We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Haus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Haus
Save Saved
You added Evergreen Haus to your Saves list
43552 Whispering Pines Drive, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We found this place on tripadvisor and were so pleased. It has only been open since July so Eddie is still finding his feet and spends a lot of time in the cabin making sure guests have what they need which I suspect he will do less and less since the cabin is so well equipped! This isn't a strict b&b as they cannot provide breakfast although they leave lots of things in the kitchen guests can help themselves to. The rooms are very cosy and comfortable whilst there is a large open plan kitchen/sitting-room with big TV, sofas and everything you need in the kitchen. The place was so nice we cooked dinner whilst there having shopped at the large supermarket in town.

Great value for money, a highlight of our stay. Eddie will bend over backwards to help his guests although the place is so nice he does not need to worry!

Only word of warning, take the road up to the cabin slowly - it's very pot-holey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Visited Yosemite and booked this place,which was difficult to find on the net,but so glad I persevered.!A very unique experience.Better than a hotel and B&B,as the whole Lodge was for you to use.Only having two bedrooms,you could really chill here and what a place to chill!The Lodge wanted for nothing! Eddie and his family had thought of everything to make for a luxurious stay.The rooms were beautiful and better than many hotels,with again so much thought gone into what would make for a great stay.We had our own fridge and coffee machine in the room,but also had the kitchen to prepare anything in,which was so well equipped.Complete with everything you can think of including waffle maker and popcorn machine (along with all the ingredients required).A laundry area was also available to guests too.Wi-Fi and parking all for free.
Eddie was a very attentive host and so informative of the area he helped perfect our one day in the park.
And as for the views,WOW!What a fantastic view of the area.The Lodge has decking all the way round and we just wanted to chill there everyday and take it all in! Peace and tranquility ,but still close to Oakhurst and Yosemite.
A perfect location and stay .I cannot recommend it enough. Only opened in July so they don't have a lot of ratings yet,but when the word ges out,I think this will be a very popular destination.Very good value compared to hotels for the standard of accommodation and to let you know from our experience,Eddie cannot offer B&B,but provides an array of things for breakfast to help yourself to,so don't shop,until you check out what's available.Thanks again to Eddie and family for a wonderful stay and hope you continued success.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

In July, we had an unfortunate event with another location in Oakhurst and did not know where we were going to go. Thank goodness the previous location knew about Evergreen Haus and called Eddie to see if he had an opening. He was able to take us - and what a relief. It turns out that his place was 100% better than where we were going to stay. Of course it was beautifully done and had everything we needed - but the best part was Eddie. What a host - after our awful experience with the other location, it was a relief to be someplace where we were treated like guests and so well taken care of. If you need a place to stay while visiting Yosemite, this is the place - don't go anywhere else!!!!! Dan Hartmann and family from Texas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Eddie, the manager, was amazing and extraordinarily helpful ! My family and I visited the Sierra region for a wedding. Not at all a camper, but greatly enjoyed our time in our spacious and well appointed gem of a room!

The Evergreen Haus had a lot to offer for our 5 yr. old son.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

had a wonderful stay at this beautiful house! clean, comfortable, spacious, knowledgeable and friendly host. eddie helped with planning our trip into yosemite and (very) nearby bass lake. hopeful for another trip to yosemite and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: redwood room was great for 2 friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and our three kids made our first trip to Yosemite and found Evergreen Haus on the internet. It’s located between the south entrance of Yosemite and the town of Oakhurst, and only minutes away from Bass Lake. Off the main highway, but far enough from it to be very tranquil and peaceful. Eddie, from the minute we talked on the phone, was extremely helpful. We stayed in the Sequoia Room, which was comfortable for a family of five. A major plus is that you are not constrained to one room as you would be in a hotel, you have available to you the use of a full kitchen with stove, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, all the comforts of home! We brought ready-made food from Trader Joe’s because we prefer to cook rather than go out to eat everyday. But if you prefer, there are many restaurants nearby. There is also a spacious living room with a big screen, a dining room that sits six, and a kitchenette. Plus a washer and dryer as well (for someone who could want to wash their clothes after hiking). The furniture is inviting and the home-like atmosphere is relaxing. There is also a porch at the front of the cabin with gorgeous views of the mountains where you can watch the stars at night or have your morning coffee. The mountains are teeming with wildlife and you might see a deer, a squirrel, or maybe even a bear.

Eddie was very helpful, hospitable, and knowledgeable of the area. He gave us tips on where to go and what to see as first time visitors. He has a loving family. The owners of Evergreen are good people. We loved staying here. We will definitely recommend Evergreen Haus to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I and our two girls recently took a 4 day family trip to Yosemite and decided to stay at the Evergreen Haus for the last night of our vacation so we could relax and freshen up after camping for 3 days. What a great decision that was.

It's in a perfect location between the south entrance of Yosemite and the town of Oakhurst, nestled back from the main highway where it was surprising quite and peaceful. We were the only guests there that evening so we had the whole great room to ourselves. Yet the room was so big and comfy that having another set of guests there would not have been a problem. We actually had a hard time deciding where to relax because the huge porch/balcony that wraps around the outside of the property was so inviting. After sunset we went inside to cook some food in the full kitchen they provide and relaxed in front of the fireplace. In the morning we sat outside and had our coffee while looking through the trees at the gorgeous view.

We don't really leave reviews but we were really impressed with the hospitality the hosts showed us while we were there and so surprised by the atmosphere and comfort of the Evergreen Haus. It definitely beats staying at a hotel.

Room Tip: We were able to look at both rooms. The larger room has a couch that folds down to make a bed, perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evergreen Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Haus

Address: 43552 Whispering Pines Drive, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite / Sierra's Evergreen Haus. Beautiful custom built cabin with outstanding mountain views of the Sierras. Yosemite, Bass Lake, Sierra National Forest, & Oakhurst are all only minutes away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.