We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grass fed beef burgers are delicious...and the beer ain't bad :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Gate Brewing Company

South Gate Brewing Company
40233 Enterprise Drive, Oakhurst, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Grass fed beef burgers are delicious...and the beer ain't bad :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stopped in twice because of the nice service and great atmo. Ordered the grass fed Old Boy Blue burger - was great (well, ok guys, can we 86 the deep-fried mushrooms and use grilled instead?) Great taste! They let you sub a side salad for the fries - no extra charge - and it is awesome. Liked the ales they brew themselves. Definitely stop in!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    60
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Top-Notch Beer Gourmet's Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Tall $5 glasses of all shades of locally brewed beer (plus some that are not local). Large gourmet burgers and pizzas cooked in open-flame oven. They also serve a good-looking fish & chips plate. Order at the counter and food will be delivered to your table.

My 87-yr.-old mother each downed a beer and shared one of the days specials -- the Pesto-Turkey Burger -- which is just as it sounds -- ground turkey with pesto sauce and lots of trimmings -- including deep-fried artichoke hearts! I have not yet tried the pizzas, but those of you thick-crust lovers need not apply. The crusts on all pizzas I saw were thin and crispy-looking. I will definitely be back -- both to sample another beer and try another imaginative burger.

P.S. I'll admit I had to help my mother with her beer :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Reaaaaally Enjoyed South Gate Brewing Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Popped in here for a visit after reading previous reviews...and I'm really glad I did.

After being greeted by the bar staff I quickly received my delicious beer and placed an order for dinner. Received an amazing burger and fries...they have lots of unusual options, including fried jalapenos, house-made sriracha sauce, etc. YUM. I tried three different beers and enjoyed each.

It was open mic night so there were plenty of people around. Friendly locals....friendly staff....great food and drink. I would absolutely visit again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Eat and Drink Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stumbled on this place while making our trip to Yosemite, and we weren't disappointed. The food was amazing, and the craft beers were awesome. I would definitely go back if I was ever in the area.


The only thing is that the place is small, so it can get crowded.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Brew-pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Dinner here is very casual and a bit noisy. You order and pay at the bar, but a pleasant server brings your food. The menu selections are typical for a brew-pub which is why we ate there. Our fish and chips and shepherds pie was good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Gate Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to South Gate Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Gate Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.