We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A nice hotel, close to Yosemite South and 30 minutes from Mariposa Grove. Spacious room with comfortable bed. Room overlooking a green area.
Good restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    587
    276
    75
    31
See reviews for
493
541
24
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My daughter thought the room smelled. I thought it was fine. Bathroom needs new tile and needs updating. It seemed to be the best choice in Oakhust. I chose it from the reviews.
It's quite the drive to the falls, horsebackriding, and sites.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great hotel even though we had to wait for our room to be cleaned...the bed and pillows were so comfortable after a long drive.
Too bad no 'free' breakfast though.

Room Tip: call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

If the hotels in Yosemite are fully booked, you have two options: a few motels just outside the park on Hwy 140 (just 20 minutes from Yosemite Village) or motels in Oakhurst on Hwy 41 (approx 1.5 hrs from Yosemite Village) There are a number of hotels in Oakhurst and we stayed at the Best Western. The exterior and lobby are cute with a woody, cabin decor. The sleeping rooms aren't great but you can make it through one night. The carpet is dirty and the bedspreads/blankets haven't been cleaned in a long, long time. (why can't they just give us clean white sheets and skip the dirty bedcovers?) The bathroom was clean. We had one standard room and one large family room (Room 100) I'd avoid Rm 100 - it's like being in a dark dingy basement. Thee aren't many options close to Yosemite. Oakhurst had more roadside motels, none looked as promising as the Best Western from the outsde. There is one nice hotel that's more expensive but probably worth it - the Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite. We checked out the lobby and grounds and will stay there next time.

Room Tip: Try the Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite - it's the nicest hotel just outside the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

BW plus hotel is located in the heart of the Oakrust town. Nice small town.
We stayed in the hotel just for a night in the middle of August. We've really liked review about the hotel. This was the reason why we decided to stay in BWestern.
We were really looking forward to that hotel. We've tried to book another night but it was not available.
The lobby is nice, looked just like the pictures. The rooms are in a different buildings then the lobby and looks more like a motel. Our room was in front of the swimming pool. We got to hotel around 9pm. Checking in was fast and no problems. The rooms itself was very dark and I found it kind of depressing. It also had an unpleasent smell. The sheets had some stains. The bed was comfortable, but around the bed there was a lot of dust. The swimming pool was nice but it was to cold to enjoy it for me so we went to hot tub instead.
We went to restaurant for supper, but we were asked to sit and we were waiting for half an hour and noone payed attention to us so we left.
A food store is just 5 minutes driving distance to the hotel.
We ate breakfast at Subway and returned to Yosemite park. Hotel is located 20 min. drive to south entrance to the park.
For me this hotel was overpriced. We payed 160$ (tax incl) for two queen size beds. Also be prepared to pay extra around 11$ for a night for turist tax.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We spent 2 nights there and we were 3 couples of friends... What a nice hotel! Nice and spacious room with comfortable beds, clean bathroom and nice decoration on the wall. Our room had also a terrace overlooking a green area. Everything was so relaxing and nice! We enjoyed breakfast which was really energizing :-)
Location is good as it is at easy access to the park.
Friendly staff.
We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here for our spring break trip and had a lot of fun. We enjoyed the indoor pool, although it could have been a warmer water temperature. The room worked out well. We had the 2 queens + 1 separate queen room. We stayed with another couple and our 2 kids. It wasn't quite as separate as we would have liked but would have been perfect for just 1 family. We had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. We did have an issue with ants in our room. All in all, we were quite pleased and felt like it was a great value for our money and an easy drive to Bass Lake and Yosemite.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.