We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location works” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“location works”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This motel feels a bit old but is still clean and acceptable for spending the night. We used it as a base in and out of Yosemite in early summer for 3 nights and it was good for that purpose as we spent very little time in the room. Checkin/out was simple and quick. The room we had was on a lower level than the carpark which meant lugging bags done stairs. Room decor is hand painted scenery that works for some I guess. But it was clean and quiet.
Pool area looked ok but was too cold for swimming anyway.
Other advantage is that Oakhurst has plenty of food and fuel outlets.
We enjoyed the drive in and out of the park as well.

Room Tip: top level near carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    518
    234
    62
    25
See reviews for
415
464
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are awful and smelly! The decoration is horrible, everything in dark colors and few lights on the room. It looks like I'm in a dungeon!! I asked for a newer room, and the staff told me I'm already at the newest room! I would NEVER EVER indicate this hotel to anyone! Except for the rooms that are creepy, the staff is really friendly and helpful and the location is great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The room was large, clean and spacious. It was good to have Coffee/tea provided for in the room. The breakfast had a good spread with both hot and cold servings. It was a bit of an effort getting our heavy suitcases up to the first floor as there wasn't a lift. I would definitely stay there again !!!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with heavy suitcases avoid rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Jones, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We chose this hotel because we like the BW Plus brands and it was so convenient to the Yosemite entrance. I do have to agree with a previous review about the rooms being somewhat dated, but the bed and bath room in our room was so large that we can overlook the somewhat dated furnishings. The grounds are beautiful and that makes it easy to overlook a thing or two. There are a couple of things that I would suggest you improve. Please put more than 2 towels in each room. Women, especially those of us with long(er) hair, need 2 towels just for ourselves. Please mount the flat screen TV to the wall. Having it lower than the end of the bed makes viewing difficult if you're laying in bed, which you will be. I had to look around and over the hubbys feet. I hate the things, but you need some speed bumps. Twice we had a speeding car come flying by as we walked to and from the restaurant. The restaurant will be your death. We ate dinner after we arrived. The food was decent but there was only one waitress who doubled as the bartender. That woman ran the whole time and we have no complaints about her service, but clearly you needed more staff. The hostess, did nothing since most came into the lounge and sat themselves. Dump the hostess, get another waitress. The next morning the buffet was disgusting. It took forever to get a table since the girl running the register and checking the buffet tickets was too busy making coffee to get the line moving. We finally just walked by and found a table. There was little on the buffet that was hot and actually edible. You were out of plates, bowls, silverware, juice cups and coffee cups all at the same time. Hard to serve yourself at a buffet when there's nothing to put it on. My husband took one look at the buffet and decided to order from the menu. He brought eggs over easy that were so raw that the clear slime was covering the yolks so they had to be sent back since we don't want to take a chance of him getting sick from eating raw eggs. Although one table had a girl bringing them coffee, no one else was brought coffee. We overheard the girl saying that there are no waitresses at breakfast, just the young girls who bus tables and get things here and there as requested. How do you order from a menu if you don't have waiters/waitresses? We'd come back to the hotel, but as we told the desk clerk during checkout, we'd avoid the restaurant like the plague unless we see some serious changes and that restaurant will deter alot of folks from coming back.

Room Tip: Be mindful of the fact that there are two levels to each block of rooms and no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012


satisfied with over all quality and services. Nothing fancy but clean and cozy. A bit disturbed by kids or adults running around upstair room. Thinksgiving dinner at the restaurant was fantastic. I never like turkey but the chef there make me love their turkey. I think the young couple spending honeymoon there is not a very good idea since you can hear other rooms. 15 min to Yosemite is not bad at all. It is a beautiful hotel indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Best Western in Oakhurst, CA has to be the best hotel in this area. The rooms are very large and comfortable. It made the trip even better knowing how awesome Best Western was. Will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.