We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Night Sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awful Night Sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This could have been a wonderful experience, but the extremely poor low-quality conditions of the mattress, bedding and towels ruined it. Also, the room heater was VERY noisy. The surroundings are beautiful and so is the hotel lobby. Our room was clean and spacious, but we won't stay here again nor recommend this hotel to our friends & family until the mattresses are upgraded; i can't emphasize enough how terrible our bed was... My parents live in Oakhurst and we came up for a family Christmas reunion along with several family from out of state who also stayed at this hotel and had similar experiences.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    587
    276
    75
    31
See reviews for
493
541
24
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times as has our family, but the bedding (mattress, blankets, sheets) are AWFUL, as are the quality of the towels (feels like wiping yourself w/sandpaper). The outer surroundings of the hotel are very nice, as is the hotel room size, but don't expect a comfortable nights sleep; the mattress is hard as a rock and good luck finding a blanket (hint: hidden in the closet). Such a shame, because this could be a really nice place. The lobby is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakhurst, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This Best Western is a jewel, besides the spacious rooms which were very clean it also was very scenic, hotel wrapped up into the pines. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the oakhurst area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I can't say that this hotel was the best place I have ever stayed but it wasn't the worst either. Our room was fine - plenty of space, tons of storage, clean bathroom, comfy bed, good internet. My only complaint was the heater was n-o-i-s-y, but we just turned it off the second night and the room stayed pretty warm. My husband and I arrived a day before our three daughters, so before we went out for the day on the day they were to arrive we stopped in at the office and explained that we wanted them to be able to check in. When the girls arrived it was as if nothing had been said; front desk people told them they could not check in - took a phone call to us to verify it was ok. They asked for a room near ours and were told that was impossible. Overall they were made to feel very unwelcome. As it turned out they did get the room next door so that was good. We were there for a family Christmas party, and I have to say that the bar and restaurant staff was fantastic. They were extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Exceptional cleanliness, excellent value, perfectly maintained we have never seen a better facility then this hotel in Oakhurst. We have nine years of experiences with the Gateway and if there is a perfect facility, this is it. Beautiful location, safe quiet, very pet friendly. Handicapped visitors will be delighted with the specialized rooms too! Very dog friendly, exceptional in every way, stay here if they have rooms available. Eat at Crab Cakes by the way for the an excellent meal. Nine years of visits to Oakhurst, we have down to a science now!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nice Clean Rooms, great location ,a one and half hour's drive to Yosemite on a good weather day, however the price for the places inside the park where priced a little too high and this would be a good location for those who wouldn't mind the additional driving

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I went to Yosemite for our Anniversary and stayed here. Oakhurst is a cozy little town in the hills just outside Yosemite. That in itself was a treat. This hotel was a lovely addition to our trip. First, the ambiance of the registration building is charming - cathedral ceiling decorated with both nostalgic relics from the early days of Yosemite and also decorated for Thanksgiving. I just wanted to sit there and read or play a board game with my wife. Second, the staff was more than accommodating. We got their rather late, but still got a non-road frontage room. Fourth, it is on a huge site with several buildings placed on a winding driveway in the trees. Our building was the last building up the driveway and seemed more like a home on its own quarter acre lot, than a hotel. Indoor swimming was just steps away. Though this Best Western was pricey for Oakhurst, it was less expensive than hotels of similar quality at the north entrance of Yosemite. We found it to be the best value for the level of service, ambiance, and convenience.

Room Tip: For best room selection, get there early and ask to see their site map and choose a room according t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.