We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, & staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Trail Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Trail Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Trail Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Fresno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great value, location, & staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

If you are looking for fancy, this is not your place. If you are looking for comfortable rooms & great customer service & value, give this one a try. We were planning a trip in an rv, but broke down. They were graciously able to accommodate us with their room that had a full kitchen so our food wouldn't go to waste while our rv was being repaired. We also barbecued two nights in a row on their bbq & ate our dinner by the pool. Speaking of the pool, it is meticulously maintained & would be especially great if you have kids. #9 had the kitchen & a beautiful king sized bed & large updated bathroom. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    8
    7
    15
See reviews for
14
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently rented a small cottage at Mountain Trail Lodge (8/22 to 8/23/14.) It was very comfortable and clean. The price was reasonable and the staff was very nice. We got off to late start and did not arrive until around 9:30pm. It wasn't a problem for the staff. Gil waited for us until we arrived with no complaints. He even went out his way to drive to the area to help us find it. Thank you Gil!! My grandkids enjoyed the stay and it was neat to see a deer approach the window of the cabin. I had the window opened when I was cooking breakfast and I think he thought he was invited. It was nice to be in touch with nature and have great access to a grocery store and even better close to Yosemite. The only problem is that there was no iron in the room or hairdryer, as advertised. Other than that, it was great. I would visit again. Dianna

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked 2 night but could only stay one. I was bitten in the night and had ants in my bed. In the morning my girls suitcases were crawling with ants which was distressing for them and me. We had wanted to get an early start but rather had to spend over an hour shaking our clothes and ridding suitcases from ants. This ruined our stay. The lady was willing to refund tonight's stay as we packed up our things and had to leave. However refused any refund on the $150.00 we paid for last night. She had no bug spray. On closer inspection in the room there was evidence of ant powder. This has obviously been a problem before. Not worth the money and a hazard for young children because if the ant powder and the biting ants.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Front Office Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feed back. I apologize that your current stay was not comfortable as expected. Some times, it is normal for these seasonal ants to be around . we always continue our treatments on these non dangerous seasonal ants. we do provide an exceptional customer service to all our guess. Please do come back again to stay with us and have an exceptional experience. again thank you in advance for your business with us.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Small Friendly hotel in a great location with extremely reasonable rates. The rooms are beautifully done, the attentive staff is outstanding and all our needs were met. the most amazing view from our room. have been recommending this place to all my friends heading to yosemite park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Front Office Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear valued guest,

we highly appreciate your current review about your stay at Mountain Trail lodge. your feed back is much appreciated. our goal is to always provide a excellent customer service to each and every guest. please do come back and give us another opportunity to serve you again.

thanks,

Karen K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hard to spot from the road, this motel is a series of bleak-looking sheds that conceal spacious, modern rooms. Thick windows insulate the rooms from noise of the pickup trucks on the road leading down from the southern route into Yosemite. Porches have a commanding view of the valley from which to watch the sunset on the hillsides. Oakdale has a selection of good restaurants. The resort town of Bass Lake (familiar to Hunter Thompson readers) and the Sugar Pine scenic railroad are a few miles north. A nice alternative to the chain motels in town, with a unique view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Rachel,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your current stay at Mountain trail lodge. we highly appreciate your business with us. Our goal is not only provide a great customer service but to exceed our customer satisfaction. we encourage you to continue giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you in advance.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We visited Yosemite national park and stayed at Yosemite Mountain Trail lodge. What an experience? we all had great stay with real nice views of the mountians. Room are recently renovated and the service was amazing. All different room types were avaialble to accomodate from 2to a group of 10-2- people. I would recommend this to each and every person. Our sincere thanks to the management for great experience as we don't take vacations often. So this was a great one!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jay S,

Thank you for your positive feed back about your current stay ay Mountain Trail Lodge. we appreciate your continue business with us. We encourage you to continue giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in one of their one-bedroom log cabins for several nights. The location is slightly outside town on a nice quiet side road. The cabin was reasonably well equipped and spacious. The decoration was a bit bland, especially bare in the bedroom. There is good shopping in Oakhurst and we enjoyed our relative independence greatly. Oakhurst is quite close to Yosemite south entrance (1/2 hour), and around 1.5 hours' drive from King's Canyon and Sequoia (pity we never got there due to snow).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Werner B,

Thank you so much for choosing Mountain Trail Lodge for your vacation accommodations. we are so glad that you liked your stay with us. We highly encourage you to come back and stay with us again.

Thank you.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Lodge

Address: 42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS !! Located along the winding Highway 41 and less than 2 miles from downtown Oakhurst, this hillside hotel features free Wi-Fi and pool. The entrance into Sierra National Park is 12.5 Miles away. Rooms at the Mountain Trail Lodge Oakhurst are equipped with cable TV and air conditioning. Suites include a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator. The front desk of the Mountain Trail Lodge is open 24-hours to assist guests. Fax and copying services are also available on-site. The Oakhurst Mountain Trail Lodge is located next to the Golden Chain Theatre and is 6 miles from Bass Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mountain Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Trail Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Trail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.