We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
oakhurst, United States
1 review
“Stay Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This Best Western is a jewel, besides the spacious rooms which were very clean it also was very scenic, hotel wrapped up into the pines. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the oakhurst area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    583
    272
    74
    30
See reviews for
489
536
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I can't say that this hotel was the best place I have ever stayed but it wasn't the worst either. Our room was fine - plenty of space, tons of storage, clean bathroom, comfy bed, good internet. My only complaint was the heater was n-o-i-s-y, but we just turned it off the second night and the room stayed pretty warm. My husband and I arrived a day before our three daughters, so before we went out for the day on the day they were to arrive we stopped in at the office and explained that we wanted them to be able to check in. When the girls arrived it was as if nothing had been said; front desk people told them they could not check in - took a phone call to us to verify it was ok. They asked for a room near ours and were told that was impossible. Overall they were made to feel very unwelcome. As it turned out they did get the room next door so that was good. We were there for a family Christmas party, and I have to say that the bar and restaurant staff was fantastic. They were extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Exceptional cleanliness, excellent value, perfectly maintained we have never seen a better facility then this hotel in Oakhurst. We have nine years of experiences with the Gateway and if there is a perfect facility, this is it. Beautiful location, safe quiet, very pet friendly. Handicapped visitors will be delighted with the specialized rooms too! Very dog friendly, exceptional in every way, stay here if they have rooms available. Eat at Crab Cakes by the way for the an excellent meal. Nine years of visits to Oakhurst, we have down to a science now!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nice Clean Rooms, great location ,a one and half hour's drive to Yosemite on a good weather day, however the price for the places inside the park where priced a little too high and this would be a good location for those who wouldn't mind the additional driving

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I went to Yosemite for our Anniversary and stayed here. Oakhurst is a cozy little town in the hills just outside Yosemite. That in itself was a treat. This hotel was a lovely addition to our trip. First, the ambiance of the registration building is charming - cathedral ceiling decorated with both nostalgic relics from the early days of Yosemite and also decorated for Thanksgiving. I just wanted to sit there and read or play a board game with my wife. Second, the staff was more than accommodating. We got their rather late, but still got a non-road frontage room. Fourth, it is on a huge site with several buildings placed on a winding driveway in the trees. Our building was the last building up the driveway and seemed more like a home on its own quarter acre lot, than a hotel. Indoor swimming was just steps away. Though this Best Western was pricey for Oakhurst, it was less expensive than hotels of similar quality at the north entrance of Yosemite. We found it to be the best value for the level of service, ambiance, and convenience.

Room Tip: For best room selection, get there early and ask to see their site map and choose a room according t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

You don't have to leave, it is all right the landscaping makes you feel as if your in the forest already. Went to just get some well needed rest and relax and it was so worth it. The restuarant staff was excellent and so was the coffee. If your thinking of heading to Yosemite or just for a drive this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was part of a road trip down Hwy 1 to San Simeon then up to Yosemite National Park. When planning our holiday we had questioned whether going to see the Yosemite National Park was worth the detour. Have no doubts it is more than worth giving time to visit this incredible natural wonder. During our holiday we changed our plans slightly, reducing the previous hotel from two nights to one and adding an extra night onto our stay at Oakhurst.

We had felt a little uncertain about this hotel, can’t explain the why, perhaps some of the reviews had concerned us, but for the large part our worries were unfounded. The moment we stepped into reception we felt at home. The fire, pitched ceiling, wood cladding, all helped to give the area a warm and welcoming feel, the pictures on the walls, less so. Due to our change of plans we had separate bookings for each night and despite Ellen’s best efforts we were unable to have the same room for the two nights.

Our first room was at the back of the reception area (212) and had disabled facilities, which we didn’t require but our booking had somehow suggested we did. There was a space to park the car directly outside our room. This room was in a quiet location with a sliding door leading out onto a communal balcony with table and chairs overlooking the swimming pool. It was a pleasant and much appreciated sitting out area. Internally the room was a good size, with a fridge, microwave, and large bed it was well maintained and clean. The décor was somewhat dated with a large hand painted image above the bed. The bathroom was clean and functional, again somewhat dated. We had to get maintenance to explain how the shower worked, much to our embarrassment. We slept very well.

For our second night we moved to a bedroom on the front of the hotel overlooking the busy main road. Although larger, with a pitched ceiling and appearing better equipped than room 212 it had no outside area and the road noise was very intrusive. Its décor was similar to our previous room in style and taste, again somewhat dated by today’s standards. Being a light sleeper I found the road noise and lights from the vehicles kept me awake and I didn’t sleep that well.

Breakfast was included in our second night’s rate. Arriving at the restaurant the following morning there was a queue of guests waiting to be seated. Apparently they had run out of clean cutlery and couldn’t make up the tables until the dishwasher had finished its cycle!

The décor of the dining room was somewhat out of kilter with the position of the Inn being just outside a national park; pictures of roses covered the walls again supporting a dated feel. When we finally ordered our breakfast we asked for pancakes but without the sausage, bacon and egg from the set menu provided for the inclusive room rate. Apparently it was not possible to serve the pancakes without the meat additions! All the set meals had no flexibility if you were on the inclusive rate but if you were paying for your breakfast it was very different. Then you could order exactly what you wanted and the food did look slightly more appetizing, but this was probably only due to presentation. The coffee however was dreadful.

For what we paid the rooms were satisfactory. I definitely preferred room 212 to the one on the front of the hotel. However I would not pay a higher rate to include breakfast, there were better options with greater flexibility in the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.