We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms in a nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Seneca, SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice rooms in a nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The rooms are nice enough for the price you pay. The grounds are really nice with picnic tables and nice landscaping. There is a nice indoor pool with a hot tub, but there was a giant squirrel jumping around in there that was a bit disconcerting. The place is not new, but it was probably a top notch motel in its day. Still, it is not bad for the location. One funny thing happened as we decided to try the motel restaurant. We went in and there was only a few customers at the bar with many empty tables. The waitress told us there would be about a 15 or 20 minute wait. My wife commented that there is nobody in there and there was another couple standing there who said they had said the same thing. We told them we would go somewhere else and we did not bother going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    593
    279
    76
    31
See reviews for
506
546
25
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It is an extremely quiet atmosphere. The theme is adorable. The indoor pool was nice and the breakfast was great. If you are traveling with kids ask for first floor. We were not in our room but for 20 minutes and got a call about the noise and this was around 7 at night. First time that has ever happened to us. It would have been nice for them to notice that we had just gotten into the room before calling with a "noise" problem. The kids did whisper everywhere they went because they were afraid they would get into trouble, it actually became very funny. All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were only here one night and it was OK in a motelish sort of way. We were upstairs on the corner of the building. It was relatively quiet and we didn't need the airconditioning or heat. We had two windows that opened, one in the main room and another in the bath. One of the weakest hairdryers I have ever used. Our room came with breakfast but that only included an extremely limited buffet which was as my husband said "as appealing as a prison meal". We declined to eat there and went elsewhere in town. Not sure why all the positive reviews about the breakfast or the rooms.

Staff seemed fairly surly. We arrived early but were not allowed to check in until after 4. We were told they had opened new rooms but had limited cleaning staff. Our room was ready when we returned at 5pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a very nice stay at this hotel. Loved the old landscaping, the Yosemite murals and the view. The restaurant was excellent. The service was really above and beyond. Did not want to leave. Very good access to the park as well. Most importantly this hotel is pet friendly!!!! Hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated on a very steep hill. Not to worry, a golf cart will take you up if you need help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "new part" that is located on the other side of the restaurant. We were told the rooms had been open for around two weeks. The new area was not very close to the pool and sauna, but you can drive up there and park pretty close. The room was spotless and the staff was very pleasant. The location was easy to find and was 16 mikes away from Yosemite. Some of the pricier packages included breakfast, but if you dont qualify for a voucher, make sure to tell the staff you have a room and we received a 25% off the check.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on April 20th and 21st. Beautiful location, great price. At check out, I was expecting front desk lady to ask how was everything? or did you enjoy your stay? or was everything ok with your stay, nothing. She didn't even say thank you. Sign here, OK, here is your receipt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.