We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau du Sureau

Save Saved
You added Chateau du Sureau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau du Sureau
48688 Victoria Lane, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Rancho Mirage, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The accommodations are perfect for a get away. The service could not be better. And the food ... Exquisite. Had dinner in the restaurant on site which is truly gourmet. The croissants in the morning - breakfast is included- the best outside of Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    13
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
93
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Though we have stayed here many times, I have yet to write a review and it is long overdue! Erna, the creative genius behind the Chateau created a sanctuary from the one's daily existence. Though situated in a beautiful location that borders Yosemite, the best time there is the time spent reconnecting with one's loved one. I will never forget our first visit over 15 years ago which opened up another world that we were unfamiliar with. From the impeccable service and care of their guests to the sumptuous bedding, the incredible spa, and the out of this world restaurant to the excellent breakfasts we had in Chateau dining area. We loved this little piece of heaven enough to have our wedding and reception there. There simply are no words that could provide for anyone a inkling of what one could experience there. You simply have to go... It is a special place and will always be a place we never wanted to leave.

Room Tip: The rooms are wonderful but our favorites are the Elderberry and Rosemary rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at this beautiful property and cannot wait to return. Every room is lovely and perfectly appointed. All but one have wood-burning fireplaces. Wonderful huge fireplace in the great room with warm fire always burning, and snacks and beverages always available. The staff is the most competent and accommodating we've ever experienced. The grounds are gorgeous, like a botanical garden, with statuary, bird houses, fountains, a pond, outdoor yoga facility, etc. Must have dinner one night at Erna's Elderberry House, in front of the estate - just as incredible as the Chateau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Erna.....We arrived home safe and sound after a marvelous three nights at the Chateau and a fabulous New Year's Eve dinner at the Elderberry House. As always everything was magnificent!

We are always amazed at how attentive and gracious your staff is. That can only come from good leadership and your setting an excellent example. We particularly want to thank Leslie and Jan for all their courtesies. They are two fine representatives and enhance the beauty of your operation.

We have been privileged to stay with you three times and wish for a return in the near future.
Thanks again for helping to make our 50th a memorable occasion.

Best Personal Regards,

Russ and Vicki Beckner

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband treated me to two nights here for New Year's Eve as a belated anniversary gift. We had eaten at the restaurant before and knew that Erna's Elderberry House produced world-class cuisine, but until now we'd never stayed at the Chateau Sureau. We were not disappointed - from start to finish we had 2 days of extreme pampering. The service is unbelievable - it's like having your own mini Downton Abbey, with maids in French aprons bustling downstairs, and staff to answer your every request. Whether lounging in bed reading, relaxing in the beautifully appointed drawing room sipping champagne (complete with floor to ceiling bookshelves, a grand piano, and fireplace), we felt it was our luxurious country home for two days. We stayed upstairs in the Lavender Room which was the one available when we booked - but I looked into other rooms on the way out and they are all amazing: custom antique furniture and art/ objets, four-poster beds, luxury linens and Hungarian down comforters, fireplaces, small balconies...Erna has thought of every detail. Breakfast each morning was a lovely platter of meats, cheese, fruit and homemade croissants that taste authentically French followed by a quiche or other treat. We were showered with little treats throughout the stay: home baked cookies, gourmet chocolates on the pillows, truffles after dinner...we brought most home to our daughter.

We also dined again both nights in the restaurant - including the special NY Eve 9-course tasting menu (word to the wise: skip lunch and hike to work up an appetite!) Again, the restaurant exceeded expectations. We've dined in some amazing places - Michelin star-rated - in Paris, London, Tokyo...and Erna's can compete with the best. The menu changes nightly as the chef sources local fresh ingredients - but whatever is being served you can be assured it will be amazing.

Having grown up in nearby Fresno, and now living a few hours away in the Bay Area, we were delighted to discover such a world-class European resort so close: we justified the price (it is not cheap!) by saying it was like a weekend trip to Europe without the long flight and additional cost :) So if you're looking for something different from Napa, more intimate and personalized than larger hotels, yet more classy and upscale than any other B&B, try the Chateau - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Apparently Room 7 is very popular- slightly larger, has a sitting area in front of fireplace. Person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Unexpected. This hotel is comparable to Europe's finest. The attention to detail is superb and the service is wonderful. I can't say enough about this experience. Not cheap but worth it. And the restaurant is world class.

Room Tip: Search the web site. Only ten rooms and a villa of your own if you want to splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We are still euphoric three weeks after our magical one-night stay at Erna’s enchanted estate, which was memorable from start to finish. I had the good fortune to read about Chateau du Sureau in the book "1,000 Places to See Before You Die" while planning a fall trip to Yosemite. The Ahwahnee was our first choice for a splurge since it’s so well known. However, the more I read about it on Trip Advisor, the more I realized I didn’t want to stay in such a large, old, expensive lodge. Chateau du Sureau, though 16 miles outside the park, seemed like a perfect treat en route to Yosemite Valley for another three nights. (We quickly came back to Earth upon arrival at Yosemite Lodge!)

The Chateau is unique, a gable-roofed European castle that emerged from Erna’s sweet childhood memories and was built in 1991 with her true grit. Her villa meshes beautifully with her renowned restaurant, Erna’s Elderberry House, and Spa Sureau. Thus, guests are swaddled in luxury from head to toe. Friendly, attentive staff members are attuned to their guests’ every need. Rooms are large, immaculate and inviting, with large comfy beds, a writing desk, fireplace and a two-room bath loaded with fresh towels, bath salts, numerous emollients and other luxurious pleasures. Bottled water, cookies, truffles and wine are tucked around the room or make an appearance while you’re out. The attention to detail is awesome, down to your names being printed on the dinner menu. (Because Erna is in charge, the food is exceptional -- no surprise.) When you want to celebrate a special occasion, see how “the other half” lives and feel like a genuine VIP or King/Queen for a Stay, make a reservation at Chateau du Sureau. You’ll never forget it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau du Sureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Sureau

Address: 48688 Victoria Lane, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Chateau du Sureau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Sureau Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau du Sureau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.