We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau du Sureau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chateau du Sureau to your Saves list
Chateau du Sureau
48688 Victoria Lane, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

We were looking forward to staying at the Cahteau du Sureau and it lived up to expectations and more. No detail is overlooked, the rooms are beautiful and full of lovely touches, home made cookies, a welcoming snack, and faultless service. They manage to care for every detail without being pretentious, which is quite a feat.

Dinner at the Elderberry House was a real treat for the palate, again with wonderful service, which was not overbearing.

The little touches didn't end with the going away goodie bag, but we noticed that our windscreen had been cleaned for us once we were on the road. Now THAT is service.

If you want to spoil yourselves, this is one good place to do it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
101
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

My husband and I, along with some good friends, spent two very special nights at Chateau du Sureau. Everything was absolutely perfect from beginning to end ! Erna has not overlooked a thing. We were pampered as soon as our car drove through the gates and continued for the next 48 hours.

We were met by Nancy who immediately directed us to the main room while she served us beverages of our choice and some delicious sandwiches. After being on the road for a few hours this was a very welcome indulgence. While enjoying our afternoon treat, our bags were placed in our rooms. As we and our friends checked out one another's rooms, we were immediately impressed that we would be finding ourselves in a wonderful state of relaxation. Each lovely room comes with a discreet CD plalyer filled with calming music. Each room is individual and beautiful and the bathrooms are quite large and equipped with all the amenities.

The first night we enjoyed a magnificent dinner at Erna's Elderberry House, just steps outside our door. The staff was friendly and attentive without hovering. Each course was delicious and beautifully presented. We all loved our special dinner! When we got back to our rooms our beds were turned down with a wonderful treat waiting for us. Also, much to my surprise, I found a lovely bookmark had been placed in my book. And, that is what Erna is all about......attention to detail.

As we left for our day in Yosemite Park, we were given a small cooler with water and chips to help us get through the day. Another special touch was the dish filled with ponchos at the front door. We were very happy that we had helped ourselves to these. Since it is spring and the waterfalls are bursting with energy, these ponchos saved the hairdo not to mention they allowed us to remain dry while viewing the falls.

If one could come up with a downside to this hotel it would be the distance to the Park. It probably took us about an hour to reach the valley floor, but that's okay. We knew that going back "home" would be worth the long drive.

When we arrived "home" Nancy was there with a refreshment for us which we enjoyed on the patio. That evening we went to one of the steak houses in Oakhurst and had a low key meal. After Erna's spectacular meal the night before we were looking for a lighter dinner.

Erna provides a very substantial breakfast in the morning. It can be as light or as filling as you like. Included are wonderful rolls and croissants and a selection of meats and cheeses. After we had our fill and packed our bags, it was time to leave with the hopes of returning in the not too distant future. Lucy, the general manager, sent us off with water and treats for the road.

Two of us were celebrating birthdays and we decided we would do this again in a heartbeat! It's a special treat that we would love to enjoy again and again. Thank you, Erna.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiny Hundhill, North of England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We stayed at Chateau du Sureau in May 2008 and used it as our base for exploring wonderful Yosemite.
It was fantastic, one of the best hotels that we have stayed in. It isn't cheap but well worth money.
You feel truly spoilt by the surroundings and the staff - the service was second to none. Well done to Lucy and the Team.
We got great advise, maps etc on where to visit in the park which meant we really made the most of our days in the area.
We ate in the adjoining restaurant on all three evenings and the food was fab as was the service, The restaurant also made us a delicious pack-up to take in to the park.

  • Liked — The service.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

When we were planning our visit to Yosemite, I was looking for a very nice quality hotel to stay in based in/near Yosemite. At the time, on tripadvisor, the reviews of the hotels in the Park were not very encouraging so I opted for Chateau du Sureau just outside the park. After booking it, I was concerned that I had maybe made a mistake and should have book the Ahwahnee or Wawona. I am writing this review in case anyone else is going through the same thought processes. PLEASE try the Chateau. It was one of the best hotel choices we made during the whole of our Californian trip.

On arrival, you press the intercom and are warmly welcomed. As you drive through the gates up to the Chateau you are greeted by the friendly and delightful staff - one to remove your bags from the car; another to take your car off to park and a third to welcome you to the chateau. We were shown round the Chateau - made extremely welcome - and were then shown to our room (our bags already there) and then a drink and snack arrived for us to enjoy whilst we settled in. We were then left to enjoy the peace and quiet.

Our room was lovely. A 4 poster bed with one of the comfiest mattresses I have ever slept on. The sheets are of a noticeably high quality. There is a fireplace and a good quality CD system (NO TV but one in salon for guest use). There is also a PC in salon for internet access.

The dining room is wonderful. Food and wine excellent. Service impeccable.

In my view, all owners of small quality hotels should go to the Chateau to stay as this is what they should be aspiring to achieve. As a guest, it genuinely feels like you are staying in someone's home - someone who really wants you to enjoy yourself and feel at home - where nothing is too much trouble - but you can come and go as you wish.

There are so many little touches which make this special. As another person noted, if you leave your book in your room you will return to find that a bookmark had been put in the page which has been turned over. Fresh made snacks are left in your room. Delicious chocolates with a hand written note are left at turn down service.

I loved this place. It is really special

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — from the gardens you can hear the traffic
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

my wife and i were vilsiting yosemite and we could not obtain a room in one of the hotels in the park. this turned out to be very fortunate for us since we found chateau dur sureau, just outside the park. our room was fantastic, with a four poster bed, plenty of room and a great stereo system . its located on 9 acres and there are plenty of trails. the staff is incredibly attentive to all our needs. in fact my wife commented on the fact that there were so many people to assist guests even though there are only 10 rooms .the breakfasts, which are included, were incredible. we ate in the restaurant both evenings and were rewarded with two memorable dinners. finally, my wife left her book in the room. when she returned , the receipt she used as a bookmark was replaced with a beautiful bookmark. she was floored by this. all in all, a fantastic place to stay.

  • Liked — feeling of being in a posh hotel super attention to details
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

The Chateau du Sureau is a very special place to stay. The service is excellent and the accommodation is fabulous. We were so well looked by the wonderful helpful staff. If you really want to spoil yourself - stay at the Chateau.

  • Liked — Wonderful accommodation and fabulous service.
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was all excellent.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

For our 10th wedding anniversary my husband and I wanted to do something really special, but being relatively new to the US from the UK a big family party wasn't going to happen, so we opted for what turned out to be one of the best decisions we've ever made!! We left our children in the capable hands of a friend and drove from Los Angeles to Chateau du Sureau for 2 nights. Upon arrival through the classic electric gates, we were welcomed by staff who could actually pronounce our impossible last name having studied it, who took our bags, parked our car, gave us a quick tour and refreshments and left us to realize that this was no B & B. It's normal for big hotels to do most of the above, but not smaller establishments who don't have a reception desk and concierge. The lack of reception desk and concierge was wonderful as it highlighted every staff member's dedication to you during your stay. A simple knock on the kitchen/office door was the answer to any question and the meeting of every need. Literally, you could ask for anything and I guarantee they'd get it for you faster and with a bigger smile than any concierge I've ever come across.
We had a wander in their lovely gardens and played boules before getting ready for an exquisite dinner at the Elderberry Restaurant where we were greeted by the owner, Erna, who wanted to ensure everything was to our liking. Knowing it was our anniversary they had placed some treats for us in our room. We came back to find rose petals on our turned down bed, a hand written note, a drawn mineral bath and champagne. Admittedly we had booked a package which includes the extras, but we were made to feel very special by the careful attention to detail.

Having been recommended some hikes and having had horse riding booked for us by Lucy the wonderful Directrice, we ventured out for a stunning day in Yosemite followed by massages in the Spa, again excellent. Dinner was divine and by the end of our 2 night stay we felt like we been relaxing for a week and were sad to leave.

We travel a lot for work and it's the first place we've been to that we will definitely go back to and we want to bring the children next time.

  • Liked — Honestly, everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau du Sureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Sureau

Address: 48688 Victoria Lane, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau du Sureau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Sureau Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau du Sureau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.