We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, needs updating - far from Yosemite!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old, needs updating - far from Yosemite!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were scheduled to stay here last summer. Got to the area early and asked to see a room - very dark, smelled musty and smoky, old style decor and in definite need of a makeover!! Staff also not very welcoming. Additionally, this location is a solid 30 minute drive on super windy roads to even get to the south gate of Yosemite. (The Sequoias are at that end which is a plus). However, to get into Yosemite Valley is another HOUR, of pure slow, windy roads. So essentially it takes an hour and a half to get to the main attractions in Yosemite! Doing this once is long enough but doing it several days in a row is not fun - people we know never get car sick but after this drive were extremely nauseous!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    517
    232
    63
    25
See reviews for
410
462
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Location-wise, this place is ideal; right on highway 41 just off 49. The intersection of 41 and 49 has lot of shopping options and restaurants not to mention restaurants around this hotel itself. We have stayed here 3 or 4 different times with our extended family. The suites are awesome; one/two beds out front and two/one inside with a pull-out sofa. The only "problem" might be, it is located on a hillock so elderly folks might have trouble climbing up so you will end up using your car more often to climb up and down. This hotel has a indoor swimming pool as well. It is not very far from the entrance of Yosemite either. During our latest stay, we did encounter ants near the sink and bathroom but didn't see it as a huge issue; just had to be careful with storing the food items.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Location was good once you came down from the park. The hotel has beautiful grounds. There was a porch so that you can enjoy the grounds. Upon checking in the front desk was robotic. Not friendly at all. I stepped in and got her to smile. Sad. Then upon checking out another staff member and I went back and fort about our breakfast. To my surprise. So we decided to eat elsewhere. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

large room close to Yosemite.

Restaurant is slow, but liked it was on site. Used best western as a stop over to cabin in yosemite. Oakhurst is a great place to stock up before the mountain where cost are 3x the price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in Best Western in different cities, overall experience was very good, clean, nice size room, nice pool and hot tub, however my most recent stay on saturday 3/23/13 was horrible. The hot tub was not very clean, felt very slippery, even worse, when my friend and I went back to the room to take a shower, I found there were millions of ants coming out from the faucet and faucet knob and all over the tub!!!!!!!! It freaked me out and I called the front desk immediately. The lady who answered the phone said she would have someone come to take a look right away, but the staff didn't show up until 15 minutes later. I have very sensitive skin and requested to change room, she said the whole hotel was full and they didn't have any room for us, we can either check out and ask for a refund or stay in the same room, that was all she could do. It was 10:30pm at that time, I said I didnt want to look for a hotel so late and I wanted to talk to her manager. She said there was no manager on duty at this time that I can call him on Monday!!! I asked if there was any place we could take a shower, she said nowhere! I said that was not possible, so how can the empolyees take a shower? She said it was available. Without any choice, we had to stay, she sprayed some insects killer and it smelt horrible in the room, she cleaned the ant bodies and left. Later on, more ants came out again!!! I wish I could show you all the pictures of ants crawling all over the place!!

So either of us took a shower that night, with the bad hot tub smell and sticky skin, felt disgusting. We hardly slept the whole night. I will never go back to that hotel again and will never recommend it to anyone. Stay away from it!!! It is not as good as it shows in the advertisement!

Room Tip: Stay away from it if you don't want to shower with ants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wgputnam, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ants have been extremely bad this year, we have a exterminator spraying regularly to get the little critters under control. Sorry for the inconvenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for Yosemite. The staff are really friendly, the room we got was really clean - decor maybe a bit dated, but very well maintained. For the money this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.