We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Sierra Visitors Bureau

Yosemite Sierra Visitors Bureau
40637 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA
+1 559-683-4636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Oakhurst
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our visitor center is located outside the south entrance to Yosemite on Highway 41. Stop by for information on Yosemite and the southern gateway - Madera County. Our knowledgeable volunteers can help you with all your vacation questions. We also sell maps and park passes.
Pahrump, Nevada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Staff was very helpful and friendly. We picked lots of useful info about our trip to Yosemite. Building looks new. Thank you to everyone who were so helpful. We even gave then an idea to have someone put a Geocache in the building.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“They have so much information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

If you need information about Madera County, including Chowchilla, Madera, Coarsegold, O'Neals, North Fork, Oakhurst, BassLake and so much more - (including Yosemite) you got to stop. They enjoy their job and it shows! A true information center in Oakhurst, CA...California's Gateway to Yosemite.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good place for hiking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The park is very interesting, scenery is superb, rangers are very friendly and always willing, but car parkings aren't enough and visitors center isn't up to the amount of people i met

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruise to Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were able to purchase tickets to get into the park.
We also learned that seniors can purchase a lifetime
pass into all national parks for $10. The ranger on duty
was very helpful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Extremely Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Oakhurst Visitors Center has quite a bit of helpful information. From Backpacking to camping and luxery accommodations they can give all that you need. We live in town and have used them and the National Forest Office for many great family adventures. If you are visiting the area, I would make it a point to stop in and say hello. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Sierra Visitors Bureau also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite Sierra Visitors Bureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Sierra Visitors Bureau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.