We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Launchpad for Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Auckland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good Launchpad for Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here 1 night so we could get to Yosemite relatively quickly the next day and the TA reviews were ok. This isn't the sort of place we usually stay at - too big and impersonal - however this fit the bill for our purposes on this occasion.

The pluses:
Room was big and well appointed.
Grounds are nicely landscaped and although the property is large and sprawling it is easy to get around using well placed stairs and walkways.
Laundry on site was a real bonus.
Two pools and spa pools - one inside, one outside. We overlooked the outside pool which was very pleasant. The spa pool was down a short set of stairs separate to the pool and nicely tucked away in a nice setting. We were able to use it with only one other couple present in the evening, a pleasant surprise considering the size of the property.
Breakfast staff were very pleasant and helpful with explaining where everything was and how it worked, was happy to tip them.
2 supermarkets just down the road so you can stock up for Yosemite at reasonable prices.

The minuses:
The front desk staff we encountered were all very impersonal with no warmth exhibited. Appeared to be 'going through the motions'.
The breakfast itself, although cooked options available was very average. When your waffles are dry and hard, there is a problem!

Overall met our expectations in most areas and worked well for us. Would be perfectly happy to stay here again for a night but not sure I'd want to spend a long time here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    626
    290
    81
    32
See reviews for
539
587
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here during our visit to California. It was ideally situation being just 1 hour from Yosemite National Park.

The room was fine, but quite dark and with some painting that looked like they came straight from the 1980's.

We ate at the restaurant once for dinner, and had breakfast there because it was part of the package. Have to say that the breakfast wasnt up to much.

Having read the comments from another reviewer I wonder if we were there at the same time as we had a very noisy family with screaming kids in the same block.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon tour of California.

The hotel is a great location for Yosemite.
The rooms are a good size with good amenities and very quick free wifi.

Food was also good at the restaurant.

The only downside was we had a very noisy family above us. This made us realise how echoey the rooms are. The family above us thought it was acceptable to let their two children run around and bang on the floor until 11;00pm.
This is where the hotel was let down by its staff.
Despite asking to be moved were told there was only one free room and that was on a different tariff.
This was a real shame as everything else about the state was perfect.



  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spend here two night on September when we visited Yosemite. Yosemite Valley is one hour drive away from hotel. Hotel was clean, pool area was nice and breakfast was ok. There was three computers and printer in lobby for use without any timelimits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This BW+ is one the nicest that we’ve stayed at, and we’ve been to several across the country!
Located outside of the South entrance to Yosemite NP, in the tiny town of Oakhurst California.
The property is set up in different buildings of two and three stories each. The rooms are very spacious with a desk and great chair, lots of good lighting, a table and two wingback chairs to relax in, right in front of the flat screen TV and a patio with chairs for enjoying the evening air. We had a room with 2 queen beds, which had a nice padded bench at the foot of each. There’s a great credenza as you come in the door with a micro, mini fridge and coffee maker, fantastic for keeping goodies for a quick meal. Loved the décor in the room, very nice mural on the wall over the head of the beds. Included is a full breakfast with hot items that changed daily. You have your choice of an indoor or outside pool as well as a hot tub and nice grassy areas for doggie or the kids to play. Let’s not forget about the grills in different spots around the property if you feel like making up dinner (the supermarket is right down the street).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROME
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This summer I visited Central CA with my husband and we stopped in 4 different BW PLUS hotels. While the first were really PLUS and more, the other 2 weren’t. In particular YOSEMITE GATEWAY INN is a big anonymous inn. Also if the lobby is very nice, large, bright and well decor, our room was dark, with an old furniture and I suppose that all rooms would need a restoration. Also A/C was very noisy.
Average complimentary breakfast in a nearby restaurant. In conclusion “NOT A PLUS”!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here at end of August on the last day of our Yosemite trip. The previous 2 nights we had stayed at the Blue Butterfly in El Portal (please see my review of their wonderful B'n'B!) as we found it much more convenient for accessing Yosemite Village (15 min v 1 hour from Oakhurst) and Tuolumne Meadows (45 min v 2 hours from Oakhurst). We were driving down to L.A. the next day, so decided we would spend our last day in/around Yosemite Village and Wawona, drive out of the park and spend our last night in Oakhurt so we could be 'on-the-road' first thing the next morning. The hotel is very easy to find - the lobby and restaurant are on the main drag through Oakhurst and are clearly signposted. The lobby is beautifully decorated and looks great (don't expect your room to look quite as good as the lobby!)

The hotel is laid out like several small motels: several small 2-storey blocks of rooms dotted up and behind the lobby and restaurant. There were parking spaces outside each block of rooms, so parking was never a problem. Our room was on the upper floor of a complex ( the third one back). It also had the guest laundry room downstairs ($1.25 per load of washing) with 3 washing machines and I think 3 tumble dryers. We washed some of our hiking clothes and had no complaints! The laundry room is also shut at night (between 9pm and 7am I think) which is nice. We couldn't hear it from our room but I'm sure the people next door appreciated it!
The room itself was clean but certainly did feel a little tired and dated in terms of furnishings and decor. We weren't staying there because we were looking for a character hotel though, so it didn't bother us. The shower was adequate - would have liked it to have a little more power, but not really a complaint! We used the free wi-fi and although not the quickest in the world it did serve its purpose. Fine for light email use etc.

We had a free breakfast in the restaurant as part of our room rate - again, perfectly adequate and a selection of cereals / pastries/ hot buffet items and drinks. You could order other items from the restaurant menu instead (for $) but we found the free buffet just fine. Check-out was painless and there were no surprises.

Overall I would recommend this as a good option near Yosemite: affordable, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.