We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room for $70” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
temecula, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice room for $70”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

large room close to Yosemite.

Restaurant is slow, but liked it was on site. Used best western as a stop over to cabin in yosemite. Oakhurst is a great place to stock up before the mountain where cost are 3x the price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    534
    245
    67
    25
See reviews for
438
476
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in Best Western in different cities, overall experience was very good, clean, nice size room, nice pool and hot tub, however my most recent stay on saturday 3/23/13 was horrible. The hot tub was not very clean, felt very slippery, even worse, when my friend and I went back to the room to take a shower, I found there were millions of ants coming out from the faucet and faucet knob and all over the tub!!!!!!!! It freaked me out and I called the front desk immediately. The lady who answered the phone said she would have someone come to take a look right away, but the staff didn't show up until 15 minutes later. I have very sensitive skin and requested to change room, she said the whole hotel was full and they didn't have any room for us, we can either check out and ask for a refund or stay in the same room, that was all she could do. It was 10:30pm at that time, I said I didnt want to look for a hotel so late and I wanted to talk to her manager. She said there was no manager on duty at this time that I can call him on Monday!!! I asked if there was any place we could take a shower, she said nowhere! I said that was not possible, so how can the empolyees take a shower? She said it was available. Without any choice, we had to stay, she sprayed some insects killer and it smelt horrible in the room, she cleaned the ant bodies and left. Later on, more ants came out again!!! I wish I could show you all the pictures of ants crawling all over the place!!

So either of us took a shower that night, with the bad hot tub smell and sticky skin, felt disgusting. We hardly slept the whole night. I will never go back to that hotel again and will never recommend it to anyone. Stay away from it!!! It is not as good as it shows in the advertisement!

Room Tip: Stay away from it if you don't want to shower with ants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wgputnam, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ants have been extremely bad this year, we have a exterminator spraying regularly to get the little critters under control. Sorry for the inconvenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for Yosemite. The staff are really friendly, the room we got was really clean - decor maybe a bit dated, but very well maintained. For the money this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Thanks to Laura in the restaurant , my husband and I were able to enjoy the first few nights of our trip to Yosemite in a laid back and friendly atmosphere while we relaxed with the margarita I was craving after the LONG drive through the park. We happened to stumble upon this restaurant after driving back and forth on the main road and realized that it may be the only one open, but it also was the most inviting! We were right!. After getting the margarita which was well worth the money because it was very tasty and good quality-not cheap sour mix- we were able to relax at the bar , but yet feel like we were also a part of the entire restaurant and it seemed that others felt the same, thanks to Laura. She was very friendly and seemed to make everyone feel like they were at a big family dinner, yet still intimate with their family, spouse, etc at the same time. Laura was so inviting that we went back the following day, which happened to be my birthday. Once Laura noticed we were back to dine that evening, she saluted my birthday by singing Happy Birthday and even got the lovely couple next to us to sing along. It was very sweet and inviting again. Also provided us with a slice of cake after our YUMMY and WELL PRESENTED AND COOKED meals. We once again chatted with Laura that evening as did EVERYOTHER table and had a great time winding down after another long day of hiking.

We returned three nights later (thinking Laura was there because I thought she said she was going to be) to enjoy our last night before heading to San Fran to find not only a different waitress/hostess/bartender, but also a DIFFERENT atmosphere. It was quiet and somewhat uncomfortable-no one was talking or seemed relaxed. It was brighter and slower service (since we were just at the bar again I felt like I wasnt as important) but what really ruined it for me was when I asked if Laura was working . The answer was "no" but when I said "aww we came to say goodbye-we were in on Sunday & Monday" her answer then with an eye roll......."ohhh and where was Laura that night". Needless to say.............we did not spend anymore money there that night! Not sure what she meant but i KNOW that she meant it to be rude. And that sad part is that I believe she is one of the owners...NOT GOOD SERVICE and personally-she was boring and awkward and could not provide the same service and atmosphere Laura did. Thank you Laura! You did a great job being the only worker in a busy place while also being friendly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good value for the money. Very reasonable price for our room. We couldn't find affordable lodging inside Yosemite National Park for our visit, and this property is not far outside Yosemite in the town of Oakhurst. Admittedly it's a bit of a drive to get to Yosemite Valley, but not too bad. We had stayed here previously several years ago, and the property is still well-maintained and a good option when visiting Yosemite. Spacious rooms, free Internet, discounted breakfast, and original art on the walls (I think by the owners) all make for an enjoyable experience. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We usally go up to Tenaya Lodge but because it was a last minute thought and the rates were out of sight we decided to try this Best Western. We are very glad we did and can't wait to go back. The rooms are large and clean, restaurants nearby, casino nearby and of course up the hill to Yosemite, all at an affordable price per night. We met the owner, his wife and grandson because we had a door lock issue. They and the staff could not have been more helpful in resolving this problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus for our Yosemite trip since the price was very reasonable and the location was central to restaurants. It's also not that far from Yosemite National Park. The staff was very warm and inviting. It felt like a family atmosphere. You also get free breakfast and daily happy hours which was great after a long day sight seeing. The rooms were clean and comfortable, as well. We really enjoyed the company of one of the staff members who works in the lounge/bar area of their restaurant - Laura. She was great and made our stay that much more enjoyable. Laura kept our drinks coming! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.