We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Cakes Restaurant

Crab Cakes Restaurant
49271 Golden Oak Loop, Suite 7, Oakhurst, CA 93644
15596417667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 46 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Pasta, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Oakhurst, CA just minutes from the south gate to Yosemite National Park and Bass Lake, we specialize in fresh and shell fish and offer steak, chicken, pasta and an award winning children's menu with full bar service from Roman's Bar featuring local micro-brewed beers and wines. Enjoy dining in the nautically-themed restaurant, the cozy intimate bar or take in the beauty of the Sierra Nevada mountains from our outdoor patio. Crab Cakes Restaurant is a short drive from Fresno, Mariposa and Merced, CA.
Bass Lake, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Laura owner of Sweet Dreams Bakery is amazing when it comes to cake. She makes THE BEST cakes ever. Even her wedding cakes are to die for. She truly bakes with love and puts her heart & soul into each and every one of them.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    99
    47
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent food, large portions, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We came here after waiting forever for service at our hotel restaurant. The staff was very attentive and kept our coffee, tea, and water filled. The food was excellent and there were big portions. Although mac and cheese wasn't on the kids menu, they gave us a kids portion (which was large enough for an adult and absolutely delicious!) Quick service, great food, great staff...what's not to love?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just average, skip the...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We dined here once. We came in for a light meal in the beginning of the week. The menu was pretty extensive. I was curious how they could support so many items, especially the "daily fresh fish" in a small town like Oakhurst but I guess anything can be done these days. The prices seemed a little north of fair but not outrageous.

My wife had the crab cakes and I had a salad and a bowl of the chowder. She said "they were ok, not the best I ever had" but the chowder was thin and the amount of broth compared to clams was overwhelming. In fact hardly any clams at all.
You would think that with the name of a place of called Crab Cakes their flagship dish would be something you would want to come back for.

I normally would rate this at 2 stars but since the food was passable and service was up to snuff - 3 stars it is. I would and will come back to dine here again for another try in February.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good ciabatta and southwest seafood salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

CIABATTA bread was the best ever anywhere: hot and lightly crunchy, with none of the typical teeth-challenging toughness and chewiness.

SOUTHWEST SEAFOOD SALAD had on it perfectly-cooked (not overcooked) srimp and big scallops and lots of them, on a bed of lettuce with pretty spicy chipotle dressing (spiciness, 7 on a scale of 0-10) which was well balanced by wrapping it in a bit of hot flour tortilla. Black beans and diced tomatoes balanced the taste and consistency very well.

MENU had options of 1 crab cake (side), 2 crab cakes (appetizer) or 3 crab cakes (entree)--nice! And at least 4 sizes of clam chowder--nice!

The next time I need dinner in Oakhurst on my way to Yosemite and don't have ample time for Woody's, I'll eat here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great spot for a good home cooked meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We enjoyed our meal at Crab Cakes Restaurant. The service was excellent and the food very good. We were well received and the casual atmosphere was very enjoyable. we would recommend this restaurant

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Cakes Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crab Cakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Cakes Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.