We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service and grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We made our reservations really early so we still got the free breakfasts. The hotel and restaurant staffs were friendly and helpful. Being mobility impaired, parking in front of the room was a big plus. The hotel is built on the side of the mountain with several different buildings so even though the hotel was sold out, there was a nice feel of isolation. Our room was clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable but as we always take our own pillows, we can't address the pillow issue. We had one slight issue and the manager was on scene at our room within 5 minutes, and we were well satisfied with his disposition of the matter. Due to an injury at the park, we had to cut our visit short by one day. Our refund was handled in a friendly and timely manner. Having stayed both here and at several of the lodges inside the park, we will be staying here for our future visits to Yosemite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    533
    242
    66
    25
See reviews for
435
474
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2013 for 2 night. This place is located right in Oakhurst, about 30 mins drive away from the south entrance to Yosemite. The room was a good size, but the decor needs updating (for example the room had a peach bathroom suite). There is an indoor heated pool and spa, which was a nice touch. Breakfast was included in the room rate and included cooked items, my only criticism was the speed of service, and their highlighting of the fact that service was not included for your 'free' breakfast. If travelling to yosemite in the winter you will need snow chains definitely, I would recommend O'Sullivans tyre shop in Oakhurst, who charged $50, but accept returns (50%) if unused. Oakhurst itself was a strange town, with little going on entertainment wise. There is an excellent BBQ restaurant opposite the Hotel, which is also relatively inexpensive (an order at the counter place). If travelling to this part of the world again (which I hope to do) I would stay somewhere in Mariposa.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

NO MORE FREE BREAKFAST. OLDER building with plumbing issues.
Shower water pressure was like that from a 99 cent water toy. It took 20min just to wash the soap off. Visible cracks in every wall. My previous stay made me come back, but now I will find another for my "go to" stay at Yosemite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visalia, california
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. Overall our stay was fine, and we probably would stay here again.
Issus:
Front desk staff not friendly or welcoming at all
Restaurant staf. Was very helpful and nice.
The bed is very comfortable, but the pillows are terrible! They look nice on the bed, bit very firm and very puffy. We were so glad we had brought our own.
There were sunflower seeds on the carpet and on the bathroom floor.
While we were there they made our bed. They did not empty the ice bucket or the coffee pot, caused us to wonder about the cleanliness standards.
We were in a room that faced the main highway. It was not too loud. There was a lot of traffic in the room right next door. Cars would pull up for a few minutes and then leave. In the matter of an hour, this happened about 5-6 times. We thought maybe they were selling drugs!
We later saw that it is the room they use for the hotel maids. It would have been good to know this.
They give a 25% discount in the hotel restaurant for breakfast only, which was great. The food was good. We ate there both mornings. On the second morning they had run out of ham and sausage which was disappointing. Beautiful area. Good place Toste if you want to go to Yosemite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived just as it was starting to snow. We got to our warm room and watched the snow come down.
The room was large and good size bathroom. Clean, comfortable beds.
When the snow stopped we were able to use their laundry facilities.
We also went to the onsite bar/restaurant. It was good hearty food with nice service. The fireplace in the bar was great with a red wine in hand!
All staff we came across were nice and helpful.
Only stayed one night, couldn't get in to Yosemite due to weather but doesn't seem too far away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

You shouldn't expect much because it is a best western, but you Definitely are paying less than what you will get . Pretty clean for the most part except for the included free breakfast that had hair in my eggs . Nice housekeeping service staff , cable tv , Newish microwave and a decent size fridge. It's a good place to stay only 1 or 2 nights . Fairly close to Yosemite national park .. If you can't book a cabin or any other hotel closer to the forest .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The cost of the rooms are well below the average cost in that area. The rooms are very nice and clean and our room was large, especially considering that it had 2 queen sized beds. Our granddaughter played on the carpet and her clothes were still quiet clean (I've recently stayed in some expensive hotels and the carpet was filty). The room had a small 'fridge and microwave and a full sized bathroom. The rooms were quiet, but the hotel didn't seem that full (that's my disclaimer in case it gets noisy when it's busy) Better than average breakfast buffet, although the restaurant service at dinner was so slow that we left. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is about 15 miles from the entrance to Yosemite Park. We will definitely return. Ask about discounts for AARP, Costco, etc.

Room Tip: The higher rooms looking towards the highway have a deck with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.