We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family of 5 spent 2 nights in a family suite that consisted of a front room with a queen bed, bathroom, and then a back room that had two more queen beds and a small table with a couple of chairs. The hotel is a little dated but it was absolutely perfect for our needs. Everyone had a bed of their own, felt safe, and we had plenty of room. We had a balcony and one evening as I was getting ready to bathe one of the kids I happened to glance out and see a deer. We all rushed out to the balcony and there were 4 deer on the grounds right outside our window. Needless to say we were thrilled. And the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. A quick drive (approx. 15 minutes) to the entrance of Yosemite made it easy to get an early start and beat the crowds to see the Sequoias. Also, easy access to a variety of restaurants in town (loved Pizza Factory :-))made this a perfect spot for us to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    518
    234
    62
    25
See reviews for
414
464
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is quite conveniently located for Yosemite, although there is a bit of a drive to get there, it is more affordable than accommodation a lot closer to the park. Having said that it was the most expensive room we stayed in on our holiday and the room itself was probably the worst. When we arrived we found black hairs on the bathroom floor and in the sink. There were also some hairs on the pillow and a few small hairs in the sheets. We asked if we could be moved. The receptionist was very sympathetic but said we couldn't be moved as they were full. We went out for dinner and the receptionist actually changed the bed and cleaned our room herself. The room itself has quite tired décor but has a comfortable bed, a good TV, a large bathroom - what you would expect. We had breakfast included, this was also a bit of a disappointment. The staff seemed a bit run off their feet, and both days there were things missing from the breakfast buffet. Overall this is a satisfactory place to stay when visiting Yosemite but could do with a few improvements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a very neat two-king bed room at the Best Western Plus. The room included a kitchenette with sink, microwave and refrigerator. The was in their recently added section/wing. The staff and service were great. There were several deer that came almost to the front door, a plus if you like to see some wild life. The hotel is situated right off highway 41 in Oakhurst, near the south entrance to Yosemite National Park.There is an onsite restaurant and It was an easy drive to grocery store and other restaurants in Oakhurst. I will stay here again if I ever stop at Oakhurst enroute to Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and accomodations very much. The restaurant for dinner was excellent!!! The staff were friendly and the setting is beautiful. What more can we say? We most likely would return again unless we went to a bed and breakfast instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights (drove in late afternoon on the first day) and took a tour of Yosemite. We were way up the hill in one of the "family" rooms, which I really liked. It wasn't much more than the other standard rooms, and gave us a lot of space and separate sleeping quarters. The hotel checkin was friendly and the room comfortable and clean. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast for convenience. Wished we had ventured out into the town. The buffet is not good - the eggs were soggy and there was no bacon! So we decided to order off the menu the 2nd day, and it was SLOW, but the food was better. I had not done my homework since we were going to be here only a few days, but when we left, we saw a lot of other places I wished I would have tried. Ok, back to the hotel review - I would definitely stay here again due to the convenience location wise and since the tour picked up from there. It was close enough to Yosemite if taking the tour, but if we were driving ourselves and staying multiple days, I might stay closer to the park. Oakhurst was a nice spot on our tour of northern Cali and worth the trip to see Yosemite.

Room Tip: Choose one of the large, 2-room suites; good value and lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I wrote a review for this hotel in 2011. Still the best bet around, except now they do not offer complimentary breakfast, just 20% off at their restaurant. Big disappointment, as the complimentary breakfast was very good and a big plus for my family. Still, there is a new Denny's restaurant just down the street, which is helpful for a hungry family.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200's are next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

On the plus side, the hotel is well located for visiting Yosemite, and Oakhurst has all the amenities of a tourist area. On the negative side, the staff we encountered (at reception and breakfast) were frosty and unfriendly. No salutations, no enquiry about our plans or stay, no smiles. I was asked to sign an undertaking to agree to pay a hefty cleaning bill in the event we smoked in the non-smoking rooms we had requested. On entering one of the rooms, we found one already smelling strongly of smoke!

The reception area has a bizarre shrine to Ronald Reagan and many bumper stickers for sale that pinned the hotel's political allegiances firmly to the mast! The general unfriendly atmosphere was in stark contrast to most places we stayed on our three week visit to California. If you expect or demand a service culture, I would avoid. If you simply want average accommodation to rest your head while visiting Yosemite, it is adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.