We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great hotel. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were the best of all the places we stayed on our trip out west. We had breakfast in the restaurant next door. We ordered off the menu because the buffet did not have anything that appealed to us. The breakfast food was great and the service was outstanding. We went to Yosemite from the hotel and appreciated that is was so close by. We would definately return and recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    533
    242
    66
    25
See reviews for
435
474
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I wasn't greeted checking in. The women seemed irritated that I was interupting HER time. The layout for this BW is complicated and large. The attitude giving instructions finding my room was like "I'm only going to tell you ONCE" The mattresses in the room were covered in plastic that made noise under the sheets. The bed had a clammy feel. I slept with my clothes on, on top of the bedding. The bed was old and uncomfortable as well as the rest of the room. Poor lighting in room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

WOW, really there's is no other word for this hotel! From the first minute we walked into the lobby we felt like we were in a fantasy land. The reception lobby was stunning, and had a souvenir shop the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were even kind enough to send our post cards for us. The room took us by surprise. We only paid around $80 for the night so we didn't expect much but just hoped that it was clean. I was pleasantly surprised to see a large well appointed and clean room. The large beautiful painting on the wall was the perfect finishing touch! We decided to eat at the onsite restaurant and I'm so glad we did. Being a super fussy eater I ordered a meal but asked for a bunch of changes including no capsicum. The next thing I know the chef comes out to our table to ensure that he completely understood what I meant by "capsicum" apparently it's called something different in the states. He couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating! An absolute treasure of a place to stay! I'll be back next time I come to Yosemite!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked here during the ‘Rim’ fire of August/September 2013 following a recommendation from a friend. Our booking was a back-up plan in the event that our first choice booking (The Evergreen Lodge) was closed due to the fire. The Evergreen Lodge was indeed still closed so we used this booking and were pleasantly surprised by it. The room was very good (a two bedroom option with shared bathroom) and the location is pretty good for Yosemite despite being a 45 minute pleasant drive from the hotel to Yosemite Valley. Our original booking would have been closer.

We booked a room with inclusive breakfast for which we were offered a buffet or table service option each day. CHOOSE THE TABLE SERVICE OPTION!!! We chose the buffet on the first day and it was fairly poor. It was occasionally very busy, many items ran out repeatedly and some of the food was of poor quality (e.g. hard pancakes). The table service option experienced on subsequent days was far nicer and allows you to order anything from the menu for your pre-paid price (they like a tip at the end though!). Quality on the table service items was good (e.g. French toast breakfast with bacon or sausage) and the service was very friendly and efficient. Any drink (e.g. juice, tea or coffee) was included for the pre-paid breakfast.

The restaurant/bar is also good for evening use – we used it twice. Good quality food and good service. There’s a good range of beers to choose from also. Prices weren’t unreasonable. There are plenty of other nearby restaurants to try if you prefer.

We stayed at our original choice (Evergreen Lodge) last year and would choose it over this accommodation for a trip to beautiful Yosemite where possible in future but the Yosemite Gateway Inn is a good place to stay nonetheless and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the warm, inviting look of the property when we arrived. The staff was extremely pleasant too. The kicker here was how beautiful the grounds were when we woke up the next morning! Nestled in the mountain side we couldn't have asked for more and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Out of choice I would have stayed in the park but initially we were only planning to drive through Yosemite as this was our second visit. However, we decided to spend two nights here which meant driving in to the park twice. If you get car sick take pills as the road twists and turns for miles! The hotel room (141) was in an annexe and was very nice, no complaints apart from the fact there were no tea bags! Bed was comfy, no noise, staff very helpful. The decor in the lobby and restaurant was quite peculiar for 2013. It was like stepping back in time as it was all plastic flowers and dated pictures. We ate our evening meal both nights in the restaurant and the food was very good, but they really need to upgrade the cutlery and condiments if I am picky. We had breakfast the first day but I have to agree with other comments that it is not up to scratch so we ate at Dennys the next day. Dennys was very modern and I have to admit I was impressed with the fact they are more aware of healthy eating than last time I was in the States. I would stay here again but not if spending more than one night due to the distance to the park.

Room Tip: 141 very modern, not sure what the rooms in the mail building would be like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived late and left early but had an excellent night's stay. Large room which was clean and quiet. Great location to Yosemite National Park for a good price. Staff was very nice when we arrived late.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.