We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a BBQ Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice's Cookhouse

Alice's Cookhouse
40713 Highway 41, #5, Oakhurst, CA 93644
(559) 642-4900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Alice's Cookhouse serves Southern style BBQ and other specialties including Gumbo and Jambalaya in a homestyle setting. While dining enjoy a nice selection of Mammoth Brewery beers. Stop by and see us on your next visit to Yosemite.
Oakhurst, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More than just a BBQ Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Honestly I go to Todd's BBQ for there Veggie Sandwich and salads. They even have soft serve ice cream and beer...yummy! Their BBQ is delicious too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    110
    35
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Easy dinner option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We're from Texas so we were a little nervous about trying someone else's barbecue but it was fine. Took awhile to get some of our food but the young lady helping us was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
1 review
“Used to be my favorite Oakhurst Restaurant.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Todd's used to have fantastic brisket. This visit the brisket was fatty, stringy and was 1/3 the usual amount for the same price. The 1/4 pound that my wife ordered was short and my daughters chicken sandwich was noticeably short on meat. The sides were much smaller and one of my favorites, the chili appeared to be missing the meat. The quantities at Todd's have always been somewhat variable but never the quality. Todd's went from my favorite to never again in one visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great barbecue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband had the beef brisket and loved it. I had the pulled pork sandwich which was equally good. To make it healthier we had the option of salads instead of fries. The salads were fresh and good sized.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not really that great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

A bit disappointed after reading the reviews. The food sits in your stomach like a ton of bricks. The prices are not really listed and the kids meal was supposed to come with an ice cream treat but we never got it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Cookhouse also viewed

 

Been to Alice's Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice's Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.