We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sushi for a small town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oka's Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oka's Japanese Restaurant
40250 Junction Drive, Oakhurst, CA 93644
559.642.4850
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 44 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Oakhurst, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi for a small town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Love to eat here for both lunch and dinner. Can be a bit pricy if you eat individual rolls. There combo dinners are the real value.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Yummy!
I have friends that say that they have had food poisoning here, but I have always had a great experience. I am local, so anything different is exciting, but I do eat out in the Bay Area and this is comparable. They have a delicious teriayki veggie bowl, good (if greasy...are they ever not?) tempura and I just found out they do vegetarian sushi! Now, I don't like seaweed, so that puts a damper on sushi, BUT they have tofu wraps in place of seaweed. So I get the fun experience of sushi without the fish OR seaweed! Awesome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Sushi and teppanyaki in the Mountains. And it is excellent. Make sure you keep eating here so they don't close up and go away! Oakhurst needs to support it's good restaurants!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sushi fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Excellent sushi, fresh, casual dining experience. Sushi bar as well as casual seating at tables.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A good change of pace.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

When your taste buds salivate for something different, Oka's Japanese food hits the spot. Their tapan tables are great fun to watch, their regular entrees from Sushi to tempura to steak and pork are all tastey. Service is good (not great if they're very busy), cocktails and wine are in small gleasses and overpriced. Atmosphere? Clean, comfortable, but not Japanese in style.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oka's Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oka's Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oka's Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.