We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Trail Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Trail Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Trail Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Waanrode
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We liked this lodge. The outside looked terrible, but inside the rooms were clean and more updated. THe lodge is well located near the South entrance of Yosemite. Reception staff was friendly.
Negative point: we could not close the bathroom curtains very well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your stay in Oct 2013. We are glad that you were quite happy with the customer service and the rooms.

WE RENIOVATED ALL OUR ROOMS AND PLEASE COME AND ENJOY YOUR FUTURE STAY WITH US.

THANKS.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    8
    7
    15
See reviews for
14
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire Engalnd
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Little cluster of cabins just outside Oakhurst. No cafe facilities. However there was an excellent supermarket that satisfied our picnic needs and plenty of restraurants within a 5 minute drive.
When turning down the bed we discovered the bed linen was very crumpled and did not look very inviting when we told the desk clerk she said they didn't iron the sheets! She offered another room but this was the same. Tiles were missing around the sink, the drawers underneath were all broken and the shower 'all in one cubicle' had seen better days.
It was a shame that the decore was so poor as the concept and location of the cabins were sensational.

Room Tip: Wait til they have a make over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Mountain Trail lodge. We highly appreciate your business.

We recently RENOVATED OUR ENTIRE LODGE. Please come back and give us another oppertunity to serve you again.

Thanks..

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jacinto, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is grave need of a remodel. The cabins are consisting of a few duplexes. The room gave a feel of being tired and a few decades behind in updates. We were greeted by a small black and white snake on the sidewalk where a doormat would be in front of the door.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel for a room.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for staying at Mountain Trail Lodge in Oakhurst. I apologize that you were not satisfied with the rooms. We just RENOVATED ALL OUR ROOMS WITH FRESH PAINT, FIXTURES AND BRAND NEW FURNITURE IS COMING IN 3-4 DAYS. I encourage you to please come back once again and enjoy your stay at Mountain Trail Lodge in Oakhurst. Thanks.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent 2 nights here after searching for almost all near affordable accommodations with attach bath near or inside the Yosemite. Camp Curry is a tent while Ahwahnee and Wawona with attach bath have steep prices. Wow. Well looks like nothing compares. There's 10 units inside this lodge. Unit no 1 to 6 are in twin-cabins. Unit no 7 to 10 are located inside a single building that also housed the manager office and the ice machine.

Pros
1.Affordable price in super expensive Yosemite (you know what set apart accommodation prices between Yosemite and Yellowstone)
2.We got cabin no 4 with LCD TV (who watch TV while in Yosemite?), minibar and a microwave.
3.Ice machine is located near the manager office and you can fill up your ice chest with it.
4.The pool is great.
5.Pretty quiet at night (after 10 PM, you hardly hear any traffic).
6.Big room with a couch and 2 big beds.

Quirks
1.After returning on the 2nd day, the manager told us that the cleaning lady did not have the deadbolt key of our cabin so it was not made up (we didn’t see any cleaners in day 2 and 3).
2.We were also told that we can do our laundry free using the laundry room of the place. The laundry room is open 24hrs and you can pick fresh towels from there.
3.The place is located a bit up a hilly terrain and there's no fencing around the property. So it’s quite scary to walk around at night (who knows what might be lurking behind the bush?)
4.The drive to Yosemite valley from here is via a very winding road up the mountains (fit for F1 drivers). Speed limits are for the most part ignored here and aggressive drivers are abundant. It is not uncommon to be tailgated by big pickup trucks or SUVs if you are following the speed limits. This scares me the most (I come from country where most cars have 1 liter engine with astronomical gas price).

Cons
1.The flooring are tiles and was quite dusty (looks like not mopped up) and would left marks if you step it with wet feet.

Overall, this is the cheapest place to stay in summer with proper room and attached bath. The manager is a nice lady who would always recommend tips on Yosemite.

Room Tip: Room 1 to 6 are big and located in individual twin cabins. You can park at each cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that your stay on June 2013 was very satisfactory to your expectations. Just to inform you that we RENOVATED ALL OUR ROOMS AND PLEASE COME AND VISIT US AGAIN. THANKS.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Motel consists of few small old houses, capacity like 10-12 rooms, we saw 3 guest cars there, motel was almost empty (well, no wonder after our experience). Free wifi, ice, gril, pool without water, no breakfast.
It was a disaster. First, we couldn't find it at all at night, The Address is just highway 41 in Oakhurst, which goes through whole Oakhurst. We booked room for 2 nights 150 usd, (75$/night), it was just one picture on booking.com there and size in quadrat feets(which will not tell very much to somebody from Europe). At the end, it was very little room 2,2 meter x 3 Meter with small bathroom, half of the room took just the bed, rest of it a fridge with microvawe. It was like a prison, I don't understand how can somebody offer such a small room for accomodation. We already paid 2 nights via booking.com, we couldn't leave. I didn't know, if I should laugh or cry. Next day was raining, we had to stay there whole day. OMG. Price/service was really a joke in this case. If the lady at reception would give us bigger standard room next to our door, which was empty all the time, it would be ok. But she didn't care. This bigger room was standard size with king size bed and small kitchen, nothing special, just a standard motel room. To the Yosemite fall it was still 80 km, about 1 hour 20 min drive, so it makes no sense to stay there because of Yosemite visit. Watch out the room 8 in this motel. It was my worst accomodation ever in my life, even sleeping in hostel with 16 beds as a student was better.

Room Tip: Avoid room Nr.8, it's a small one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a last minute booking and we were surprised at the standard of accommodation (poor) for the price. The decor is tired, the curtains/blinds don't work properly and the shower/toilet facilities are old and in poor repair - it's basic. Worst of all the place was grubby and had not been well cleaned. This is a tired establishment in a good location.
We had we had considered staying 2 nights but were relieved to be out and back on the road in the morning.

Room Tip: Consider this an alternative to camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at Mountain Trail Lodge, Oakhurst in California. I agree that you may found the rooms were outdated but we RENOVATED THE ENTIRE LODGE WITH BRAND NEW FURNITURE. Please come and visit us again and give us the another oppertunity to stay with us and serve you. We will highly appreciate that. Looking forward to see you soon. Thanks.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After reading the reviews, I knew this was just a clean place to lay our head, no fluff. That's just what it was. We arrived at 10:30pm. There was a sign on the door stating to knock on the door of the RV in close proximity. The manager didn't mind the late knock. I appreciated her positive countenance. Our room was clean, king bed was not too soft, not terribly hard, roomy, old decor. The shower had warm water. I chuckled at the basic towels with a blue stripe going down the length.

Very basic, very inexpensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNTAINTRAILLODGE, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Mountain Trail Lodge in Oakhurst. Our goal is to provide a clean and friendly customer service to all our valued guest. We RENOVATED ALL OUR ROOMS. Please come and visit us again. Thanks.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Lodge

Address: 42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS !! Located along the winding Highway 41 and less than 2 miles from downtown Oakhurst, this hillside hotel features free Wi-Fi and pool. The entrance into Sierra National Park is 12.5 Miles away. Rooms at the Mountain Trail Lodge Oakhurst are equipped with cable TV and air conditioning. Suites include a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator. The front desk of the Mountain Trail Lodge is open 24-hours to assist guests. Fax and copying services are also available on-site. The Oakhurst Mountain Trail Lodge is located next to the Golden Chain Theatre and is 6 miles from Bass Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mountain Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Trail Hotel Oakhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Trail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.