We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Forsyth, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel. Good amenities and good breakfast. Price was a little steep, but good place to stay.
Very comfortable beds. It was nice that there was a balcony to sit outside on. The bathroom was large and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    451
    210
    58
    22
See reviews for
348
397
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Although this hotel was some way from Yosemite park and the main sites it was great value, clean and comfortable. If you're driving in from the North I'd advise you to enter the park at the North entrance and spend your day making your way slowly south. The closest attractions in Yosemite to the hotel were the giant Sequoias which took us about an hour to reach.

We spent 2 days in Yosemite park and saw nothing more than a squirrel yet on returning to the hotel we found a young buck deer stood in the parking lot. An additional bonus was the sound of wolves howling in the night. All very authentic!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night after visiting Yosemite. Larger hotel than expected and our room was at the top of a large steep lot. Room was clean and comfortable but decoration was a bit old fashioned .

On site restaurant was OK for dinner, but breakfast was only average.

We paid a noticeable premium to stay here but don't think it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Although it is an older property the room was clean, comfortable and spacious enough. I did not like the decor like the art work on the walls but that is a personal taste. My room was a bit dark but this could come from the dark decor like the big painting on the wall and dark furniture. To my taste the room could have a more fresher and airier with other colours.

Complimentary breakfast buffet with warm items was decent and nothing fancy. It tasted good and I would say it is something you can expect for such a price.

Locations wise the hotel is perfect for a stop over when traveling to or from Yosemite. I would not use Oakhurst as a base to discover Yosemite as it takes you ca. 1 hour to get to Yosemite Valley or Glacier Point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We came through Kings/Sequoia NP headed to Yosemite. The price was reasonable for the location. The room was the best we had out of a 7 day Calif. trip when we stayed at a different hotel (Best Western or Comfort Inn) each night. Each room has a balcony which we very much enjoyed. The rooms were clean. There were 2 pools. There is a resturant there and free breakfast. The hotel is on a hill which is pretty steep. Each group of rooms is higher and higher up the hill. We were at the top so we drove down an parked at the resturant for breakfast because we did not want to have to climb back up. We stayed here then went into Yosemite and out the other side. I am not sure I would want to keep driving back and forth if I was staying for a few days because it is not that close to Yosemite Valley.

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry your bags up the stairs get on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, the reception is very quirky and impressive, breakfast rooms were big, and the selection for breakfast was excellent, never any queues!. The bedrooms were big, maybe a little dark, but overall more than acceptable. Helpful staff, overall a very good stay!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was a great hotel, good location great breakfast which was included in the rate. Rooms were of an excellent standard for the price and the hotel facilities were great.

We also ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and the food / service was also of an excellent standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.