We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt spoiled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau du Sureau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chateau du Sureau to your Saves list
Chateau du Sureau
48688 Victoria Lane, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Felt spoiled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband brought me here for a birthday getaway and what a wonderful present it was! I can't say enough about the friendly staff - always ready to help with a smile. The chateau itself is like a little castle in a park. We stayed in the lavender room which is on the 2nd floor with views over the town (which I mostly ignored) and the garden/pool area which is enchanting.
I enjoyed soaking in the bath with the frankincense bath salts and tealights burning each night - what luxury! The pillows and comforter were soft and the bed was very comfortable. I kept thinking we were alone there, but then at breakfast I would find out I was wrong. Breakfast on the terrace was so relaxing and a great way to start the day.
This was a great place to explore the parts of Yosemite that we don't get to as often and I had a truly delightful time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
101
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My daughter and I were visiting the Yosemite Park and Chateau de Sureau was the perfect place to stay (located at 30 minutes drive from the south entrance of Yosemite).

Chateau du Sureau IS the spirit of 'Relais et Chateaux'. This is more a private mansion than an hotel. Our rooms were 'like home', decent size and very nice bathrooms. Both had a balcony.

There is no reception desks but there is always someone to help. The living room (with a fire place) is large enough to find two sofas to read or to share a glass of Chardonnay.

Breakfast comes with the 'special of the day' (we had scramble eggs and omelets).

Dinner at Erna's Elderberry restaurant was good the first evening and excellent the next evening. The wine list is extensive.

In summary, Chateau du Sureau is a warm, feel 'like home' with peacefulness.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

what a unique way to spend a special occasion here in California and not having to fly to Europe!
the moment the iron gates were opened to let in our car and being greeted outside the entry door by a chambermaid and valet we knew we had made the right decision. our room had an antique king size bed from the early 1800's and several fresh orchids and a memorable hanging tapestry along with L'Occitane toiletries.
their restaurant, Erna's Elderberry House prepared such creative vegetarian menus for us at our request in a stunning dining room with lit fireplace and impeccable service.
treat yourself or someone you love to this experience.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views and loved our Saffron Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I've dined here twice, stayed over here one night, and once the service was great but the other times it was very slow and painful. The food was good.
The management here seems a bit unfriendly. A bit snooty.
Definitely try this place out as it is different. But don't be surprised if you have a great experience or a very terrible one. Can really go either way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauSureau, Director of Operations at Chateau du Sureau, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear LiveWellUSA, thank you for writing to us, we truly appreciate your candid feedback. We are sorry that you did not feel that you experienced the best that our staff has to offer. Being a 5-Diamond, 5-Star property we strive to exceed our guests expectations. May we ask what specifically did not meet yours? If you would be so kind as to email us (chateau@chateausureau.com) directly, we will gladly discuss this further with you, and resolve our error. We would welcome the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Good: Extremely warm winter days. Décor was interesting, especially the canopy bed, reminded my wife of when she was a little girl... Classical music in the room, perfect selection. The garden view was nice but we had to keep the shutters down for privacy from other outside guests and the gardeners in the evening and morning. The breakfast (not served at the restaurant, but rather the maids) brioche and croissants were wonderful the rest of the breakfast, well ho hum! I detest overly sweetened yogurt poured over perfectly good home made granola, neither of us fitness nuts could swallow it. The meat and cheese platter was enough for one person so my wife had that and I enjoyed the excellent coffee and had an early lunch at the lake! We were excited to find a bocce court though the surface was a mushy DG instead of oyster shell and too soft for proper play. We enjoyed the 800 meter walk but could have been a lot longer for proper exercise so in addition we took a 4 mile hike up above lake. The swing set and coy pond a nice touch.

The Bad: Location, looking out over the chateau you could see the city of Oakhurst, what? With all the beautiful mountains and valleys why this location??? Bedrooms very small, balcony the size of a matchbox and not meant for use, bathroom was very awkward and the step down tub/shower is a lawsuit waiting to happen. The worst part was the noise because of the supposedly antique wooden doors, all the noise from the hallway and downstairs came into the room. Need tissues, look under the sink where you would find a plunger? Room door locks hard to open! Spent 20 minutes looking for someone to get our car keys the first time going out.

The restaurant: I would have given 5 stars because the dinner by would have made up for everything but this is only a rating for the hotel. The dinner was very exceptional to say the least. Figure $200 Per Person and well worth it! The one negative aspect about this 5 star restaurant was they don't appear to have any dress code which was rather embarrassing and the only negative aspect of an otherwise perfectly wonderful 3-hour dinning experience! Any serious R&C should have a least a shirt and tie code, and turn away the scumbags in flannel and Hawaiian shirts and jeans that don't know how to dress properly. This is supposed to be an R&C in France isn't it?

Bottom line: At a $1,000 per night with dinning this R&C did only so-so and we've only stayed at only one worse as far as overall experience! But if you're in for $500 a plate dinner then you could consider the hotel free! I would recommend visiting here once then stay at the Ahwahnee hotel in Yosemite and dinning here in the evening on your way back to the bay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Chateau du Sureau is a Five Diamond Resort and it shows at every turn you make, from the service of the staff to the amazing comforters.

This is our fourth time staying at the Chateau du Sureau. Usually when you go back to a resort you can see that it is a little older and they just don't give the place the attention that they did the first time you were there, not at this Chateau. Erna (owner) is very particular and everytime we have been there to visit she is there making sure that every detail is perfect. The flowers in the room, burning fire in the fire place, to the pillows on the bed.

My husband's favorite thing that they do are the elfs that will polish your shoes if you leave them out by your door at night, in the morning you wake up and the shoes are polished with a little wrapped candy on them.

My favorite is the smell of something cooking in the kitchen and the feeling that it is just the two of you, but yet if you need something the staff is right there.

The resort is so relaxing and peaceful. We feel so refreshed after we leave, and we always look forward to returning.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Erna (the lady who owns this place) is clearly someone who is extremely passionate about what she does, and it shows. The decor, the service, the rooms-everything is classic French Chateau style. From the time we entered through the majestic gates, to be greeted by our gracious host, to the time we drove out-bumping into Erna herself, it was an enjoyable stay. The staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable. The rooms are well appointed. Breakfast is good. Common areas are nice too. The adjoining restaurant (Erna's Elderberry House) - apparently the reason this chateau was built (to accommodate diners that came from afar) is delightful. See my review for that separately. Its about a 30 min drive from the Yosemite entrance

Room Tip: all rooms are great. Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau du Sureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Sureau

Address: 48688 Victoria Lane, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Chateau du Sureau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Sureau Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau du Sureau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.