We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint cafe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Katie's Country Kitchen

Katie's Country Kitchen
40470 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
559-683-8418
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 46 restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Alma, Arkansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quaint cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A little pricey and wasn't that impressed with the food that was served.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    9
    17
    8
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Truly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Went here as it was convenient for our hotel despite reading the poor reviews on Trip Advisor.
First the service - we did not have a problem. We chose to share the dish of the day and were provided with an extra plate. We ordered extra things to go with it and they all came as requested. We shared the dessert and were provided with two forks without asking.
Food choices - disappointed as the clam chowder was off (first time in 18 months we were told) as was green veg as a side order to go with the steak. Dessert was apple pie or cheescake.
Food quality. The salads were fresh and crisp. The steak was a little dry. The cheesecake fine. By far the best part of the meal was the glass of cabernet sauvignon wine - excellent!!
The bill. 18% gratuity was added - but there was still a place on the credit card print out to add a tip! As I never tip more than 15% I had the choice of creating a fuss but for a dollar it wasn't worth it, so I paid.
Value for money - 55.21 grand total including tip and tax for two of us wasn't bad. I think we more or less got what we paid for.
Ambience - overall quite quiet, although there were other diners. Decor was sort of country style and not cheap and nasty nor posh and sumptuous.
So, if you don't want to spend too much money and are not looking for anything special, don't be put off. If you're looking for gourmet food in a romantic setting, go elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass Lake, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Busy during tourist season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Breakfast was decent, but with some mistakes (eggs cooked wrong, dry omelette). Coffee is NOT Starbuck's. I have never eaten lunch here. Busy during tourist season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A friendly family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We live in the Coarsegold area. When we go to Oakhurst we generally stop at Katie's for breakfast or lunch. The food is good and the atmosphere quite friendly. They sell a good selection of wines, honey and preserves. The service is good as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service, bad attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Used to be good years ago. New owner, exceptionally lousy food - drive another block north to the 'Ol Kettle

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katie's Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Katie's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katie's Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.