We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst checkin experience ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Worst checkin experience ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our stay Thursday 20 June, we won't ever stay at a best western again on principal of our check-in experience here. No hello, no smile, grubby un-ironed attire, computer says no, plain darn rude. Yes we were asking to check-in early but really!!!! When we asked if we could wait by pool for room to be ready a flat No. We went for a delicious lunch at Crab Cakes ( turn right and on your left in 5 mins walk) then thankfully had a wonderful still early check-in with Ronda who was delightful and gave us the service we deserved, pulling out stops to put us in an available room with the same computer. What a shame other staff so let the place down. The pool is gorgeous much nicer than photos, humming birds and other wildlife in gorgeous grounds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    534
    245
    67
    25
See reviews for
438
476
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights at the end of my US trip. Rooms are fine. A little dated decor but clean and comfortable. If stay again.

DO NOT EAT IN THE RESTAURANT. I did for breakfast and then dinner, whilst the service was average the food was poor and way overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is placed on the main road through Oakhurst. Our room was next to the road on the ground floor and was noisy from the traffic but more so from the very noisy air conditioning . The walls of the room were paper thin and every sound from the next room can be heard. The restaurant was only a short walk away and the complimentary breakfast was every bit as good as the main breakfasts that were not free. This restaurant was under separate management and was good value with excellent presentation. The hotel could do with a little upgrading.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road as the traffic noise was loud. Hopefully quieter air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This motel was built into the side of a mountain. Several buildings on different levels. Lush landscaping. Very woodsy feel.
The balcony of our room looked out on the woods to the highway beyond. The room was very spacious. Beds comfortable. Spotless. A/C quiet. Large bathroom with granite. The room was decorated with a large mural of Yosemite. Would definitely stay again. Check in/out very efficient. One nice plus was the very attractive on site restaurant. The food and service very good. Free hot continental breakfast in the restaurant. Many choices. We had a great experience here. Only 15 miles from the south entrance to Yosemite. Be sure and see the big trees in the park at the south entrance.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House Springs, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was just close enough to enjoy Yosemite National Park and come back to relax for the evening. The rooms were clean and the staff very helpful. The bed was good. There is a bar onsite and a mini golf area, along with pool. The landscape was great with all the unusual flowers. The gift shop was awesome. The wood carvings of animals and Statue of Liberty was very nice. The hotel is in walking distance to a lot of gift shops and places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Yosemite and loved the place. I think we were lucky enough to have a disabled persons room which was massive, it had three very comfortable queen beds and a large bathroom. We ate in the resturant and had a very nice meal served by a very nice waiter, breakfast was also very good. Overall if we pass this way again then we would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.