We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a place to lay your head” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's a place to lay your head”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After a very long drive from Lake Tahoe, which included an unexpected snowy detour across the Tioga Pass (who knew it snowed that heavily in June at 10,000ft!?!), and a 20+ mile journey down the most winding road I have ever encountered, we finally arrived at the hotel. The check in was easy and they have some little items to pick up, if needed (detergent, postcards etc). We stayed for one night in June 2012 and had a ground level floor. The decor was dated and there were a few ants here and there in the bathroom. And the sink was clogged. And the room reeked of cigarette smoke...but having done a 100 mile bike ride the day before, none of the aforementioned mattered much. The beds were clean and comfy and it was very quiet. And they had a laundry room which we really appreciated at that point in our adventure.

The breakfast the next day was fine, as you would expect from a hotel buffet. Eggs, yogurt, bagels, oatmeal, bacon, waffles etc. The coffee was great as was the service. I read other reviews that blamed the breakfast on their kids upchucking on the drive up to Yosemite Valley and I would challenge that (unless they gorged themselves). Believe me, it's more likely the winding road as previously mentioned. That means it was a very slow go to get to the Valley- over an hour. I would stay there again, if I was unable to get a reservation in the Valley. The road into the valley passes the mariposa grove which seems to be a much less traveled area of the park.

Room Tip: ask for non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    512
    230
    63
    24
See reviews for
405
459
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night for our first trip to Yosemite for my birthday. The property is very large and the lobby was impressive but that's where the good news ended. The rooms need upgrades. The bed cover was dirty, the furniture was old as the hills and it showed by all the damaged/scuffed areas on everything. The bed was absolutely dreadful. We woke up with a terrible backache. The popcorn ceilings still had the hanging hardware from old lamps and the lock for the door was falling off.

We went to the onsite bar/lounge which was extremely outdated but not the end of the world. The real problem was the service and the food. We sat at the bar and waited a good 15 minutes before someone appeared only to be told that they couldn't make me a drink, only serve me beer. The bartender appeared finally and made us a drink. I looked around the room and there were just a handful of patrons. The tables hadn't been bussed and there was food all over the ground. It seemed there was just one server and she seemed very stressed and overworked. The bartender was clearly intoxicated and served a patron a drink in a dirty martini glass. It had been right above my head and I could see the dust and lipstick marks. The bartender disappeared again and didn't return to check on us so I got frustrated and switched to beer. We ordered a simple club sandwich to share that was massive but it was terrible. The bacon was so well done it was as dry as a bone and nearly black. My boyfriend is pretty easy to please and even he said it was awful and didn't finish the meal.

The next morning we went to avail of our free breakfast voucher but ended up leaving and going to breakfast at another restaurant downtown. We waited for 20 min. before even being acknowledged. There were empty tables clearly available but not enough staff and clearly no organization. The waitress was serving tables AND ringing people up. The woman who was supposed to be the hostess kept disappearing into the back and was obviously flustered by the growing line of people. A customer came out of the dining area to pay her bill and announced to the line that we better make sure our breakfast was cooked properly and was clearly unhappy. She waited at the register and finally the server had to help her. She had comped one of her breakfasts but then something went wrong with the transaction so she said she had to go get her manager. She went to the back and came out with no manager. When the customer asked where the manager was she said she'd be out when she can. The customer then said well how long is that going to be? and the server replied, I don't know, whenever she is able. The manager should have made herself available and/or given her employee a better answer - not just whenever she can make it. It was ridiculous and clearly nobody was managing the restaurant very well. We left and so did a number of others. It's too bad because this could be a really great hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights. Lovely room, very kitsch room division but it fitts the national park surroundings. A separate building with pool and whirlpool, great! Good laundry facilities. Oakhurst is not to impressive , but has all the necessary. Approx. distance to entrance of Yosemite by car is 30min. Staff okay and helpfull.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked at two days notice while touring California and we were very pleased with our room apart from the awful towels. We had a king room on second floor with a very pleasant outlook. Bed comfy, pillows OK and we really don't mind what colour a bathroom suite is, but the towels really need replacing - like right now! Staff are friendly apart from some people at reception, although Loretta is lovely, efficient, knows what she is talking about and she smiles! Girls doing the rooms are very pleasant and helpful. Would recommend staying there, just ignore reception as much as you can. We had a 25% reduction on breakfast which was good, not sure why policy changed. There is a nice indoor pool and a guest laundry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Tucked cozily amid the mountainous beauty of all that is Yosemite, this is just the experience I wanted for a stay near the National Forest- just short of my own cabin! The minute you pull onto the lot, you already feel as if you are in a Cozy Mountain Lodge! The lobby has an inviting space for enjoying the fireplace...yes, you would want to grab a cup of hot cocoa and gather there with family or friends and just relax. We sat there a while and enjoyed the fire and just spent a little time looking for plans on the laptop. We had one of the suites up the hill, WOW unbelievably low price...even for a weekend! The Room was comfortable! There was a Queen Bed in the front room, and 2 more in the balcony room. Two large screen tvs, large bath and also second sink and dressing area. Of course all the amenities are there!!! See the website for the list. Indoor Pool has a waterfall! Breakfast voucher for a very nice Restaurant! Staff is so welcoming and very helpful for anything you need. AAA has a good discount price here. Price can be $107 for a weekend night for the large 2 room suite! There are Artist's paintings on the walls of local Woods Scenes that really add to the Lodge Outdoors feel-but expect very well decorated surroundings with beautiful furniture! You have to go and stay there!!! Go to Oakhurst, CA it is so easy to access it from the freeway! The drive there is beautiful countryside and only 15 miles outside the National Park.....Oh, I can still smell the forest in the night air off the balcony...OK-see you there, I'm going back!!!! :)

Room Tip: There is a playground at the back building if you want a place for family time so you can actually w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here one time in February.

Pulled in at 10PM on a Monday night with the parking lots pretty full. We needed a room for the night and walking into the lodge/front desk I was expecting to pay at least a hundred $. Wrong! we were quoted a rate of $58.xx plus tax, SOLD! We requested a ground floor room and unsure of the area wanted to leave the packed SUV in sight of the front desk window.

The room was perfect with 2 queens, clean comfortable and large.

We didn't have time to experience any of the amenities like free breakfast but the Wi-Fi worked great. Will definitely star here again of the need arises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.