We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Port in a Storm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oka's Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oka's Japanese Restaurant
40250 Junction Drive, Oakhurst, CA 93644
559.642.4850
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 44 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A Delightful Port in a Storm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

With many restuarants in Oakhurst closed the night of our Jan 2, 2013 visit we were just delighted to happen upon this warm, friendly, Japanese restuarant. Service was prompt. Food excellent. Full bar service. The side of gyoza was somewhat different that what we had experienced before and absolutely delightful!! Much enjoyed my combo of salmon teriyaki and assorted tempura! --Jeff

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Discount menu prices were not honored”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Waitress Debbie didn't honor the Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday discount menu prices which would have reduced each meal by about $4. Chef Alex was skilled and cooked a nice meal. The interior design is a creepy aquarium theme.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi for a small town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Love to eat here for both lunch and dinner. Can be a bit pricy if you eat individual rolls. There combo dinners are the real value.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Yummy!
I have friends that say that they have had food poisoning here, but I have always had a great experience. I am local, so anything different is exciting, but I do eat out in the Bay Area and this is comparable. They have a delicious teriayki veggie bowl, good (if greasy...are they ever not?) tempura and I just found out they do vegetarian sushi! Now, I don't like seaweed, so that puts a damper on sushi, BUT they have tofu wraps in place of seaweed. So I get the fun experience of sushi without the fish OR seaweed! Awesome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Sushi and teppanyaki in the Mountains. And it is excellent. Make sure you keep eating here so they don't close up and go away! Oakhurst needs to support it's good restaurants!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oka's Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oka's Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oka's Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.