We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Port in a Storm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oka's Japanese Restaurant

Oka's Japanese Restaurant
40250 Junction Drive, Oakhurst, CA 93644
559.642.4850
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 47 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A Delightful Port in a Storm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

With many restuarants in Oakhurst closed the night of our Jan 2, 2013 visit we were just delighted to happen upon this warm, friendly, Japanese restuarant. Service was prompt. Food excellent. Full bar service. The side of gyoza was somewhat different that what we had experienced before and absolutely delightful!! Much enjoyed my combo of salmon teriyaki and assorted tempura! --Jeff

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank strathj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
“Discount menu prices were not honored”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Waitress Debbie didn't honor the Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday discount menu prices which would have reduced each meal by about $4. Chef Alex was skilled and cooked a nice meal. The interior design is a creepy aquarium theme.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yosmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi for a small town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Love to eat here for both lunch and dinner. Can be a bit pricy if you eat individual rolls. There combo dinners are the real value.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lettie_G-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Yummy!
I have friends that say that they have had food poisoning here, but I have always had a great experience. I am local, so anything different is exciting, but I do eat out in the Bay Area and this is comparable. They have a delicious teriayki veggie bowl, good (if greasy...are they ever not?) tempura and I just found out they do vegetarian sushi! Now, I don't like seaweed, so that puts a damper on sushi, BUT they have tofu wraps in place of seaweed. So I get the fun experience of sushi without the fish OR seaweed! Awesome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank planthugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Sushi and teppanyaki in the Mountains. And it is excellent. Make sure you keep eating here so they don't close up and go away! Oakhurst needs to support it's good restaurants!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank YosemiteJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oka's Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oka's Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing