We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have never been so compelled to warn others. This was the worst experience in a hotel -ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn to your Saves list
Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   40662 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Days Inn Oakhurst)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I have never been so compelled to warn others. This was the worst experience in a hotel -ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Bad service....might as well just throw your money away.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnoakhurstca, Webmaster at Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Oakhurst for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• All staff members received additional training in the proper carrying out of their duties. They also received additional training in the courteous, respectful, helpful way in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Oakhurst. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    71
    48
    26
    21
See reviews for
71
79
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights while visiting Yosemite. The room was dingy and in need of paint and carpet cleaning. However the bed was actually comfortable. The inroom coffee was terrible. The free breakfast was really lacking. Plain wheat bread for toasting, and some sorry looking bagles. You could make your own waffles, we opted to take an apple and an orange to go. Look elsewhere in Oakhurst. No more Days Inn for me!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnoakhurstca, Webmaster at Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Oakhurst for your recent stay in our area. I’m glad that you found the bed to be comfortable and I hope you had a wonderful time visiting Yosemite.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Housekeeping staff was appraised of your opinion that the carpet needed cleaning and it is being looked into.

2) Breakfast staff was approached about the possibility of putting on a more varied menu.

3) Management was approached about the possibility of offering a selection of coffees for the in room coffees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Oakhurst. I think you will be greatly pleased,.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This place is old, not particulary clean, bad breakfast, overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011 via mobile

I rarely right reviews for motels and always take bad reviews with a pinch of salt but feel urged to have some recompense for this place.
We stopped here after a long drive and were charged $139 + tax for a Friday night room.
We said we thought this was a bot much and were offered a jacuzzi room for $189 ?
we stayed on the first floor. The stairs to the room looked like they hadn't been cleaned for weeks and the doors were sticky.
The room was average size with plug fitting and things hanging off the Walls.
We were kept awake all night with people running up and down the stairs.
Breakfast was so cramped that people were standing in the reception eating cereal!
We booked in to the shilo the next night. This is the hotel next door, massive modern, clean room, $110 for Saturday night.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnoakhurstca, Webmaster at Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Oakhurst for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

2) Maintenance staff received additional training in making sure that plugs and other fixtures are properly installed.

3) Management staff received additional training in their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests are reminded of their responsibility to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Oakhurst. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011 via mobile

Of the hundreds of hotels I have stayed at this hotel would be the worst by far. Of the two nights that I stayed there I got around 5 hours of sleep both nights. My room was on the second floor, and you could here every movement of the people above you in a creaking noise. I also had a shower that leaked and dripped all night long. There was no trash can either which I thought was weird, maybe that one was actually an accident. Then there's the doors that you have to slam to get closed. If your staying in oakhurst think twice about staying at days inn

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnoakhurstca, Webmaster at Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Oakhurst for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Management was approached to see if there was a way to eliminate the creaking sounds heard from the rooms above.

2) Maintenance was instructed to see to the repair of the leaky shower in the room assigned to you. They were also instructed to see to it that the doors were made to close properly.

3) Housekeeping staff was instructed to see to it that the rooms are properly equipped before they are reported as being ready for occupancy.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Oakhurst. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Booked two rooms next to each other, two beds to a room. Friends room had filthy sheets and possible urine stain. Coffee maker did not work. Management was somewhat apoligetic. Better to pay more for a clean room then stay at this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnoakhurstca, Webmaster at Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Oakhurst for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon the receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Management received additional training concerning the courteous way in which our valued guests are to be treated. A dirty room calls for more than being somewhat apologetic.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

3) Maintenance was notified of the coffee maker which didn’t work and instructed to repair or replace it.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Oakhurst. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

At the desk I inquired about a room for a senior couple, preferably with front-door parking. They did have one, a welcome thing to hear after dropping down the winding highway from Yosemite in the dark. When I noticed the room offered was on the 4th floor, I asked about the parking, was assured it was at the room door, "just take the city street a half block back to the lighted lot."

The room was fine for our tired selves, typical for the better Days Inns, and we'd been promised a nice view from the window in the morning. The view of the hilly Oakhurst area was indeed fine, as was the more-than-adequate continental breakfast including self-made waffles, and a free newspaper.

A nice overnight stay on a multi-day road trip for the two of us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn

Address: 40662 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Days Inn Oakhurst)
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Days Inn Yosemite Sierra Inn. Enjoy mountain views of the Sierra Nevada and fully remodeled facilities when staying with us. We are a Days Inn 5 Sunburst Hotel and the proud winner of the Days Inn Chairman’s Award. The Yosemite Sierra Inn is a 100 percent non-smoking property and is located just 14 miles from the southern entrance of Yosemite National Park. The Yosemite Sierra Inn is located nearby Mariposa Grove and Bass Lake is only 8 miles away. Yosemite Valley is a one hour drive which takes you through the famous Tunnel View drive.The Yosemite Sierra Inn is conveniently located in downtown Oakhurst on Highway 41 within a short walk or a few minute drive to a large variety of shopping and entertainment. Supermarkets, drug stores, movie theater, galleries, and many other services are all located within minutes of the Yosemite Sierra Inn.Our 43 beautiful guest rooms have been remodeled with contemporary granite tiled bathrooms and all rooms have flat screen TVs with Free HBO. Our rooms over a haven of solitude and our property offers a park like setting with oak trees on the hillside at our top floor parking lot and beautiful mountain views from your room. Lounge by our pool after a long day hiking through Yosemite National Park. Stay at the Yosemite Sierra Inn and take advantage of one of best values when visiting Yosemite National Park. Children 12 and under are Free. No Pets Allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oakhurst Hotel Oakhurst
Oakhurst Days Inn
Oakhurst Day Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn - Yosemite Sierra Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.