We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, odd service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Mexican Cuisine

El Cid Mexican Cuisine
41939 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8506
559-683-0282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 44 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, odd service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were staying up the road at "A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast", and came down to "El Cid's" by recommendation. It was fairly busy when we arrived (a good sign), and we were seated pretty quickly. Our server came to greet us promptly and all was going well...until the server began conversing with us. It's hard to describe it. She was kind, gave us a moment to decide when we weren't ready, and even commented on how she liked my wife's hair. But there was something very socially awkward about the whole thing.

Other than the somewhat weird interactions with our server, the rest of our stay was great. Decent Mexican food, reasonably priced, and great chips & salsa. All in all, a good find. Worth a stop if you're in Oakhurst.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    91
    44
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't like spicy foods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I don't like spicy food but my husband does, so El Cid's satisfies of both. He can have the mixed plate of all things Mexician and I can have the tostada bowl without refried beans and only a hint of spice in the chicken or meat. We both think our choices are the best! Family owned - clean and very friendly. Reasonable prices and often really busy - a great place for families.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Oakhurst!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Best Mexican food in Oakhurst! Our Favorite Restaurant in Oakhurst! Great service! Great atmosphere!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Dined here 2 times. First time we had lunch and a couple of Margaritas. Wife had the Taco plate and I had the Carnitas plate. All was good and I was impressed with the flavor of the carnitas as the waiter recommended. Great salsa & chips to. We were scouting this for a dinner later in the week with our guests in town for our wedding.

The dinner for our group of 12 was very underwhelming. Had problems with the reservation on a Friday night. Service was pretty good but seating was crammed in a corner of the dining room. Oh well I understand, but there is no excuse for the less than quality food. The Carnitas were very saucy and grossly over-seasoned with salt. I recommended this dish to 2 of my guests and all agreed about that. There was no other issues that came to my attention. I was just an average dinner. I would and will eat here when I get back up there next month. Hopefully with a better report.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thayne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My parents live nearby and are regulars at El Cid's. Whenever we are in town, we usually go there at least once. We were just there and went just after Christmas. The place was packed and we did have to wait, but the hostess, waitstaff and the owner, Tony, dealt with the crowd in a very smiling, friendly and professional way. When we were seated, our order was taken quickly and our order came promptly. The food is good and the service is super.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cid Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to El Cid Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cid Mexican Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.