We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Trail Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Trail Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Trail Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Elsdorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Alright! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We actually enjoyed our stay. It was clean, the bathroom in a good shape. Comfortable beds, nice TV.
The wifi was not really working but that was okay for us. We wanted to visit Yosemite and Oakhurst is just right. Oakhurst is a very cute city with a good coffee store! Go there again!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    10
    7
    16
See reviews for
15
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed in their King Room with a kitchen and patio. The room had a high ceiling and knotty wood paneling, a really nice log bed, and a wood-burning stove set into a rock fireplace. We really liked the room but the grounds we not very well maintained, otherwise I would have given them a rating of 4.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

As others have noted, this is definitely a work in progress. The inside of the rooms, including two great queen beds, have been redone. There was a comfy lounge chair and a sofa (maybe a sofa bed; I didn't check). The floor was laminate, so it was easy to move the chair around. I thought it was strange that I had to put the coffee pot on the floor because the cord wouldn't reach the plug otherwise. The manager had no real response when I asked about this, so maybe I was missing something. The outside is in the process of being recovered in stucco stone, which will be a nice improvement. It was a great night's sleep for a very affordable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We drove past twice as we thought, "that really can't be a place that is open to the public" - it looks like four buildings that have been abandoned on some scrub land at the side of the road - battered wooden huts in scrub land with some RVs parked around the back

The outside of the location really lets the place down and after we checked in we were approached, in the car park, by two drive bys asking if the rooms were OK, as it looked like a dump.

The checkin was OK - we were issued a key and shown to the room - it would have been useful to get some information on the room and the location as this would have saved time - there was suppose to be a pool, but we weren't shown it

Inside the room we were surprised and shocked after seeing the outside. The room was really large and had two great queen sized beds. The beds were BRILLIANT and by far the most comfortable ones I slept in whilst away from home. The room had a seating around, fridge and microwave - I'm not sure you could self cater in the space, but certainly better equipped than most places. The room layout needs some work and it would be better if the sofa was moved and this area became a kitchenette space and this would make it better still.

The housekeeping detail is lacking - the back of the bathroom door has been missed by housekeeping on more than one stay. The edges in the bathroom need some focus and the bathroom window and sill were very dirty.

Also, the space would be better with some additions - there is no shelf or space in the bathroom to put your soap bag - this is needed when you are staying and not living in a space. There is no hook in the bathroom to hang anything - it would be useful when you are changing in the space. There is no bin in the bedroom or kitchen - which was really annoying.

As we were leaving it appears that one of the rooms were being clad in stone, on the outside and this certainly was making a difference.

It is a shame that the owners weren't around when I left as I would have loved to have talked them through my comments as I think with some very small changes and additions this location would move from 70% to 90%

In summary - don't go ARGHH and worry when you pull up. The planters may be dead and there may be an RV dumped in the back yard, but the room is really good and the beds are great and it's not far from the south entrance to Yosemite and not far from the Oakhurst town centre

I would certainly tell people to stay at the Mountain Trail Lodge and would certainly book there again when I return to Yosemite

Room Tip: Stayed in room two and it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

If you are looking for fancy, this is not your place. If you are looking for comfortable rooms & great customer service & value, give this one a try. We were planning a trip in an rv, but broke down. They were graciously able to accommodate us with their room that had a full kitchen so our food wouldn't go to waste while our rv was being repaired. We also barbecued two nights in a row on their bbq & ate our dinner by the pool. Speaking of the pool, it is meticulously maintained & would be especially great if you have kids. #9 had the kitchen & a beautiful king sized bed & large updated bathroom. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We recently rented a small cottage at Mountain Trail Lodge (8/22 to 8/23/14.) It was very comfortable and clean. The price was reasonable and the staff was very nice. We got off to late start and did not arrive until around 9:30pm. It wasn't a problem for the staff. Gil waited for us until we arrived with no complaints. He even went out his way to drive to the area to help us find it. Thank you Gil!! My grandkids enjoyed the stay and it was neat to see a deer approach the window of the cabin. I had the window opened when I was cooking breakfast and I think he thought he was invited. It was nice to be in touch with nature and have great access to a grocery store and even better close to Yosemite. The only problem is that there was no iron in the room or hairdryer, as advertised. Other than that, it was great. I would visit again. Dianna

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Booked 2 night but could only stay one. I was bitten in the night and had ants in my bed. In the morning my girls suitcases were crawling with ants which was distressing for them and me. We had wanted to get an early start but rather had to spend over an hour shaking our clothes and ridding suitcases from ants. This ruined our stay. The lady was willing to refund tonight's stay as we packed up our things and had to leave. However refused any refund on the $150.00 we paid for last night. She had no bug spray. On closer inspection in the room there was evidence of ant powder. This has obviously been a problem before. Not worth the money and a hazard for young children because if the ant powder and the biting ants.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Front Office Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feed back. I apologize that your current stay was not comfortable as expected. Some times, it is normal for these seasonal ants to be around . we always continue our treatments on these non dangerous seasonal ants. we do provide an exceptional customer service to all our guess. Please do come back again to stay with us and have an exceptional experience. again thank you in advance for your business with us.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Lodge

Address: 42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS !! Located along the winding Highway 41 and less than 2 miles from downtown Oakhurst, this hillside hotel features free Wi-Fi and pool. The entrance into Sierra National Park is 12.5 Miles away. Rooms at the Mountain Trail Lodge Oakhurst are equipped with cable TV and air conditioning. Suites include a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator. The front desk of the Mountain Trail Lodge is open 24-hours to assist guests. Fax and copying services are also available on-site. The Oakhurst Mountain Trail Lodge is located next to the Golden Chain Theatre and is 6 miles from Bass Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Trail Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Trail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.