We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

You shouldn't expect much because it is a best western, but you Definitely are paying less than what you will get . Pretty clean for the most part except for the included free breakfast that had hair in my eggs . Nice housekeeping service staff , cable tv , Newish microwave and a decent size fridge. It's a good place to stay only 1 or 2 nights . Fairly close to Yosemite national park .. If you can't book a cabin or any other hotel closer to the forest .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    676
    318
    89
    35
See reviews for
586
643
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The cost of the rooms are well below the average cost in that area. The rooms are very nice and clean and our room was large, especially considering that it had 2 queen sized beds. Our granddaughter played on the carpet and her clothes were still quiet clean (I've recently stayed in some expensive hotels and the carpet was filty). The room had a small 'fridge and microwave and a full sized bathroom. The rooms were quiet, but the hotel didn't seem that full (that's my disclaimer in case it gets noisy when it's busy) Better than average breakfast buffet, although the restaurant service at dinner was so slow that we left. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is about 15 miles from the entrance to Yosemite Park. We will definitely return. Ask about discounts for AARP, Costco, etc.

Room Tip: The higher rooms looking towards the highway have a deck with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

BW hotels are always pretty good in my experience. This one had its own charm with the murals above the beds. Lots of bathroom counter space! Nice TV. Yummy cont. Breakfast. My only suggestion is there was only body soap and one conditioner in the room. Lotion was at the fd, maybe lotion in the room? I wish we had more time to use the indoor pool!
Everything else was fine!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Tenaya Lodge and were quite disappointed for the price that we paid. On our way out of Yosemite we noticed the Best Western in Oakhurst, and thought we would give it a try. It was a fantastic choice and the price was dirt cheap. We booked a King room through Costco (members get 10% off) and we got a room with free breakfast, which was an added bonus.

The rooms were comfortable, clean, spacious, had a refrigerator, microwave, coffeepot, and free wifi. The free breakfast was a buffet with the usual eggs, bacon, waffles/toast, cereal, etc. It was quite a bargain and you could take an entire family and they would get to choose from anything to eat.

The location in Oakhurst is an added bonus because you are close to a Von's and Ralph's in case you just want to pick up groceries for the trip in to Yosemite instead of spending too much money in the part. Oakhurst also had lots of gas stations, and restaurants to choose from that are not overpriced either.

If there are chain requirements for Yosemite, you can purchase them all over Oakhurst, but if you want the best options the AutoZone will even help you put them on for you.

The only negative with the rooms are that they are a bit dated, but who cares at that price. All the rooms have outside entrances, which is usually a turn off to me, but because of that you get to park near your car. We were in room #223 which has a patio over the pool. We had a friend that visited the hot tub and said it was great, but to go late if you didn't want to encounter all children.

We would highly recommend it, and will certainly book again for a winter trip when we don't want to camp in the cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice hotel, have stayed here before and will stay here again. They are in the process of renovating the rooms. The property is located in Oakhurst, on Highway 41 and south of Bass Lake and Yosemite National Park entrance.
The rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. The lobby is inviting and has a fireplace and and area with computers for guests to use. There is a small gift shop on the 2nd floor.
The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Since the hotel was built on the side of a hill among the trees, there are steps to go up and down depending on where your room is located. The rooms we were in had a nice view and the deer path was just outside the glass door. They have ample parking near the rooms, but some walking is required including steps. The pool area is set towards the middle of the property and surrounded by trees. In the evening and early morning you may see deer walking through the property. The heating and cooling system is a wall unit and a little on the noisy side above the low speed setting. The property is non-smoking and appeared to be well maintained, each room has a WiFi router, microwave, small coffee maker, small refrigerator. If you need anything you can call the front desk and they will bring it to your room. The offer a free buffet breakfast at the restaurant sharing the property, or you can use the voucher to receive 20% off a menu breakfast.

The buffet breakfast was good but could have more variety, the only meat they offered was anemic looking sausage. In my opinion it could have been browned more for appearance. Adding bacon or another meat choice would be a good idea.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with steps request a room in a levelled area with access without steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
13.9 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#6 of 8 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.