We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpisingly okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48800 Royal Oaks Drive, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Ramada Limited Yosemite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
San Anselmo, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surpisingly okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We needed a place to stay two nights while visiting our kids at summer camp (at nearby Bass Lake). Choices were limited and we were on a budget, so I made my reservation with low expectations. This is definitely a value-focused hotel, but surprisingly okay.

The room was clean and fairly spacious; the shower had HOT water and lots of it with a decent shower nozzle. No problem accommodating my request for extra towels. The pool was clean and we enjoyed an afternoon soaking up the sun (wish they offered lounge chairs instead of just plastic uprights). We didn't eat on the premises but did find a lovely Italian place down the road... and, to my delight, a Starbucks with a drive-through window.

There was free HBO (much to the delight of my kids who had been deprived of TV for 2 weeks at camp), the air conditioning worked (thank God) and the beds were comfortable. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Even though our room faced the road, it was quiet (I think the air conditioning drowned out any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    48
    38
    35
See reviews for
55
60
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 22nd June. We chose this good value motel because we intended to stay as long as possible in Yosemite Park and wanted a reasonably priced motel just to spend the night in, On two previous visits to Yosemite we had stayed in an expensive hotel within the park and didn't want that expense this time.The motel did not disappoint us.When we checked in the hotel was busy with people wanting a room that night. The receptionist was very busy but friendly and patient. We were allocated our room (220) on the first floor. We were surprised at the size of the room, which had a king size bed, table & chairs and a large setee, plus fridge, microwave & TV. The bathroom was basic but fine. Overall we were very pleased with the room, comfortable and clean The motel provided a basic continental breakfast which again was adequate. Two evening we walked down the street to 'Crab Cakes' restaurant, which was good Also if picnicking in the park, Raley's supermarket does fab sandwiches. Oakhurst is a nice little town around 30-40 minutes drive from the Park enterance and a further 40 minutes from Yosemite Village centre.
This motel provides a reasonably priced stay ( nowhere near Yosemite is cheap), in a good and convenient location. Would I stay here again - Yes

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I am recommending this hotel based on staff's great customer service, the functionality, & cleanliness of the room (keeping in mind that "value" is part of the hotel's name). It was a decent hotel room to come back to for respite after a full day @ Yosemite. The bathroom was very basic ("value inn"), but clean. The kitchen int he room was also very basic, but came with functional items like a small microwave, a little fridge, as well as a portable coffee maker. The staff--though they may not look like it due to their very laid-back and casual clothing is very professional & helpful in every way. They will not kiss your ***, but they will not be rude to you either and they will provide genuine assistance when prompted.

The people who made negative comments should've stayed at a 5-star hotel and should've paid twice for their high expectations of a "Value Inn."

My compliments to the staff for making our stay pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I couldn't disagree more with the latest negative reviews. We stayed one night and had a very good experience. The desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. We ask for a suggestion for chinese take out food and she suggested a place across the street (sorry but I can't remember the name). The food was good and plentiful. The room was very clean and the bed gave us a good night sleep. Breakfast in the morning was good as well. Waffles cooked to order along with cereals, fruit, etc. I would recommend this place to a friend and would stay here again if I'm in Oakhurst. They also allow dogs (my Yorkie liked this place too).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The town is wonderful unfortunately this hotel was awful. There were earwigs in our room. We asked for an extra pillow apparantly they do not have any. Also we had the same situation as others we were charged and quoted one price, and then behind the scenes the owner up charged the cost on our credit cards. A rather big "Bait and Switch"!!! We called and complained with no benefit! he should be put out of business.

Room Tip: Not worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice town. Most of the staff was reliable. Manager bad mouths staff and owner. Sticky furniture! Slimy Carpet! Dishonest owner!!! He charged our credit cards without our permission! He charged us more than agreed on!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

You know that weird, unfortunate smell some old motels have. Well it's here as soon as you open the door to the lobby. The big issue for me was value. If you just need a place to sleep it's not horrible. But almost $200??? Not a fair value for the money. They're riding on their location near Yosemite.

Here's the bad: REALLY old furniture, mattresses that seem to be inverted under the bedspread (super old or just super cheap), a big black bug walking through the room, ants (in bathroom and a couple of dead ones in my bed), really loud water pipes. When people above us showered it sounded like an industrial water pump was in the ceiling. There were also some random black hairs in my bed sheets near the head of the bed. I don't even want to think anymore about that.

Having said all this I noticed a lot of hikers and day trippers from Yosemite. They have a terrific ice machine, friendly staff, they are pet friendly and I noticed laundry facilities which seemed to be used constantly.

I think next time I'll try to stay in Mariposa. Oakhurst was nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: I would recommend being upstairs because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst

Address: 48800 Royal Oaks Drive, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Ramada Limited Yosemite)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.