We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hounds Tooth Inn to your Saves list
Hounds Tooth Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42071 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed four nights in theWillow Room, room clean, bed very comfortable. No coffee making facilities in the room but coffee was available from 7am in the breakfast room.We were told straight away to bring the mugs back!! Breakfast was plentiful but the same each day, scrambled eggs, pastries, cereals, orange juice, coffee and tea. Breakfast room very welcoming . We knew of the wine tasting beforehand but nobody mentioned it when we arrived or at any other time. The new owners were running the inn the first couple of days, we didn't find them welcoming when checking in or at breakfast. Bed and Breakfast accomodation is usually very friendly but unfortunately not this time around.The gardens were very nice but as we were in Yosemite all day we didn't make very much use of them. In general the stay was average, I do not think we would stay there again. This was one of the more expensive stays during our three week stay in California but after having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I suppose we were expecting somewhere special and The Hounds Tooth Inn just did not hit the mark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    61
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
147
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Back again 2 years later and the Hounds Tooth Inn has lost none of its charm. The room we had was fabulous and in a city would easy get twice its selling price. Facilities like rental of a DVD for $1 is a great and welcome addition after a long day. Bill and his Wife (apologies never did ask your name) should be very proud of what they have achieved.
New owners we understand are taking over so be interested to see if they manage to maintain the same high standards without cashing in and spoiling the great value for money experience.

Have a great retirement Bill and your good Lady Wife - Anthony and Lisa from Manchester, UK

Room Tip: Nice Chinese 5 mins down the road on the right hand side from the Hounds Tooth
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nestled down a hill near the southern entrance of Yosemite in Oakhurst, the Hounds Tooth Inn offered good value for the price for our 5-day stay. The breakfasts offered little variety with a scrambled egg dish and bought pastries every day but were serviced in a cheery, airy breakfast room. Yogurt, cold cereals, toast, English muffins along with fresh orange juice, coffee and hot water for tea was available from 8-10am. Wine became available in the evening until 9:00 pm. Our room was one of the most inexpensive but nicely appointed, clean and roomy enough with a queen-sized bed, 2 sitting chairs, settee at the window, a refrigerator and small flat screen TV and in suite toilet/shower. We made use of the patio chairs outside that were in several different groupings and settings overlooking the small stream and valley. The gardens are a “work in progress” but the birds were plentiful for my birder husband to enjoy. A small library of books and DVD’s were available for use. Oakhurst had enough variety in evening eateries after a long day in Yosemite that we found the location adequate for our daily forays into the park and environs. The inn was changing proprietors during our stay so you need to check the reviews after October 4, 2012 to get the most current status.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with no elevator so anyone with limited mobility needs to ask for a first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for one night in the Garden Inn room. Bed was comfortable and room clean. They offered complimentry glass of wine and had a wine bar. Breakfast was continental style. They didn't keep up with the food service, the scrambled eggs ran out and so did the coffee. They did not have a coffee pot in the room. Host didn't seem very friendly at checkin or at breakfast. They did offer a paper they gave the area food establishments, which was a helpful.

Room Tip: The Garden Inn room is great for those in a wheelchair or those who need rails in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the Hounds Tooth. Our room was fine - comfortable and clean. A bit overdone with the kitsch. The breakfast was a major disappointment. Especially the coffee. It was close to unpalatable, very weak and looked like strong tea. The breakfast buffet area was cramped which made serving yourself difficult when other folks were lined up. None of the offerings appeared to be home made - commercial pastries and cereal, serving dishes still had plastic wrap pulled back; not what I expected for the price. The El Cid, within walking distance, was fantastic and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here one night on the way to Yosemite. Staff very nice. Rooms very comfortable and large. Breakfast was good. Very relaxing sitting outside with a cup of coffee. Would recommend this b&b to anyone visiting Yosemite or bass lake.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor beside reception and it was lovely x
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

As most of the reviews say, this Inn holds up to it. We were glad we chose this Inn while our visit to Yosemite. We stayed for 2 day/nights. The check-in was smooth and the front desk staff is/are friendly. After I made the reservation through online, they called my mobile to confirm the booking. The rooms were very spacious and the was bed was extremely big/comfy (Calif King size). There is a big Jacuzzi right in front of the bed and the bath room has a walk-in shower place (for 2) as well. This Inn has a nice green lush garden with bamboo like chairs, which are nice to relax in the evening. The garden (or chairs in front of the rooms) is so good that we decided to get togo for dinner from nearby restaurants and sit leisurely & dine in the garden. The location of this Inn is very convenient/near to the Yosemite south entrance and it just takes less than 30 mins to reach the south gate/Mariposa Grove. We had only one complaint - Breakfast was not great. The options/choices were less and the coffee was horrible. We had to request the inn-keeper for the refills (Juice, Butter, Half-Half, Jam, Bread etc..,) every time. Apart from the mediocre breakfast, we had a great time here and would recommend to any couple that are looking for a great B&B near the south gate entrance. While you stay here don't miss out the near-by Mexican restaurant El CID (obviously we got TOGO :))

Room Tip: We reserved the Garden View/facing room (#4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Address: 42071 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hounds Tooth Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve room Victorian style inn boutique hotel. Some rooms with in-room whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. An additional semi-private cottage suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hounds Tooth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hounds Tooth Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.