We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK lodging, nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“OK lodging, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were only here one night and it was OK in a motelish sort of way. We were upstairs on the corner of the building. It was relatively quiet and we didn't need the airconditioning or heat. We had two windows that opened, one in the main room and another in the bath. One of the weakest hairdryers I have ever used. Our room came with breakfast but that only included an extremely limited buffet which was as my husband said "as appealing as a prison meal". We declined to eat there and went elsewhere in town. Not sure why all the positive reviews about the breakfast or the rooms.

Staff seemed fairly surly. We arrived early but were not allowed to check in until after 4. We were told they had opened new rooms but had limited cleaning staff. Our room was ready when we returned at 5pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    516
    233
    62
    25
See reviews for
412
463
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a very nice stay at this hotel. Loved the old landscaping, the Yosemite murals and the view. The restaurant was excellent. The service was really above and beyond. Did not want to leave. Very good access to the park as well. Most importantly this hotel is pet friendly!!!! Hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated on a very steep hill. Not to worry, a golf cart will take you up if you need help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "new part" that is located on the other side of the restaurant. We were told the rooms had been open for around two weeks. The new area was not very close to the pool and sauna, but you can drive up there and park pretty close. The room was spotless and the staff was very pleasant. The location was easy to find and was 16 mikes away from Yosemite. Some of the pricier packages included breakfast, but if you dont qualify for a voucher, make sure to tell the staff you have a room and we received a 25% off the check.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on April 20th and 21st. Beautiful location, great price. At check out, I was expecting front desk lady to ask how was everything? or did you enjoy your stay? or was everything ok with your stay, nothing. She didn't even say thank you. Sign here, OK, here is your receipt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great place to stay HOWEVER you will find a most intersting place in the lobby - go up to the second floor and be impressed. Also, go accross the street to the "good ol things" a collection of "whatever"
"Ben"

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Best Western Yosemite Plus Gateway Inn covers a couple of buildings with rooms that are quite large and have a balcony, some with great views towards the Sierra Nevada (Yosemite National Park). The staff is helpfull and they have a good restaurant for breakfast (included in the room rate), dinner and a late night drink. Oakhurst is a small place, but has a couple of decent places to shop, eat and drink and really is the gateway to the park. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel very much. Although directly at the road (route 41 to Yosemite Park), there is peace and tranquillity around you and you are in the middle of nature. You see a lot of deer and squirrels in hotel garden and the indoor swimming pool and hot tub are great for relaxing after a day of walking trails in the park. If you stay in one of the higher buildings of the complex, there is quite a steep hike at night to your room, something that can certainly be felt after a couple of cold ones in the bar, but the hotels has golf carts if you don't like the exercise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at this unique hotel. Its location is truly beautiful. The staff was so pleasant and friendly nad helpful. The rooms were perfect for a 6 day stay. They were large and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. I look forward to my next visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.