurant was closed but for weekends
STAY AT YOUR PERIL....after a late arrival, we had a very early departure the next day, and that was not soon enough.
Historic is OK, shabby chic is OK...but dirt and squalor are NOT !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked this hotel as a base to visit Yosemite. It seemed to have a nice unique quality to it being a ranch rather than an average motel. The ranch is quite old and has some lovely characteristics the lobby,sitting room areas give a really historical feel. The staff were very pleasant and could not be faulted they showed us around and made us feel welcome.
The room was quite dark with wine walls, ensuite was very small with a tiny shower, and window in the ensuite did not close properly so a gap at bottom meant the people sitting outside on the porch smoking could hear and see everything, so had to put a facecloth in the gap!
The pool area could do with a clean up as it was quite grotty and unclean. The breakfast was terrible, poor selection, slices of fruit sparsely supplied in order to cut corners. There were lots of items missing the second morning and no staff around to ask for supplies.
We paid 290dollars for 2 nights and felt we were grossly overcharged for a very poor service supplied, given we paid the same amount for a 5 star hotel in las vegas which was out of this world.
The ranch is also farther than you would think from yosemite taking 1.5hours to get to yosemite village on very winding roads, something to consider.
Whilst the staff were very helpful, the ranch needs to spend a good bit improving their standards and yet keep the ranch historical feel as they are charging far too much for this accommodation standard.

Room Tip: if you are staying here make sure its in main part of ranch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We paid $150 per night for a suite. The bathroom had a shower that was a disgrace. The spray came from a nozzle that was about 5 feet from the floor. The spigot handles leaked badly and were so badly maintained that it was hard to control the water temperature. The shower itself was badly stained with rust. Just ugly. The steps coming into the hotel were badly maintained - a liability lawsuit just waiting to happen. The breakfast was typical of a low budget motel - cold cereal, toast, do-it-yourself waffles. What made it worse was that there was rarely a waiter or waitress available so when they ran out of orange juice or milk there was no one available to ask for more. All of this in a room costing $150 per night. We stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding. There was a dinner where the service was awful - the wait staff was running around, trying hard to do a good job but without any management. I wouldn't stay at this place again on a bet.

Room Tip: Any room will do as long as it's at another hotel. There are lots of others in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Ranch staff was awesome!!! Everyone working there was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating!! Our group stayed at the Ranch for two nights, Friday and Saturday. Everyone enjoyed sitting out on the veranda and watching the children play on the grass area. The Ranch started serving breakfast 30 minutes earlier than normal so that we would have the opportunity to eat before we needed to leave the Ranch for a wedding in Yosemite. We had a reception at the Ranch that night and the food was excellent!! The staff did a beautiful job setting up the dinner and accommodating our needs. Everyone in our group (all 16 rooms) loved the Ranch! The location, history of the ranch, and staff were the BEST!!

Room Tip: The old converted hospital rooms facing the grassy area were the best for families with children. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I could not agree with the Australian gentleman more, this is a second rate establishment. Arrived on Memorial day Monday for two pre-booked nights, only to be told that the pool was unavailable due to pollen and that the restuarant does not open on Monday or Tuesday so had to go out to eat both evenings. The room was ok and our plumbing was fine but without common features such as hair dryer or iron. All of the public areas are attractive at first glance until you realise that they are poorly cleaned and that nearly all of the soft furnishings have rips and holes or have come unstiched. The various cats also have the run of the place and sleep on the guest furniture in the lounges. Breakfast was minimal and only plastic cutlery and polystyrene plates and cups were available. As for security, locking your room door is a joke, any five year old could open the room door or break open the French doors to the veranda. I paid 149 US dollars a night for this so thank goodness I wasn't paying their full summer rate. The Ranch's only saving grace is it's setting and the helpful and polite young receptionist who checked us in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Room was small asked for a bigger room which was crap Bar and Grill not open cats every where smelt of cat urine pool not open hadn't had a clean since Noah was a boy .not enough water to have a shower save your money and buy a tent

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Sky Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sky Ranch

Address: 50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Sky Ranch is just 10 miles from Yosemite's southern entrance. Established in 1875, it was the first working cattle ranch in the area; in 1946 it was converted to a guest facility. Visitors come from all over the world for its simple, laid back atmosphere. Rustic yet comfortable, this 100-year-old converted mountain ranch house is the perfect family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sierra Sky Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sky Ranch Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Sky Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.