We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48800 Royal Oaks Drive, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Ramada Limited Yosemite)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 22nd June. We chose this good value motel because we intended to stay as long as possible in Yosemite Park and wanted a reasonably priced motel just to spend the night in, On two previous visits to Yosemite we had stayed in an expensive hotel within the park and didn't want that expense this time.The motel did not disappoint us.When we checked in the hotel was busy with people wanting a room that night. The receptionist was very busy but friendly and patient. We were allocated our room (220) on the first floor. We were surprised at the size of the room, which had a king size bed, table & chairs and a large setee, plus fridge, microwave & TV. The bathroom was basic but fine. Overall we were very pleased with the room, comfortable and clean The motel provided a basic continental breakfast which again was adequate. Two evening we walked down the street to 'Crab Cakes' restaurant, which was good Also if picnicking in the park, Raley's supermarket does fab sandwiches. Oakhurst is a nice little town around 30-40 minutes drive from the Park enterance and a further 40 minutes from Yosemite Village centre.
This motel provides a reasonably priced stay ( nowhere near Yosemite is cheap), in a good and convenient location. Would I stay here again - Yes

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    40
    28
    29
See reviews for
46
50
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I am recommending this hotel based on staff's great customer service, the functionality, & cleanliness of the room (keeping in mind that "value" is part of the hotel's name). It was a decent hotel room to come back to for respite after a full day @ Yosemite. The bathroom was very basic ("value inn"), but clean. The kitchen int he room was also very basic, but came with functional items like a small microwave, a little fridge, as well as a portable coffee maker. The staff--though they may not look like it due to their very laid-back and casual clothing is very professional & helpful in every way. They will not kiss your ***, but they will not be rude to you either and they will provide genuine assistance when prompted.

The people who made negative comments should've stayed at a 5-star hotel and should've paid twice for their high expectations of a "Value Inn."

My compliments to the staff for making our stay pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I couldn't disagree more with the latest negative reviews. We stayed one night and had a very good experience. The desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. We ask for a suggestion for chinese take out food and she suggested a place across the street (sorry but I can't remember the name). The food was good and plentiful. The room was very clean and the bed gave us a good night sleep. Breakfast in the morning was good as well. Waffles cooked to order along with cereals, fruit, etc. I would recommend this place to a friend and would stay here again if I'm in Oakhurst. They also allow dogs (my Yorkie liked this place too).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The town is wonderful unfortunately this hotel was awful. There were earwigs in our room. We asked for an extra pillow apparantly they do not have any. Also we had the same situation as others we were charged and quoted one price, and then behind the scenes the owner up charged the cost on our credit cards. A rather big "Bait and Switch"!!! We called and complained with no benefit! he should be put out of business.

Room Tip: Not worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice town. Most of the staff was reliable. Manager bad mouths staff and owner. Sticky furniture! Slimy Carpet! Dishonest owner!!! He charged our credit cards without our permission! He charged us more than agreed on!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

You know that weird, unfortunate smell some old motels have. Well it's here as soon as you open the door to the lobby. The big issue for me was value. If you just need a place to sleep it's not horrible. But almost $200??? Not a fair value for the money. They're riding on their location near Yosemite.

Here's the bad: REALLY old furniture, mattresses that seem to be inverted under the bedspread (super old or just super cheap), a big black bug walking through the room, ants (in bathroom and a couple of dead ones in my bed), really loud water pipes. When people above us showered it sounded like an industrial water pump was in the ceiling. There were also some random black hairs in my bed sheets near the head of the bed. I don't even want to think anymore about that.

Having said all this I noticed a lot of hikers and day trippers from Yosemite. They have a terrific ice machine, friendly staff, they are pet friendly and I noticed laundry facilities which seemed to be used constantly.

I think next time I'll try to stay in Mariposa. Oakhurst was nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: I would recommend being upstairs because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This inn is greatly located within 30 mins driving distance from the Yosemite South Gate. We got a room which was very big with two big queen beds. All the good stuffs about this hotel ends there. The carpets in the room was horribly bad beyond the tolerable levels of sanitary conditions. If you end up staying in this hotel, never walk bare footed. The sticky dirt from the carpet just sticks with the bottom of the foot forming a brownish/muddy layer. The bath-room looked shabby. Don't fall for the complementary breakfast. You will be better off not eating here - either buy something in the nearby Raleys' supermarket or go get something somewhere else in the town. Not worth for the ~$270 we paid for 2 nights. If you are a part of 3-4, you may look into Best Western or Yosemite South Gate Lodge or you may look into B&Bs if couples. I will NOT stay here if I go back and will NOT recommend to friends/anyone that are looking to have a good value/stay for the money.

Room Tip: We stayed in #147
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst

Address: 48800 Royal Oaks Drive, Oakhurst, CA 93644 (Formerly Ramada Limited Yosemite)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.