We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and price, but wouldn't go back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Yosemite Area to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40489 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice staff and price, but wouldn't go back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Although the price was good, I'd rather stay somewhere else. My mother-in-law made the reservations and generously paid for it, so I couldn't refuse. Good things: close to Yosemite, nice staff, nice guests, and low price. Things I didn't like: out of date, not as clean as it should be, the breakfast room was not big enough to accommodate our party and there was only a couple other small families in there, and the food did not look appetizing to me (I brought my Trader Joe's oatmeal as back up, so I ate that). If you are like me, and your idea of a normal hotel is an average Marriott/Marriott Fairfield Inn, then you probably won't be that comfortable here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohiogirlmomwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in room 137. Room was large and clean. With discounts, we paid ~$72 for one (weekend) night (AAA discount).
Pros: Big refrigerator, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, free WiFi, 42" Sharp Aquos LCD TV, large shower & mirrors.
The free continental breakfast was very good. One of the better ones I've had. It included sausage links, waffles (self made), toast, pastries, cereal, juices, coffee and hot hard-boiled eggs (?). I would not consider this a "full" hot breakfast, but a very good continental breakfast. Scrambled eggs would have made this a better deal. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September. Originally we were only staying one night but we really liked the large rooms and decided to stay another night. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chanandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First of all, if you are thinking Oakhurst is close to Yosemite, you are about 30 minutes from the ENTRANCE to the park, but have to drive at LEAST 30 more minutes to reach any of the areas set up for visitors (though the drive is extremely scenic in and of itself - what a gorgeous area of the country!) Keep that in mind as you make accomodations. We were staying in Oakhurst as we left Yosemite and were heading to King's Canyon National Park the next day. As such, it suited our needs fine.

We booked ahead of time on-line. We arrived 6 PMish and pulled up around the back to see 3 construction workers (there is a LOT of road construction going on in Yosemite and along Hwy 41 at the moment) hanging out on the upper balcony, using course language and shouting down to another of their buddies that had just exited his truck next to us. I had a very bad feeling about this and determined to not end up on that side of the building. Luckily, it was not an issue, as our assigned room was facing the other direction, so I didn't even need to ask for a room change. Check-in was pleasant enough.

Room was clean and bed was comfortable. There was a big-screen TV in the room, but we didn't use it. Bathroom was clean and shower worked fine. No complaints about the room. We don't expect much from our hotel rooms - a clean place to sleep and take a shower the next day - so amenties have little factor in our choices. Wireless internet was available for free and we took advantage of that. There's a pool / spa but we didn't use it. I did think the room was on the expensive side - we spent $70 on it through Priceline; I would have prefered $50 or less.

The breakfast room is TINY - if I remember correctly, there are 2 tables for 4 people, and 3 more that will seat 2 each. For a place that has 118 rooms, that is not enough. There are additional tables outside, but in early Oct, it was a little chilly to use them at that hour. Breakfast had good options - a couple different types of cereal, fruit, yogurt, a waffle maker, a toaster, bread, english muffins. I think there was more, but I can't remember now what they were.

Summary: we would probably stay here again, but would also look at other options to find if something else was cheaper (at the time we booked, this was the cheapest option in Oakhurst).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank smm628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Rooms clean and roomy, but a bit run down (especially the bathroom). Breakfast was extremely meager - either sausage or eggs (watery) but not both in the same morning. Choice of bread was bread, english muffin or small dry pastry. No choice of fruit, just small bruised apples. Close in miles to Yosemite, but at least a 30 minute drive just to the gate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrldwndrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakhurst hotels

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Clean,large rooms for a good price (booked via internet) and close enough to Yosemite.We were travelling from SF to Yosemite,and wanted to visit the Mariposa Grove first thing in the morning, so Oakhurst was the best choice.Saff friendly,good Chinese restaurant next to hotel, we liked it, and surely would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zetep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here on the second night leg of our trip to the coast. Chose this place for several reasons. Dog friendly, close to Yosemity and small town charm. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is really no place for the dog to their rituals, so be forewarned. The price was average and yes not use to paying a pet fee but what can you do but pay if you take your dog.
It took us 20 minutes to get to the south entrance so we did not think that was bad. If you have a dog there are not a lots of choices, so will stay there again if we are in the area. By the way if you leave early you will find hardly anyone on the road. We left around 7 and there was hardly anyone on the road.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
14.0 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#4 of 8 in Oakhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Area

Address: 40489 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Area 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic small-town friendly Western lodging. We are the closest town to Yosemite National Park, just a 20-minute drive. Our 117 rooms were just renovated and we are in the middle of Oakhurst, close to all stores, restaurants, medical care, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area Hotel Oakhurst
Comfort Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing