We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
salinas,ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Yosemite Gateway Inn in June 2012 and had a great room with a balcony with a great view of the grounds. It was a great place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and enjoy the view. We brought our dog with us and it was a great place to take him for a stroll. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I only stayed here once and we had a corner room with balcony...would request a balcony again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    619
    287
    81
    32
See reviews for
532
579
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Well, when my Yosemite traveling partners said they had booked into a Best Western, I was initially concerned because I generally avoid this chain. However, I was quite delighted by the manicured grounds (the place almost looks like a low-brow resort). The room was spacious and comfortable, although I noticed some spots on the blanket. Breakfast: very generous, lots of food, but not that great (I'd rather have one good pastry than a plate of mediocre food). But most people were loading up their plates, and seeming to enjoy it. The staff was generally friendly and accommodating.

One caution: this motel winds up a steep climb. If that will be a problem for you, be sure to book lower-level rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A large hotel -- we had to drive down for breakfast ! Had a top floor room with 2 queen beds and even a balcony and chairs. As we were on a longish trip we were self catering and found the facilities here excellent. It was nice to have a sink apart from the bathroom and a good table with 2 chairs.
. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room very quiet- no traffic noise or sounds from nearby rooms. The complimentary buffet breakfast served at the restaurant was the best we had on our entire trip

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the hill furthest away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

As I explored the mountains, valleys and forests of Yosemite over 2 days time, it was easy to imagine what it must have been like for our pioneer forefathers back in the 1800s. Sleeping under the stars. Building a fire to cook their evening meal. Falling asleep under a canopy of stars to the sounds of the forest animals. But after a full day in the company of Mother Nature, I yearn for the civilized comforts of the 21st Century which thankfully the Yosemite Gateway was able to provide (and at a reasonable rate). You know? Falling asleep on a comfortable bed to the sound of an air conditioner after enjoying an evening meal cooked for and served to you in a restaurant. I could not help but notice the mixed experiences of other Trip Advisor reviewers. Our room was comfortably spacious and the furnishings appeared to be relatively new. The hotel is comprised of separate buildings. We were in the uppermost one, on the upper floor. The day we checked out, we noticed that we had neighbors but we would not have noticed during our stay. We had a small balcony that looked out over the tree tops. Not exactly a "view" but a nice sense of rustic privacy. And when we felt the need to connect with the rest of civilization, there was the free WiFi.

We found the Gateway Inn to be ideally located. We were not familar at all with the area around Yosemite. So I started checking Trip Advisor for the various surrounding towns. That's how we decided on Oakhurst, a decison we found confirmed on our arrival. The hotel is right in the village which gave us access to a number of restaurants, a shopping center, a movie theater (had we wanted to do that) and even a chain drug store down the street with an ice cream "parlor"! The front desk staff was very helpful in not just describing the food in different places but in giving their personal recommendations as well, even after our describing our totally unsatisfying experience at the restaurant next door. Yes, as other reviewers have noted, it's about a 20 minute drive from Oakhurst to south gate of the park. But we found it to be an easy one. We also noticed that had we chosen a hotel closer to the park itself, if we had wanted any other choices for a place to eat we would have ended up getting in the car and driving down the highway anyway. It was nice to spend the whole day with Mother Nature. But just like a visit to your Mom, at the end of the day I was happy to get back to my own place....or at least The Gateway Inn's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is located near the southeast entrance to Yosemite National Park, about 15 miles to the actual park entrance. The rooms all had exterior entrances and were located in several buildings throughout the property (5-6 buildings). If you want to use the hot tub or pool, get a room near the building in which they are located. Otherwise, it can be a long cold walk in a wet bathing suit. The staff at check-in was efficient but not overly friendly. The room were well maintained and nicely decorated with a comfortable bed. We ate dinner at the hotel’s restaurant. The dinner meal was good and so was the service. The complimentary breakfast offered a good variety, more than most complimentary breakfast buffets. The only downside to the restaurant was the décor. The tables, chairs, and carpet were outdated and a little worn. Every square inch of the walls was covered with paintings, mostly paintings of roses. I appreciate art but this was over the top and didn’t add a pleasing atmosphere. This is a very good hotel and an outstanding value close to Yosemite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here one night before our reservation inside Yosemite began. A good choice to stop over on your way into the park. Close enough for visiting Wawona area, a bit far for valley touring but doable if no closer accommodations are available or your budget doesn't allow. The rooms were large and comfortable and the setting very pretty. We had a reasonably priced and tasty dinner in their restaurant, and the free breakfast buffet had a good variety of offerings. The lobby staff were very friendly and helpful. I prefer to stay inside Yosemite whenever possible but this is a good substitute if the park is full and I will return here to explore the Wawona-Mariposa Grove area further.

Room Tip: Buildings at top of the hill, back of property are quiet and near the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Perfect location if you don't want to stay in the park. Staff are relatively friendly, rooms are large and overall very good value for money. As with all Best Western hotels we've stayed at, you get what you pay for and you know what to expect. Great breakfast selection and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.