We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend. Read why!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Trail Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Trail Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mountain Trail Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
San Jacinto, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would not recommend. Read why!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is grave need of a remodel. The cabins are consisting of a few duplexes. The room gave a feel of being tired and a few decades behind in updates. We were greeted by a small black and white snake on the sidewalk where a doormat would be in front of the door.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel for a room.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    7
    6
    14
See reviews for
9
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent 2 nights here after searching for almost all near affordable accommodations with attach bath near or inside the Yosemite. Camp Curry is a tent while Ahwahnee and Wawona with attach bath have steep prices. Wow. Well looks like nothing compares. There's 10 units inside this lodge. Unit no 1 to 6 are in twin-cabins. Unit no 7 to 10 are located inside a single building that also housed the manager office and the ice machine.

Pros
1.Affordable price in super expensive Yosemite (you know what set apart accommodation prices between Yosemite and Yellowstone)
2.We got cabin no 4 with LCD TV (who watch TV while in Yosemite?), minibar and a microwave.
3.Ice machine is located near the manager office and you can fill up your ice chest with it.
4.The pool is great.
5.Pretty quiet at night (after 10 PM, you hardly hear any traffic).
6.Big room with a couch and 2 big beds.

Quirks
1.After returning on the 2nd day, the manager told us that the cleaning lady did not have the deadbolt key of our cabin so it was not made up (we didn’t see any cleaners in day 2 and 3).
2.We were also told that we can do our laundry free using the laundry room of the place. The laundry room is open 24hrs and you can pick fresh towels from there.
3.The place is located a bit up a hilly terrain and there's no fencing around the property. So it’s quite scary to walk around at night (who knows what might be lurking behind the bush?)
4.The drive to Yosemite valley from here is via a very winding road up the mountains (fit for F1 drivers). Speed limits are for the most part ignored here and aggressive drivers are abundant. It is not uncommon to be tailgated by big pickup trucks or SUVs if you are following the speed limits. This scares me the most (I come from country where most cars have 1 liter engine with astronomical gas price).

Cons
1.The flooring are tiles and was quite dusty (looks like not mopped up) and would left marks if you step it with wet feet.

Overall, this is the cheapest place to stay in summer with proper room and attached bath. The manager is a nice lady who would always recommend tips on Yosemite.

Room Tip: Room 1 to 6 are big and located in individual twin cabins. You can park at each cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Motel consists of few small old houses, capacity like 10-12 rooms, we saw 3 guest cars there, motel was almost empty (well, no wonder after our experience). Free wifi, ice, gril, pool without water, no breakfast.
It was a disaster. First, we couldn't find it at all at night, The Address is just highway 41 in Oakhurst, which goes through whole Oakhurst. We booked room for 2 nights 150 usd, (75$/night), it was just one picture on booking.com there and size in quadrat feets(which will not tell very much to somebody from Europe). At the end, it was very little room 2,2 meter x 3 Meter with small bathroom, half of the room took just the bed, rest of it a fridge with microvawe. It was like a prison, I don't understand how can somebody offer such a small room for accomodation. We already paid 2 nights via booking.com, we couldn't leave. I didn't know, if I should laugh or cry. Next day was raining, we had to stay there whole day. OMG. Price/service was really a joke in this case. If the lady at reception would give us bigger standard room next to our door, which was empty all the time, it would be ok. But she didn't care. This bigger room was standard size with king size bed and small kitchen, nothing special, just a standard motel room. To the Yosemite fall it was still 80 km, about 1 hour 20 min drive, so it makes no sense to stay there because of Yosemite visit. Watch out the room 8 in this motel. It was my worst accomodation ever in my life, even sleeping in hostel with 16 beds as a student was better.

Room Tip: Avoid room Nr.8, it's a small one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a last minute booking and we were surprised at the standard of accommodation (poor) for the price. The decor is tired, the curtains/blinds don't work properly and the shower/toilet facilities are old and in poor repair - it's basic. Worst of all the place was grubby and had not been well cleaned. This is a tired establishment in a good location.
We had we had considered staying 2 nights but were relieved to be out and back on the road in the morning.

Room Tip: Consider this an alternative to camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After reading the reviews, I knew this was just a clean place to lay our head, no fluff. That's just what it was. We arrived at 10:30pm. There was a sign on the door stating to knock on the door of the RV in close proximity. The manager didn't mind the late knock. I appreciated her positive countenance. Our room was clean, king bed was not too soft, not terribly hard, roomy, old decor. The shower had warm water. I chuckled at the basic towels with a blue stripe going down the length.

Very basic, very inexpensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I rented a cabin up in Wawona. We decided to stay an extra couple of nights, so we went and looked for some place to stay in Oakhurst. We found the Mountain Trail Lodge and it was very inexpensive. They gave us the King Room for two nights at $108 (tax and fees included). It was outside of town, but still very close. That wasn't an issue at all.

One can hear all the trucks passing by, but after a bit, you begin to not even notice them anymore. The view was nice.

As far as the room itself, it was very clean. I can tell it had been recently remodeled. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but once inside, its all good. Very clean bathroom.

The lady at the office was very nice and was able to accomodate us with whatever we needed. My only gripe was the tv, sound on that thing is horrible. Oh yeah, and the wifi signal is a bit slow.

So if all you're looking for is a nice, clean place to stay and don't wanna pay that much, then I recommend the Mountain Trail Lodge. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get room one. It'll be right next to your car when you park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Arrived at reception to be told that there was a problem with our room so we would have to drive 8 miles back to Coarsegold to meet a man at the garage who would take us to our lodge! Drove back only to have to then drive another 6 miles into the mountains! Make no mistake, the house they sent us to was huge and really impressive on first appearances. However once in we realised there was no TV, no wi fi, no pool, no coffee maker, no toaster...the list goes on! Everything was filthy to the extent that we had to wash plates cups and cutlery before we could use any of it. The work tops were sticky and the kitchen was infested with ants. The windows all need replacing as they were clouded up sothe view was wasted. The outside areahad a bbq that was unusable due to dirt/previous use and the seating was old and tired.We ended up about 16 miles further away from Yosemite than we expected.
It felt like a renovation project that was no where near completion and was definately not in a fit state to be rented out. All in all we could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Lodge

Also Known As:
Mountain Trail Hotel
Mountain Trail Hotel Oakhurst
Address: 42150 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the winding Highway 41 and less than 2 miles from downtown Oakhurst, this hillside hotel features free Wi-Fi and pool. The entrance into Sierra National Park is 12.5 miles away. Rooms at the Mountain Trail Lodge Oakhurst are equipped with cable TV and air conditioning. Suites include a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator. The front desk of the Mountain Trail Lodge is open 24-hours to assist guests. Fax and copying services are also available on-site. The Oakhurst Mountain Trail Lodge is located next to the Golden Chain Theatre and is 6 miles from Bass Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mountain Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Trail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.