We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay again, but it has some things that need improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Fort Jones, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“We'd stay again, but it has some things that need improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We chose this hotel because we like the BW Plus brands and it was so convenient to the Yosemite entrance. I do have to agree with a previous review about the rooms being somewhat dated, but the bed and bath room in our room was so large that we can overlook the somewhat dated furnishings. The grounds are beautiful and that makes it easy to overlook a thing or two. There are a couple of things that I would suggest you improve. Please put more than 2 towels in each room. Women, especially those of us with long(er) hair, need 2 towels just for ourselves. Please mount the flat screen TV to the wall. Having it lower than the end of the bed makes viewing difficult if you're laying in bed, which you will be. I had to look around and over the hubbys feet. I hate the things, but you need some speed bumps. Twice we had a speeding car come flying by as we walked to and from the restaurant. The restaurant will be your death. We ate dinner after we arrived. The food was decent but there was only one waitress who doubled as the bartender. That woman ran the whole time and we have no complaints about her service, but clearly you needed more staff. The hostess, did nothing since most came into the lounge and sat themselves. Dump the hostess, get another waitress. The next morning the buffet was disgusting. It took forever to get a table since the girl running the register and checking the buffet tickets was too busy making coffee to get the line moving. We finally just walked by and found a table. There was little on the buffet that was hot and actually edible. You were out of plates, bowls, silverware, juice cups and coffee cups all at the same time. Hard to serve yourself at a buffet when there's nothing to put it on. My husband took one look at the buffet and decided to order from the menu. He brought eggs over easy that were so raw that the clear slime was covering the yolks so they had to be sent back since we don't want to take a chance of him getting sick from eating raw eggs. Although one table had a girl bringing them coffee, no one else was brought coffee. We overheard the girl saying that there are no waitresses at breakfast, just the young girls who bus tables and get things here and there as requested. How do you order from a menu if you don't have waiters/waitresses? We'd come back to the hotel, but as we told the desk clerk during checkout, we'd avoid the restaurant like the plague unless we see some serious changes and that restaurant will deter alot of folks from coming back.

Room Tip: Be mindful of the fact that there are two levels to each block of rooms and no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    574
    270
    72
    30
See reviews for
479
528
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012


satisfied with over all quality and services. Nothing fancy but clean and cozy. A bit disturbed by kids or adults running around upstair room. Thinksgiving dinner at the restaurant was fantastic. I never like turkey but the chef there make me love their turkey. I think the young couple spending honeymoon there is not a very good idea since you can hear other rooms. 15 min to Yosemite is not bad at all. It is a beautiful hotel indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Best Western in Oakhurst, CA has to be the best hotel in this area. The rooms are very large and comfortable. It made the trip even better knowing how awesome Best Western was. Will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We got a room in the 300 block, which was nice and big with a balcony and view of the mountains. Very quite room. We used the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, which was good and clean. Breakfast buffet had good choices of French toast, scrambled eggs, sausages, potatoes, bread, oatmeal, yogurt, peaches in syrup and oranges. Coffee, Tea and fruit juices. Check -in and check-out was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wonderful hotel, beautiful lobby, helpful staff, clean and quiet rooms. What more could you want? We spend time with friends in Coarsegold, but it is worth the drive to Oakhurse to stay at such a nice place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This motel is huge and sits on the side of a hill. I was attending a party in Oakhurst at the Idlewild Winery with my girlfriend. I love the grounds here. We saw a ringtail in the shrubbery outside our room coming back from the party at night and a fisher ran across the lawn early the next morning. I would have rated this stay excellent except for two factors: a creepy stain on one of the decor pillows and the breakfast was pretty bad (but hey, it came with a great room).

Room Tip: Idlewild Winery on the creek and a mile up the road has exceptional wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.