We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in charming foothill community” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Fair Oaks, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in charming foothill community”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

First time visiting Oakhurst at the southern entrance to Yosemite. The town was very charming, but what made the stay particularly pleasant was the Yosemite Gateway Inn. The rooms were very clean and well-equipped with refrigerator and microwave. The beds were spacious and as comfortable as hotel beds can be. Great location in the center of town. It met my expectations of what a Best Western should be. I will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    587
    276
    75
    31
See reviews for
493
541
24
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

I like the fact there is a microwave and refridge in every room. The wi fi was ok. I had a great view looking down hill towards highway 41.

I recomend room 201. Also, I was fortunate that my room was on the end. It help out that, it was easy access to car.

In that area, your able to park right at your door. But if your downstairs or upstairs, there are no elevators. You have to lug all your belongings up and down the stairs.

Overall, my room and bathroom is very clean. I would stay there again, if I have to.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Central Coast
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed here after a last minute trip to Yosemite to see the waterfalls. We normally stay in the park but were too late in making a reservation. The motel is large and attractive, with units spread out over a hill and very nice landscaping. Our room was on the 2nd floor at the top of the hill. The room was very large with two queen beds, two chairs and table, and a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. The bathroom was also large with a good selection of towels. There was a shared balcony that nice to sit out and look down the hill. The motel had two pools that we didn't use.

Overall, it was clean but with out-dated furniture, decor, and colors (tans, browns). Like a previous reviewer said, it was like being at an eldery relative's home (and we are seniors!). The internet was free but very, very slow. In addition, the TV reception was terrible, and all the channels were "snowy."

We also had a problem was with the A/C. It was a hot day, and it took hours for the room to cool off. At first we thought it wasn't working, and asked a staff member to look at it. Also, we had to move the chairs and table since they were located directly in front of the A/C unit.

The road down to the office and onsite restaurant was steep but good exercise. We had dinner at the restaurant and found the staff friendly but the food so-so. We decided not to have breakfast there the next day. A complementary breakfast, even just rolls and beverages, would be a good addition.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I was so excited by the reviews and photos of this motel ... before we got there. The motel is nothing like the lobby implies. It is spread out in several buildings on a very steep hillside. Not good for seniors and/or people unused to altitude. We were at the top of the hill and had to drive down the hill to eat breakfast at the restaurant. The two bedroom suite was badly laid out such that you had to go through one bedroom to get to the rest of it. The first night, we were in the first floor but when someone above would flush it sounded like it was on our heads! We moved to a room on the second story for the second night. Rooms were in need of repairs. Laundry had 3 washers for the entire place and half the dryers were broken. Definitely disappointing for the price.

Room Tip: Go to a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We chose this hotel based on the good reviews we read on Trip Advisor. When we arrived we thought we made the right decision after seeing their beautiful lobby. That is where it ended. Our room was outdated and depressing. It did not look clean or smell clean. The bedding was old and the comforter had a sweaty odor to it. The carpet was old and dirty looking. The bathroom paint was touched up with different color paint. Shampoo and body wash were a pump mounted on a shower wall. We had to ask for soap as it was not replaced during the three day stay there. The internet was slow. It took forever for a page to load up. It tells you that it’s just south of the Yosemite entrance. It is true but what it fails to tell you is that it will take you about 1 ½ hour to get to Yosemite Village. It is a long drive. In a word the experience was depressing. If you are used to Hilton or Marriott properties then this place is going to disappoint you very much. I compare that to those properties as this hotel will charge you no less than staying at one of those hotels. I would not stay there again.

Their restaurant was nice and food was very good. Their bartender, Kim, and her husband who also works there were awesome. I would definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We used this hotel as a launch point to Yosemite National Park. It was about a 45-minute drive to Yosemite Valley, and about 2 hours to the Kings Canyon National Park entrance south of Oakhurst, so it's not particularly close to anything. However, Oakhurst seemed much nicer than Fish Camp, a town about 15 minutes closer to the Park. We were happy with nearby eating establishments and a couple of grocery stores down the road.

The hotel was great. There was a nice shared balcony in the back of the building that was nice for reading, benches all over the property to sit on and relax, beautiful grounds in general, and lovely rooms. The murals on the walls of the room were painted by one of the owners. The couple who owns the property has been there for 20 years, and obviously cares very much about the business, as do the other employees. The laundry facilities are generous (3 washers, 4 dryers) and conveniently located. There are two pools -- an indoor and an outdoor -- that I did not use, but that looked very nice.

The only areas I saw with room for improvement were breakfast and Internet access. A small complimentary breakfast would be appreciated, as the onsite restaurant ran about $20 for two people after tax and tip, and the wait staff appeared very rushed. This is the Yosemite area, and free breakfasts are few and far between, but there is at least one place nearby that offers one, so it might make them even more competitive. The Internet connection was so slow that it occasionally appeared to hang, which made it hard to use. Some upgrading there would be very beneficial.

All around, though, a great place to stay. Wish we could have stayed here longer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

First choices for Yosemite are usually some where inside the park like fish camp but if you want a cheaper alternative and didn't want to take the marquee tent style option then the Oakhurst area is the next best thing.

If youre driving up from LA, try not to make too many stops along the way like we did, cos youll end up coming in after midnight. Though the valley plaza mall in Bakersfield is def. worth a look ;) Its easy enough to do tho, by the time you add LA peak traffic and a few stops, the approx. 4-5 hour journey can easily blow out to over 8 hours, in this sense Oakhurst is the ideal stop to save the extra 90mins or so drive into the park.

The hotel itself has a rustic log cabin feel with its large wood bear carvings (and a strangely out of place statue of liberty carved replica)
Rooms were nice with plenty of wood finishings, tho the décor and bed spread was rather dated with an abundance of floral prints. I was waiting for granny to give me a stern finger shaking for getting crumbs on the bed :p

Theres a gas station across the road if you roll in late and missed dinner! Theres also a security guard in a 4wd sitting at the entrance to the room's carparks, either observantly noting the coming and goings of vehicles or deep in thought over a game of Sudoku ;) either way it was nice to know there was someone on the look out.

We had breakfast at the restaurant in the morning, prices were a little higher but not unreasonable. The food was fresh with an ample serving and the service was good and fast. Looking around the busy dining room (and seeing the reception staff), it turns out everyone was well into their 40s or over, which could explain the décor and show who they cater for. Either way, stay was pleasant. Recommended (:


Side note: we caught a couple room service ladies sneaking a smoke behind the bushes with clean linen in tow. Probably not the best move, I wouldn't be too fond of sleeping in a bed smelling of smoke. Sorry girls, hope you don't get into too much trouble! :p

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.