We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay when visiting Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bed of Roses B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added A Bed of Roses B&B to your Saves list
A Bed of Roses B&B
43547 Whispering Pines Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Vienna
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay when visiting Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Mary Kay and Steve were wonderful and warm-hearted hosts. Especially Mary May`s exceptional cooking skills (nobody should miss her yummy rasberry-cake) and Steve`s remarkable knowledge about so many different topics is something we will always remember. Our apartment was wonderful too. It is located amidst a beautiful forest where we had the opportunity observing deers passing by. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very, very spacious with a nice and big whirlpool inside. We would like to thank Mary Kay and Steve for the beautiful time we had in the region of Yosemite national park and can recommend them to anybody out there who would like to enjoy the calmness and freedom of wilderness romantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a two night stay in the wild rose room at the bed of roses in June of this year. Mary Kate and Steve were fantastic hosts and couldn't do enough for you. The home cooked breakfast was delicious and very filling. The room was very clean with satellite tv, local information, fridge and a jacuzzi bath. The toilet roll was better than the Bellagio! Oakhurst was only a five minute drive away so plenty of shops, restaurants etc. The entrance to Yosemite National Park was approximately 20minutes away. The Yosemite village is another 30miles from the entrance to the park. The one way system inside the park can be confusing so watch out for this. The park itself is full of wonderful walks and spectacular scenery. Overall the bed of roses was an amazing stop on our trip and we definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We are wedding cinematographers and needed a nice place to stay the night before a wedding in Yosemite. This place was so great, I wish I would have booked us a few extra nights! Steve and Mary Kay really have a passion for their business which is clearly evident in the way that they serve their guests. They are always pushing to make improvements and make sure that their guests feel welcome. This place was so clean and the breakfast was the most amazing breakfast that I have ever had at a B & B. It was a full course meal. They were willing to adjust to our gluten-free diet as well which is VERY hard to find. We had a very peaceful stay and will be back soon, :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We decided to stay an extra night in the Yosemite area so we were fortunate to book a night at The Bed of Roses Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the wonderful Garden Room with the beautiful view. Steve and Mary Kay were very welcoming! We especially enjoyed the delicious breakfast and meeting all of the other guests. I would definitely recommend staying at The Bed of Roses!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked this bed and breakfast before we left the U.K and were so we glad we did as this is such a great place to stay if you want peace and quiet, fabulous home made breakfasts, comfortable rooms and great company.
Close to Oakhurst, which has very good restaurants and just a short drive to Yosemite and Mariposa entrance.
After a hard days walking an exploring, to come back to this delightful B+B with gardens and a pool to relax by it's a must.
Thank you so much Mary and Steve.

David and Linda
England

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I generally avoid the whole B&B-thing as I like privacy and generally prefer newer facilities without so much "character" (IE old furnishings, carpet, creaky floors and beds, etc.) But we didn't want a cookie-cutter Best Western-rooms-facing-the-highway experience for our anniversary, so after MUCH research, we settled on "A Bed of Roses."

It was a wonderful experience and we wished we'd been able to stay twice as long as we did!

On the advice of others we booked the "Red Rose" room... a very spacious (actually "huge") room with amazing views, private, private deck, surrounded by greenery and woods on all sides, and a large bathroom with jacuzzi tub. DirecTV with flat-screen HD TV, Amish fireplace, big closets, reclining chairs, futon, Cal King bed, high beamed ceilings... we just loved hanging out in it. Plenty of heat in the winter, and A/C for the heat of the summer. Wonderful, peaceful environment.

The owners Mary Kay and Steve are just as nice, caring, and accommodating as they can be. We truly made friends there and look forward to staying in touch. Their breakfast was delicious... they are sensitive to any dietary needs, and you really get the "our home is your home" feeling.

Its only a short 5-minute drive from Oakhurst, quiet in the hills on the way to Yosemite. But close enough to all the great restaurants (which Mary Kay and Steve can recommend.) They also suggested the nearby Lewis Creek Trail (and waterfall!) which we hiked to... after 25 years of going to Yosemite, we never even had heard of it-- SO glad they told us!

A Bed of Roses has a small pool, a deck with a BBQ for your use, in a pretty, rustic environment. Plenty of character-- but the "good" kind. MUCH better than any hotel. Loved it, and loved Mary Kay and Steve.

Room Tip: The Red Rose Room is hard to beat. Huge, private, quiet. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is slightly unfair, as we stayed at A Bed of Roses when occupied by the previous owners in 2011. Therefore, I'll only comment on the setting and general location.

The property is interesting and slightly quirky, although the photos look lovely and I'd certainly like to visit again.

It's close to Oakhurst with a few good restaurants and a great location to get into Yosemite.

The views we had from our room were truly amazing.

Note to self...... Must arrange another West Coast trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Bed of Roses B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed of Roses B&B

Address: 43547 Whispering Pines Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A Bed of Roses B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bed of Roses B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.