We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local yokel review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Todd's Barbeque

Todd's Barbeque
40713 Highway 41 #5, Oakhurst, CA
559 642-4900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local yokel review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I try to limit my visit to twice a week. I used to eat here almost everyday. So much so that they created an special sandwich for me called the "Billie Philly"! It's a chopped smoked chicken breast with grilled peppers and onions with melted cheese on a nice soft grilled roll smeared with chipotle mayo. Ask for it by name cause its not listed on menu but Ooh-La-La so damn good. Alice will know what you mean and if you get Todd working the grill it is even more awesome as he just has a great feel with food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    103
    30
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, average price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had pulled pork which was very good. Prices were reasonable for amount and quality of food. The atmosphere was casual and appropriate for the type of food. You order at the window and they deliver your food to your table. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great barbeque, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food is excellent, meats are extremely tender & flavorful. Great value! My family & I go often, I also recommend to our guests (work at a local hotel).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“really great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very unassuming place. Very small, not much decor. But the food is really good and the folks are friendly. We had the brisket sandwich. Sliced and shredded. Both really good but I liked the sliced better. The side of bean chili was excellant. If this was located in Cleveland I would be a regular customer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Braved it anyway... wound up the fave meal of our Yosemite visit. Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

OK, so we read hundreds of various site reviews of pretty much every restaurant in Oakhurst this Sunday night... most places went from bad to worse. Settled on Todd's (because we were just one meal too many at Tenaya, which was fine). What a wonderful surprise. We got there at 8:30 pm, greeted cheerfully by a sweet gal who explained how it works, and coached us to best options (size, price, value). Be prepared: this is not linen napkin BBQ... we can get that in LA. This is more Southern Roadhouse, with white bread toast to prove it. We decided on the rib dinner for 2 ... with drinks, tax, etc: $30 total. Even tho it was late, the ribs were perfect: 12 big baby backs, with plenty of spicy sauce and nice carmelized edges. We could hardly finish them all (and we were not seeking leftovers). Sides were unbelievably generous: 1/2 pints of coleslaw and potato salad (good, not great, and homemade). Then there was the chili: OMG, a giant pint, made with real brisket and good beans... very spicy, and would've been a $10 meal at home. This dinner for 2 could've easily fed 3 ... maybe 4 with additional sides. You order at the counter, they bring you your food with paper plates, plastic silverware, and other stuff that keeps costs down. Music was loud and wonderful: great mixes of blues, country, rock and roll. We had a blast.If we'd been staying another day at the park, we'd have surely added takeout for next day. Once again we have learned: haters are a dime a dozen (especially on Yelp), and we shouldn't believe everything we read. And, it's important to give small local businesses a chance and to bring your own fun. Thanks for a great experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Todd's Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Todd's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Todd's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;